Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chesnut Elementary School

Charter | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2010

The teachers are great, nurturing and firm. It is a true community school, representing various ethnicities and socio-economic groups. As a parent I am so pleased that my child has this opportunity and exposure. She has learnt so much and so easily in a very short time; she doesn't ever want to skip school. I am often in her school and classroom, I feel welcomed and more importantly, I feel as if I am an integral part of her education. As I should be. I am very excited for my younger child to go there in a couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Chesnut Charter is a wonderful school with very involved parents, staff and faculty. My son is in Kindergarten this year. He has learned alot this year in regards to reading, math, science and history. The principal is very involved with the students and parents and he is seen in the hallways everyday during drop off/pick up and during school events. My sons teacher is very warm and caring. It is obvious she cares about her students. Many of the teachers also attend events outside school hours such as Spirit nights and are also involved on various school councils. Since this is a Charter school parent involvement is a requirement. It is wonderful to see so many parents involved with their childrens education. If there was one thing I would like to see change it would be more time for creative play and less time on classic education in Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great Great school that cares about their students. Sad it only goes up to 3rd grade. My child enjoyed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love this school. The academics are great, and my children are learning and enjoying every mintue of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

At Charter, I know my daughter is getting a great education at Chesnut. The teachers are committed to the well being of the children and its very apparent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

Thank you Dr.Rich Reid and Mrs Veronica Williams for your trusting and caring leadership. You came to us and met the staff and community at the point of our need. In the past year Chesnut has has become a welcoming, freindly and loving enviornment to work and educate. Your leadership has been 2nd to none!!!


Posted February 11, 2009

My kid is going from past one year and he just loves the school and his teacher Mr.C Their curriculum is good and teachers personalize their teachings depending on the kid's level. My son now is interested in knowing pretty much everything :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

my chid has been going here for three years and it is her favorite elementary finally she enjoys getting up to go to school and is actually interested in learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

We moved to Atlanta from out of state a year ago. My son, who is hyperactive, was well behind his peers academically. Miss Levin, his teacher this year in third grade, displays amazing patience and wisdom. The entire staff is so supportive and caring! Bottom line is my son now is making almost all A's and has caught up. It's not by accident! Lastly, in an era where budgets are cut and programs like arts disappear, this school offers it all to their children both in school and in extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Chesnut is going to miss Dr. Sonja Alexander. She was a leader with compassion.The children loved her and respected her. Her shoes will be hard to fill.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 28, 2006

Chesnut has been wonderful for our children. Its rich diversity reflects the real world and the teachers truly care about all children. As a working parent, I appreciate the opportunity to be involved. Teachers are very willing to work around my schedule to let me be involved. The PTA does a great job providing wonderful cultural arts programs. The enrichment programs are great and now the school offers a variety of after school programs including golf, karate, dance and art. Having been a school where testing was over emphasized, we love the rather laid back approach to testing at Chesnut. Visit the school. You will discover what a warm place it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

Chesnut is a good school with a lot of great teachers. Unfortunately there is no language program. The administration under the Principal is weak and sometimes rude. The Principal is very involved and very capable, but doesn't seem to see the faults of those below her. The trailers aren't safe, as children walk to the building during class without an adult. They could easily meet an intruder on the property or even walk off campus. The parent involvement, although seemingly high, is usually the same parents over and over getting the jobs done. This could be a great school if they would get rid of the few rude/incompetent individuals, add some safety features and find a way to incorporate a foreign language into their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Due to Principal and PTA's involvement the school provides enriching experience to children. Teachers try to bring best out of every child. Extracarricular activities ensure that each student gets some kind of participation. And the Discovery (gifted) program is truly encouraging for those student who are able to perform at higher level. Our daughter has been in school for 3 years and we have seen remarkable improvement in her every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

Chesnut Charter has a private school educational opportunities without the cost. I don't know how they do it but I'm glad my child is a part of it. Challenging, advanced, creative education. Kudos for Chesnut! This is my child's first year here after attending private school. I'm amazed. And just an FYI, Ms. Kilpatrick (4th grade teacher) is the salt of the earth. A concerned and involved parent's dream. Thank God them because No child will get left behind at Chesnut.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4576 N Peachtree Rd
Dunwoody, GA 30338
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 676-7102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT