Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2013

This school needs a lot of improvement. The staff are always sending letters home asking for money to be sent in but what is the money going towards? When do the students take field trips? Too many students are in a classroom for one teacher. When visiting the school all you hear is the teacher fussing at the students in the hall about getting on the wall to walk. I have saved a lot of box tops and turned thwm in to the principal office but when I go on the box top website I don't understand how the school balance would still be a low balance or remain the same as it was before. The teachers seem very unprofessional and ghetto when speaking to them and don't even mention the staff wardrobe worn to work...a hot mess. Please do better for the students and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

The teachers need to be more involved with helping the children be at their best and staying in touch with parents. I think this school could be much better they need a full re do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

This is a great neighborhood school with highly qualified and tenure service in the Educational System. It says something for an Educator to willingly stay at the same school for over 10 years and that is the majority at Cedar Grove Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

I have two boys that currently attend Cedar Grove Elementary School. I feel the school would benefit if parents were to become more involved in the education of their children. I often attend the activities the staff at Cedar Grove promotes such as PTA meetings, parental involvement meeting, parent/teacher conferences, CRCT preparation, etc. The student population exceeds 700 and there are only a handful of parents that attend. If I cannot attend, I ask that my parents attend to help keep me informed. The teachers cannot do it alone. Parents must take the lead when it comes to educating our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

My son attended this school from 2nd grade to the 5th grade. I was very pleased at first but as he matured and entered each grade, my joy disapated. The teachers became less involved and more like behavior therapists. There will be a new principal for 2007-2008. The school is okay. We did not meet AYP last year. Not sure if they will make it this year. But, I do know one thing, I am glad my son is out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

Cedar Grove is a good school. My son have done very well at this school. The teachers seem to really care about the studert. It take all of us to made this school much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

I was shocked to learn that the shcool does not have simple necessities like soap for the children to wash their hands with. With the rate that germs spread, I cannot believe that the county has not stepped in to ensure soap, paper towels and tissue for the shcool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

I love Cedar Grove school. My son went there from k to the 5th. My daughter is still there. The teachers are very into their students. The principal,I always see her walking around and everybody always say hi. I love Cedar Grove.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

I love this school because it has a great education for the kids and the teachers are just beautiful.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

95 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bernetta Jones
Fax number
  • (678) 874-3910

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2330 River Rd
Ellenwood, GA 30294
Phone: (678) 874-3902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT