Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Grove High School

Public | 9-12 | 1030 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2011

I am a frustrated involved parent of children that attend Cedar Grove High, while I know that there are some great teachers there I have experienced some horrible ones. (What a dis-advantage to our children!). The Mission Statement of this school speaks about turning out future leaders of tomorrow - I don't see this happening if Cedar Grove High leadreship continues to allow there teachers to operate below standards. - Parents if you are not concerned, and at worst scared for the future of your children - YOU have put to much trust in these teachers. I agree with the student - If you are in a situation where you have No choice, lets hope your child get a good one. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I currently am a sophomore here at this school. I agree with one of reviews saying that this school is mainly interested in sports. Here you have good teachers and you have bad teachers. You should hope your child doesn't get the bad teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2010

I have been an active PTSA member for the past year and have observed a tremendous increase in parent & teacher involvement in the PTSA. My daughter is thriving academically and socially and enjoys CGHS a great deal! I am looking forward to making a difference and being a part of the great things about to explode at CGHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

This school is horrible! I moved into the Dekalb Co. district last year. I attended cedar grove middle(awful!) & this year I Attend Cedar Grove High. Im a freshman here. The only thing the school is interested in is sports. We dont get exposed to other after school activities. & the teachers are horrible and so is the classroom setting. My teachers never have enough time for me the student. Im a smart girl who usually loves school but this school makes me want to drop out!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

I like the competent staff and teachers. My daughter also attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I think the school has improved a lot and will give a score of 4 out of 5. My son grades has improved a lot over the past two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I have been a teacher at Cedar Grove High School for 8 years. CGHS is not perfect, but no school is. If you a looking for a school that stresses academics, career education, and moral development, than CGHS is the school for you. Most of the teachers are truly concerned about the education they are providing to students. We often us our own personal time to provide free tutorial for students, and our own money to help students who don't have school supplies. Student achievement is our primary focus. Our administrators are great, and they work very hard to provide a safe environment for our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2008

I am a veteran teacher. I have been with Dekalb County 22 years and at Cedar Grove High School 1 year. I have visited with a lot of elementary, middle and high schools within my 22 years. Cedar Grove High School is not a perfect school but it is a very good high school and it is on its way to greatness. The teachers and the administrators work very hard. I am so proud of Mrs. Williams-West she is a great role model. I am especially pleased with the 9th grade assistant principal, Mrs. Payton-Edwards. She is really holding her own. She is working with a great team and has big plans for the rising 9th grade students. I get great parent support and I make sure I let parents know they are a major factor in weather their child meets success or failure during their high school years at CGHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Overall, I like the school and what's going on there. (Aside from the minor problems that are occurring at many of the metro area schools). I think that the parents could participate more in the activities provided at the school for the children. Also, parental involvement is always encouraged for PTA, parent/teacher conferences, sporting events, etc. but some parents don't support their children once they get to high school and this is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

As a parent that is very involved in my childs education, i'm disappointed in what I have encountered at CGHS. I feel as if there is not enough effort on the parts of the teachers, for those parents who are involved. I email teachers constantly, because be it as it may, my son is not putting in his share. But it takes days to get a response(not from all though). But if i don't email and constantly follow your child, you will never know what is going on. Why not inform the parent that the child is doing nothing. It takes us all to be involved the student, the parents, and the teacher. I feel it has been a oneway road. I just feel no child would ever sit in my class and not turn in class assignments, and never inform the parent. Children are just that, children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I had 3 teenage boys that attended Cedar Grove. The experience was very frustrating. In my eyes this school failed them. They where more interested in suspending kids for outrageous things than keeping them in school to get the education. The level is so so low. One of my sons is still a student there and I just do not think he is going to make it in the real world and One of my sons dropped out the other one is going to college, but I just do not think he is ready. A handful of teachers where great and kept you informed, but the majority just did not give a care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I am a Reading Specialist at this school and the improvements being made by the new prncipal, Ms. JoAnn Williams-West indicate that it will be, indeed, a premier school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

