Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dunwoody High School 5

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
We were new residents to Georgia and when we were seeking an upscale neighborhood with outstanding schools to move to, Dunwoody came up over and over again. I now know why. The high school is a gem. It has accomplished faculty and highly motivated students. I counted no less than 6 national merit semi-finalists during this current semester alone. I learned of many Ivy league student acceptances and numerous other academic accomplishments. They put the right emphasis on the right things and we are very pleased.

Dunwoody High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a student
I am a current student at Dunwoody and I can't say enough great things about my fellow students, the teachers, the coaches, the parents, and the community at large. They all converge to make Dunwoody a top school that prepares students well both for college and for life.

Dunwoody High School 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a student
I am a current student at Dunwoody High School (DHS). I transferred from a private school in the area and I am so pleased that I did. I am positive that the academic preparation I receive here will more than prepare me to get into and succeed at a top university. DHS has a diverse student body, a super helpful faculty, a friendly student body, and is located in a great community. I play Lacrosse and the parent booster club is very highly organized which makes fundraising for our team a breeze. I would highly recommend my high school to all students interested in a first rate educational experience.

Dunwoody High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Dunwoody High School is a great school with exemplary parental and neighborhood support. The sense of community at this school is unlike any I have experienced before. There are some amazing teachers and some highly motivated students. Recently, the captain of the football team went on to attend Harvard! Enough said.

Dunwoody High School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attends Dunwoody and is a junior this year. We had a new principal this school year and he is absolutely fantastic. Mr. McFerrin has turned this school around 180 degrees from what it was under the previous "leadership"... he is professional, approachable, hands-on, and works extremely well with the parents and the students. I can't say enough good things about him. My daughter has had excellent teachers and a variety of choices in extra-curricular activities. My only gripe is that DeKalb County needs to provide some funds for the athletic field... too many different sports are trying to use the field after school. Overall, I think Dunwoody is a really good school now and would recommend it.

Dunwoody High School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
Dunwoody High School is a diverse school with many unique options on the academic side. The teachers are top notch and many freely give of their time through early morning tutoring sessions for the students and I applaud them for their dedication. Many students go on to very good colleges across the country.

Dunwoody High School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
I have a child in Dunwoody High. Fabulous school. The teachers are great. Academics are wonderful.

Dunwoody High School 2

Posted May 11, 2014
- a student
Not great. Poor academics, and not much support for academic endeavors outside of the classroom. Almost all good teachers leave as well. Don't go here.

Dunwoody High School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
LOVE Dunwoody High School! I'll admit I was nervous to put my son into the school 3 years ago. But with Mr. Swanson as the principal we have seen big changes! The school is redone, the fine arts is taking off and with the new Finance and Mass Communication Academies we are on the way to a GREAT school! If we could become a Charter school it would be perfect!

Dunwoody High School 4

Posted February 22, 2012
- a student
One of the up and coming arts schools. Despite some a Dunwoody's less than capable staff, and lact a top cleanliness standards; the school is not all bad. The fine arts department is usually neglected in most public schools, but the new principle is very supportive of the arts. Dunwoody's new Choir program is in more capable hands, the orchestra is doing well, and their band program is exellent. The band director at Dunwoody has turned the marching band and symphonic band around. They are own their way up and there is no stop in sight.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dunwoody High School
5035 Vermack Rd, Dunwoody, GA  30338
(678) 874-8502
Last modified Dunwoody High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dunwoody High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top