Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tri-Cities High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

As a substitute teacher I am always happy to take an assignment at Tri-Cities. The student body is diverse, creative and self motivated. Definitely deserving of a higher rating.


Posted April 17, 2014

Tri-cities-Magnet High School was a perfect fit for my daughter. Mr. Sims has been and still is a caring principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Dont believe all of the craziness that you read about Tri-Cities HS!! It is one of the best high schools in South Fulton County! Believe me I have sent two students to this school and I am so happy that I did. They care about the students and each other. They provide the tools needed for the students and parents to get the education that is needed. Its like leading a horse to water you cant make em drink! Its up to the parents and students to want this free education. When its time for college and you havent done what you needed to do then you are going to have to pay for your child to go to college. I advised each parent to be a big part of their childs education and then if your not happy with that the school is offering the child you can voice your opinion. Until then learn to voice your own opinion not echo others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Wow! After reading several reviews on TCHS, I am very surprised to find out the downward spiral my old high school has taken. I gave TCHS a 5-star rating based off the time I spent there. I graduated in 1996 and at that time Dr. Robinson was the residing principal and Ms. Viola Turner was the Magnet Program Director. Both gave amazing leadership during my high school career, come on TCHS faculty and staff, don't let our future leaders down!


Posted August 23, 2012

Tri cities high school where do i begin.....as a student its a task all in itself along with getting your work done and trying to become successful and graduate. Its the second week of school and im a senior now ( C/O 2013 ) and its not a place where i feel comfortable. Its alot of drama that goes on during the day that messes up learning time.Kids are more concerned about who pregnant who goes with whom who has on what etc. Dont get me started on the imature minds that wonder this school and dont know how to grow up...and im just talking about the seniors. Its sad for the most part im glad its my last year.I wouldnt say the school is bad although the roaches and things are but its not that bad of a place its just the people in it that you have to deal with on a day to day basis......
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2012

We went to see the spring dance show, it was much better than anything the dance department did last year but it was slow and drawn out.


Posted February 19, 2012

This school is terrible!! I am VERY disappointed in our experience with this school thus far. Everytime I try to call the school nobody answers or returns my calls. The staff never want to accept responsbility for their professionalism behavior. My child complains about the distractions in the classrooms and the teacher's lack of thoroughly explaining how to complete their tasks. I have never seen incompetence on this level in my life! I am considering relocating either out of the district or the state because of this school (if this is the best GA has to offer our kids).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I have had three children attend Tri-cities, My oldest son dropped out because he felt that he was unable to learn due to the disruptions that would go on in the classes. Two remain there and they complain about the same thing. I have a senior that can never talk with her counsler because he just so busy! They both complain that the teachers are good to give orders, but never explain or help instruct the children by example. I'm not sure why some of the teachers are even employed. Don't get me wrong, we do have some outstanding teachers that I know teach and treat all the children fairly, but some really need to move on because they are as inmature as some of the students they teach. I wish my children had PRIDE in their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Tri Cities is a bad and boring school,, they baraly teach you anything.. Thats why im glad we moved out of that district.. Now i attend Westlake High and im loving it they really know how to show the students dedication to thier work.. they Actually teach us students(:


Posted May 20, 2011

Tri Cities was an excellent school, then Dr. Horton left ... despite the feel good reports on the news, the overall quality of instruction has diminished, the magnet program has gone down and the general feeling of quality that once existed is gone. I have been extremely disappointed with everything this year! The percent of students passing the GHSGT dropped this year, there have been more fights, the teachers are non-responsive, the counseling office is never available to answer questions, the magnet department administrator is out to lunch, the only bright spots are the band and a handful of (white) AP teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Tri-Cities High School sucks...I have been trying to speak to someone for the past week, calling everyday and all I get is their voice message. I leave messages and no one returns any of my calls. One of the voice messages say "Please don't leave multiple messages". If phone calls are not being returned, what are we as concerned parents supposed to do?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

This is an excellent school. With all that's going on at this school, I feel it will be a great place for our students to attend. I just love the new principle that Tri-Cities have now. Mr. Sims is a great access to Tri-Cities. I will continue to support Tri-Cities for as long as my kids are there and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I am a parent of a student in the Magnet. I am very unhappy with the program. We paid all this money and the students have not done anything. When you ask to speak with someone, everyone is sopposely busy. I am a proud parent and concern one to. I am involved by internet because giving money for nothing is not my thing. I hope someone from the school see this and call me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

This school is very unsatisfactory. The administrators are overly strict and domineering. The teachers always think they are right and are never open for mature discussion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2010

I am a member of TCHS class of 08. This school was amazing. I would not trade my experience here for anything in the world!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

It's Organized and Their very strict about what they do and want the best for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school has an excellent performing arts and band program with scholarship.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2009

Tri-Cities High School is theworst school my child has ever been in. Most of the teachers there are careless and rude to the students. This school is the worst there can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

in my opinion this is the best school i have ever been to. I have gone to 7 highschools and out of all 7 this school had the best programs, after school help and best magnet programs i have ever seen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Tri-cities is the best school ever. I love it. No school can compare. We learn and have fun. I love tchs.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

398 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

399 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
32%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
50%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
21%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 37%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dan Anthony Sims
Fax number
  • (404) 669-8158

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2575 Harris St
East Point, GA 30344
Phone: (404) 669-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cameron Academy
East Point, GA


Woodward Academy
College Park, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT