Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Evans, GA
Students enrolled: 1,962
 

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Evans High School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a student
i went to this school for 2 years, and i loved it. everyone was so nice and united with each other. i knew all of the kids there, and there are great people who go there. the school is sort of small, and it doesnt have many extracurricular activities. but it is very advanced on technology and they are organized. ive gone to 3 different high schools so far and by far, this one was the best. i just love the people there. Go knights!

Evans High School 2

Posted September 02, 2013
- a student
Some of the teachers have a strict attitude on the first day of school, some of them already pick out favorites which is not right at all. Some of the office staff don't communicate to each other so don't expect help from them. This high school does not prepare you for college, this school has the slowest learning curve because the way some teachers teach, is just stupid. You get handed packets everyday in most classes then you take a test every friday. You don't learn much. There has already been students that were going to this school that killed themselves, the school staff is very unsupportive with the new laws against bullying. You could learn way more if you went somewhere else.


Evans High School 2

Posted May 22, 2013
- a community member
Can someone PLEASE tell me how a school can LOSE a student's EpiPen? If you turn ANY medication over to that school to hold in their office, get some kind of written proof from someone there that it was received by them because they take no accountability for property they are supposed to hold on to - do it for the sake of your student's well-being.

Evans High School 1

Posted September 27, 2012
- a parent
If you care about your child's education, and you want your child to graduate with the ability to go to a four your college then DO NOT SEND THEM TO EVANS!!!. Evans high school takes the choice away from you the parent and your child. They decide who does or does not get the classes needed for college admission. They have denied my child the required foreign language classes needed to graduate with the ability to go directly to a four year program and are forcing him to have to take junior college classes first just to get the required courses. They have denied my child of an adequate public education. Adequate is more than the ability to read or write, it is also about providing them the necessary tools to ensure their choices and opportunities for the future.

Evans High School
no rating

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
i loved this school because they had a great jobtraining program/special ed i was in resourses aka special ed and i graduated from the 2004 i miss some of the teachers


Evans High School 5

Posted August 10, 2008
- a parent
Great school! My child's teachers really care about seeing their students succeed and take the time to work and help the ones with learning disabilities. I think this is one of the best in Columbia County!

Evans High School 1

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
I had two sons go to this school. I moved to Columbia County because they were supposed to have the best schools. This school is a disgrace. God forbid your child has a learning disability. A lot of the staff needs to remember they are adult faculty members and not students. I have witnessed teachers belittling students. When you try to get problems addressed the staff likes to pass the buck. No one wants to take responsibility. They supposedly practice the 'No child left behind' policy but ask them how many kids they suspend and expel each year. Some kids expelled for ridiculous infractions. So tell me now how many children got left behind.

Evans High School 5

Posted November 01, 2006
- a parent
Evans High School was and is the perfect fit for my children (and my husband and I as involved parents). The other parents and a number of faculty, and staff are like extended family. The teachers have been great and the extra ciricular programs and athletics have been wonderful for my children. I think it is the perfect school if you want your children to graduate as well rounded individuals with a quality education. Since Evans High School is one of the oldest in the county it lacks the luster and street appeal of the newer schools, but there is a lot of heart and spirit inside!!


Evans High School 2

Posted April 14, 2006
- a student
Great for the average student. To excel in anything other than band or sports, need to do so on an independent basis. Many teachers,themselves, still behave as if they are in high school with students.

Evans High School 1

Posted December 15, 2005
- a parent
I think this school is a disgrace. Many teachers get an attitude if they do not like your child, they are disorganized, and someone is always passing the buck to someone else to cover their own behind. They are more worried about the unimportant things that children do, rather than focusing on the big things. I have met more teens in this school with the I dont care attitude, rather than striving to succeed. Parents need to start taking a stand with this school, considering the fact that the mojority of us get up every morning to go to work, so that our taxes can pay for this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evans High School
4550 Cox Rd, Evans, GA  30809
(706) 863-1198
Last modified Evans High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Evans High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top