Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul D. West Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 773 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2012

I am a Paul D. West Middle School student and I hate it there. I am already upset that I did not get accepted into Hapeville Charter Middle School, I was very angry and upset. I had no choice but to go to Paul D. West Middle School. My parents always get the last word and I find that very irritating. My mother had told me that it is not the school, it is the students. I still do not believe that. Paul D. West Middle School is a Horrible school and the principal should be ashamed. I am glad that I only have two years left there. The day I graduate from Paul D. West Middle School, I will think twice before doing something as insane as visiting the school. However, the only good thing about the school is my social studies teacher. She was a great teacher and I would be glad to be her student again. I had learned a lot in her class in a short amount of time.


Posted April 13, 2012

Principal seems clueless and has no control over the school nor students. There is a fight literally every 10 mins. Police is constantly called or patrolling the halls. Constant behavior problems from students. I've witnessed students cursing out the principal as well as disrespecting teachers. Students are running that school, and running the principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2011

well when it was headland high we never had these problems, it was a fantastic center for education


Posted December 31, 2010

Paul D. West is a good school in a few ways. The teachers and most of the students are nice. I take mostly TAG ( Talented and Gifted) classes. The TAG classes are on the eighth grade hallway and it is terrible on that hall. The eighth graders are often fighting or cursing. I can't stand it. Sometimes I wonder how in the world are they suppose to be role models for 6 and 7th graders. Even worst when school finishes the students have to go outside and get on their bus. There are many fights out there and ssometimes the teachers don't do anything about it. When we had the fall festival in November, several students were cursing at the parents. Paul D. West is a terrible school!


Posted May 9, 2008

This school is the best thing since sliced bread!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son just entered paul d. West middle and he said it is a great school he has all a's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

this school is fun and cool.i leran alot there. each body there is nice,fun,and cool
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

My Twins entered Paul D. West Middle School this year as 7th grader. I love the staff and the school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My daughter just entered Paul D. West this year as a sixth grader. I was very reluctant because of all of the 'horror' stories I had heard in the past. To my surprise Mr. Sims and his staff made us feel at ease with their open door policy and their willingness to address any concerns we may have. Since the first day of school my daughter has expressed how much she loves middle school! I'm glad we chose 'The West'! Keep up the good work. Congrats on making AYP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

I think my school is doing very well to prepare the students for high school. I feel strongly about all faculty and staff because they all want us to excel in life and I feel if they do it now it will make a better future for the majority of the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2006

Paul d west is an excellent school. The staff have a sincere desire to educate children. So many schools are failing and not reaching children, it's good to know that there is a place where children can learn in an evironment that's safe, orderly and managed by teachers that are professional in and out of the classroom. I work at paul d. West and my children attend paul d. West. Hats off to the staff and keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2005

My child is not learning at the level he should. The teachers there are not helping him in the manner a teacher should. Something should be done about the way these children are learning at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

Paul D. West is on a mission to help every child achieve. My son who would often score high on tests but goof off in class has really be challenged to make changes for the better and step up to the plate and succeed. My sincere thanks, Mr. Sims and to all the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

233 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 37%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 2% 44%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LaRoyce James Sublett
Fax number
  • (404) 763-5529

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2376 Headland Dr
East Point, GA 30344
Phone: (404) 669-8130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Woodland Middle School
East Point, GA


Cameron Academy
East Point, GA


Woodward Academy
College Park, GA


The Main Street Academy
College Park, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT