Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Olive Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
One word HOOD! Worst school my child have ever been in. No hope for them kids future.

Mount Olive Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
I recently transfered my son to Asa Hilliard elementary from King Springs elementary in Smyrna, Ga. That was the WORST decision I've made thus far as a parent. Since ASA Hilliard elementary is a new school they have no state rating until after this school year is up. But I QUICKLY discovered this was formally Mt.Olive elementary which was ranked 1 out of 10 in ratings. Pretty much the bottom of the barrel. And the teachers exode that energy, well I can't speak for all but my son 2nd grade teacher is a sad story. Not only is the economic struggles and zoning zip codes can easily have a negative reputation on the kids it's also sadden to know the teachers quietly have no faith in their students progress. My son is and have been on track with his education and behavior until recently. I'LL apologize to him for putting him in this school and promised to have his charter / private school entry done this summer!

Mount Olive Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
I volunteer periodically at Mt. Olive Elementary School in East Point Georgia. It is a wonderful school for training children to become adults. I witness several mentoring programs that was very helpful for the schools' curriculum. The most important thing I notice was how the staff cared and interacted with the children. You could see that the children seem to be genuinely happy. I am sure this comes from the relationship the staff has with their parents. This was obvious from the Principal, Teachers and all their volunteers.

Mount Olive Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a community member
I am a 2nd grader here at Mt. Olive, and I must say, this is one of the most enriching elementary school learning experiences around. I have been placed in the Talented and Gifted program taught by Mrs. Everett and am truly loving it. A few downsides is that many of the students just don't have the will to learn and can be a tad bit violent. While not the best elementary school, it certainly is better than many of the others in its area. I recommend this school to all. Next year, when I'm 8, my mommy said she might be transferring me to a private school because she does not think this school is good enough for me, but honestly, I think it's just right.

Mount Olive Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My grown kids attended Mt. Olive now my younger kids are students there. I love the staff. Teachers, principal, asst principal, nurse. All are great. However I do feel like my kids are learning at a slow paste. Both are honor students. One is in the TAG program. They both had EIP teachers last year, until I hired a tutor. Now instead of a few A's and mostly B's. They're getting one or two B's and mostly A's. Thanks to the tutor, not the school.

Mount Olive Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
My child has been at Mt. Olive ES since Pre K and has truly excelled academically. He wakes up every morning excited about going to school and this is largely due to the caring enviornment that the teachers and administrators have created. I am unsre what may have happened to some of these other parents with low ratings, but nearly all of the parents love this school.

Mount Olive Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
I have had experience with the ins and outs of several schools in this area. MOE is one of the best schools for an elementary age child. The small environment truly puts 'students' first. The academic growth of EVERY child is the priority of this school. The staff gives a 110% in every aspect of the building. The principal appears to be firm and head strong at times, but I notice it seems to most times be about educating children. We need more principals to step and and stick up for our children.

Mount Olive Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
My primary concern is that the principal attempts to run this elementary school with an iron fist. There is an exodus of teachers each year which makes it difficult for parents to get to know the teachers because they're not there very long. There is low morale amongst the teachers and staff and many parents who are unhappy have simply put their children in other schools instead of trying to battle with the principal who uses the school for his own personal purposes.

Mount Olive Elementary School 2

Posted August 09, 2007
- a parent
My major concern for this institution is that the staff, including the principal, refuse to work with the parents on the academic success of their children. This is disheartening because I volunteered at the school almost every week to ensure the academic direction of my child, only to discover that she was placed in certain classes based not on my request or observation as a parent, but on their 'number/card system'. Rather than view your child as an individual with individual needs, or work with the parents on the academic achievement of your child, they leave the future of your child to statistics and numbers. Additionally, I could not get aquainted with the teachers because the turn-over rate is so high. New teachers each year made it hard to evaluate the BEST teacher for our child.

Mount Olive Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
I am a grandparent of one of the Mt. Olive students. My grandchild has been at MOE student since she started Pre-K. We have been very pleased with the principal, teachers and the other staff members. They all strive to make Moe students academically prepared for any challenges they may face in the future. I have no doubt that when the students leave Mt.Olive, they will be prepared for whatever lies ahead.They invite involvement from all family members.

Nearby schools

Mount Olive Elementary School
3353 Mount Olive Rd, East Point, GA  30344
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (404) 669-8050
Last modified Mount Olive Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top