This school is absolutely horrible. It very is unorganized, the building is run down, and the quality of education is just downright unexceptable. The administrators and staff only care about one thing. Let me give you a hint...it's green. There are a FEW good teachers, but the majority are not fit to teach at the high school level.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2006

I am currently attending Cedar Grove High. It has had its ups and downs but your experience is determined by your individual effort. Since I have started I have had all accelerated courses, most of the teachers I had were pretty good. I have been taking AP courses is what prepares for the'real world' if you don't push yourself how can anyone else push you. The principal I believe is not professional enough. But everyone only brood over all the negative stuff, two students who both received the Gates-Millenium scholarship which is the highest level for all scholarships. So instead of hving a tunnel vision, only seeing the negative open up your mind and look at the positive things. Class of 2008.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2005

I have had two students to graduate from Cedar Grove High one in 1994 and one in 2001. I must say that the academically Cedar Grove prepared both of my children for college as both of them have excelled in both their undergraduate and graduate studies. I was particularly impressed that the teaching staff was more diverse during my second child's matriculation. The extracurricular programs at Cedar Grove gave my children an opportunity to travel, experience new and exciting things and network with those in other areas. The band grew tremendously under the direction of Mr. Decuir, but I hear it is struggling badly because of lack of student interest. The only improvement Cedar Grove needs is a committed principal that will work for many years to rebuild the school spirit within the students. Academics are great the FB Team and Band need new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

As a graduate of CGS, class of 2002, I give a different approach to my feelings on the schoool. Currently, I am a junior at Florida A&M, and I have learned that the opportunities that you create for yourself are what determines how successful you will be. Therefore, if you, the student, or you, the parent, do not take an ACTIVE role in education or the experiences that you stand to learn from, then you have wasted your time as well as those who attepmt to help you. If your child presents his/herself as a person who is willing to absorb all resourse that a teacher has to offer, you will do well regardless what school the school. 'The teacher didn't care' is no longer an excuse. As many of us know, there are other sources as long as you make the attempt.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2005

Cedar Grove really isn't that bad. I use to think so until this year when I started to get more involved in activities. No, not all the teachers are there to support students and there are those who want to care but they have these big classes full of students who do not want to learn. Every school has their down falls just give us a little time we re working on know educational programs trying to prepare students for college. With the help of students and parents more AP classes can be put in place and you know with a little money our sport teams could probably be better. I m not sure about this year, but I know last year our principal had to pay out of his pocket for food for our awards breakfast due to the fact we did not have a sponsor. Like I said before all we need is a little time and money and we could be on top.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2005

The AP Literature classes are the best. The Art program is pretty good; the Academy of Information Tech. (AOIT) is really good for those who can get in. And for those who can stay focused and aren't bored by lectures AP U.S. History is a good course. I m a junior right now and since I've been at this school I've had all advanced classes, which always look good on your transcript, and mostly all of my teachers have been outstanding. I can t see how so many people can complain about something a make little effort to make change.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2005

I am a graduate of Cedar Grove High School, and I personallt think that Cedar Grove is not a bad school but the teachers do NOT prepare students for what to expect in College. I took advanced English throughout HS and was placed in remedial english in College. This school just doesn't prepare students for the real world at all. PERIOD.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2005

I'm a current student at CGHS.Since my 9th grade year things have for the better in most cases.We have a better principal who knows how to handle himself and a few campus improvements.However there is no school pride,no community support,or parent involvement so kids feel like what's the use?You have some teachers who really care and those who are just there to get a paycheck.The overall student body seems to really want to overcome the surroundings the negativity.Which I think is very good but of course you are going to have the bad ones who mess it up for everyone.Also extracurricular activities are on the rise such as band(all season),footbal,etc.This school isn't as bad as they say.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

234 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

224 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

234 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

234 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
25%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pamela Benford
Fax number
  • (678) 874-4010

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2360 River Rd
Ellenwood, GA 30294
Phone: (678) 874-4002

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

McNair High School
Atlanta, GA




Cathedral Academy
Decatur, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT