Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greenbrier High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 08, 2016
- a student
There are a select few people at this school I'd like to say thanks to. My guidance counselor is definitely a very helpful person to talk to. He truly cares about the students and sees them as MUCH more than a pay check.

Greenbrier High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 08, 2016
- a student
The amount of homework is ridiculous. It's almost impossible to juggle homework clubs and for some students work. Some teachers use homework as place fillers so they don't have to teach because all we are to them are pay checks and it's not right


Greenbrier High School 1

Posted March 08, 2016
- a student
Preppy girls and private school atmosphere and teachers that see students as only pay checks equals the worst school in history

Greenbrier High School 2

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been very frustrated and, quite frankly disappointed, by our experience with GHS. We would be more impressed if the actions of the staff lined up with the assurances coming from their mouths. Unfortunately, that has not been our experience. While several reviews said that the focus is on athletics rather than academics, our feeling is that the athletic department is the only saving grace. As a newcomer, GHS has a very difficult environment to integrate into. Our hope at this point is that our child will use this negative experience to learn and grow.

Greenbrier High School 5

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
I have 4 kids and have experienced public schools and private schools in Augusta. I believe the negative reviews of this school are from those who have relocated here and have not experienced other local schools. Greenbrier does an exceptional job considering the school is soooo over crowded BECAUSE so many people like the area and the schools. Our schools and curriculum are governed by the STATE requirements and our teachers do a phenomenal job of trying to do their jobs, encourage our kids and keep the schools high ranking standards and marks!! If you are relocating to here from a state with better education funding and support, you will not be satisfied with ANY public school in this area. I however LOVE our high school and moved here because of the reputation and have NOT been disappointed! We left Richmond County and Augusta Christian Schools for this community of schools and I have and still have students in the Elementary, Middle and High School!


Greenbrier High School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
As a graduate student and a life time learner, Greenbrier HS has shown me that they dedicated to educating my daughter. She has tons of homework and I can tell from the material she studies every night that this school is serious. Sure there are normal teens at the school and not everyone is there to learn but the educators there are friendly and willing to support parents and students.

Greenbrier High School 4

Posted September 02, 2012
- a parent
Having served in the military for almost 3 decades, my husband and I were thrilled to get back home and get our children back into the Greenbrier School system. We have seen many schools nationwide, and Greenbrier ranks among the top 2 of over 10 schools which they have attended. Many schools are not perfect as some would hope for, but Greenbrier teachers and staff do a great job at striving to be the best everyday. In my opinion, the sports program, AP offerings, and the wide range of electives are balanced equally with the focus on academics. My only wish is that orchestra was offered in the high school. My daughter loves playing the violin and we must go with a private tutor. Other than that, we love Greenbrier and our teenagers (16 & 15) love Greenbrier!! Keep it up Wolfpack! :)

Greenbrier High School 2

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
My family moved here from Florida (not for the military) midway through the 08-09 school year. Greenbrier was highly recommended by everyone so we chose their school zone for our two high school aged daughters. WOW-what a disappointment!! My daughters remain unchallenged & bored at school everyday even though they both take many AP classes & are in Honors classes otherwise. Added to that, the high school they were enrolled in FL was a 'ghetto' school (as the kids called it) but never before had they heard so much talk of sex & drugs as they have here. These things are discussed daily in their classes among the students! Anyway, we are truly disappointed in this school & sorry every day that we chose this school zone. If you have a choice & care about your kids education, DON'T go to Greenbrier!


Greenbrier High School 4

Posted July 21, 2007
- a student
This has been an overall good school, mostly since I was in the honors program and separated from those who don't care to work or study. The principal and administrators don't seem to do anything but walk around the hallways and whine about dress code, but most of the teachers I had really did care about my education: not just academics, but also general aspects of life. It is a very crowded school (designed for something like 1200-1400 students, but as of last year it enrolled over 2000), and the traffic in the morning is terrible unless an effort is made to get in before the rush. The same applies to the afternoons when everyone is trying to leave. Even with its shortcomings, GHS is a better school than most in Georgia and even across the nation. For the best experience, take the hardest classes. Those are the ones with teachers who care.

Greenbrier High School 2

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
Greenbrier High has been a great disappointment for our family. Sports is the only focus not academics. It is way overcrowded. Think twice before choosing this high school for the last four years of your child's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenbrier High School
5114 Riverwood Parkway, Evans, GA  30809
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (706) 650-6040
Last modified Greenbrier High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top