Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campbell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

Ah what can I say , well i was a student at Campbell and it was the best years of my life parents if you're looking for a great elementary school here's your best bet ! Campbell's the best ! Brettbolden !


Posted May 4, 2014

The rating for this school does not show the truth at Campbell. The principle Mrs. Cadet loves what she does every day from the interactions with the children and also the way the school is ran. The teachers are AMAZING! They take their time to make sure the kids understand everything, school work but also life lessons. The teachers at Campbell are leaders not just teachers. My children have been at Campbell two years. My children receive honor roll and principle list every year. We will not be returning next year because of job relocation and reading the reviews for other schools in "better" areas doesn't sound like it's where I want my children to go.Yes their rated 9 or 10 but it's doesn't seem like they actually care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

where my daughter is growing, learning, and becoming a young lady. She is supported by her teachers and the staff. She has made friends and is developing into an intelligent, happy, secure person due to the encouragement and support of her teachers and staff at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Campbell has once again exceeded my expectations this year. I love the staff and our great principle Mrs. Cadet. She encourages the students and parents. The curriculum is great and my son loves to learn as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

I would like to say that I have really enjoyed my daughter, who is in kindergarten, being at Campbell Elementary this year. Recently, I sent the principal an email at 10:30pm on a Sunday night because I wanted to address an issue with my daughter early Monday morning. I was surprised to see a response to my email at 6:30am Monday morning from Ms. Cadet. My daughter and I continued to prepare for work and school and by the time I arrived to work, Ms. Cadet had resolved the issue and emailed me to see if I still needed to meet with her. I was very impressed by how quickly she responded to my concern. Also, love the way each grade performed during the PTA meetings. I would recommend Campbell Elementary to anyone in the Union City and Fairburn area because staff are really concerned about the students and they get to know them personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

Campbell Elementary is a great school. My son won the Pre-K lottery to attend this school, and it's where he needs to be. I recently attended a volunteer and Pre-K parent meeting and was very delighted to see how involved the Principle and Vice Principle were. I like the fact that they both attended and were actively involved, not just sitting back relaxing. Campbell is everything I hoped for as a parent, they teach my son things that will help exceed his next learning level and be successful. Go Campbell!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My son has been in the special needs program there for the past 4 years and we've had good and bad years. I have complained about some of the teachers lack of involvement and was told maybe it will be better for him next year! I'm tired of hearing 'well, give it a few more months, or another year!' My son doesn't have another year to waste!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Very Good Teachers, but there seems to be very heavy levels of 'clicks' and poor problem-solving tactics among the leaders of the school and trinkles down to the teachers, I think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My husband and I are both retired military and decided to move here in Atlanta. We wanted to find a school that would fit our 3 year old son 'special needs' on being speech delayed. The teachers at Campbell are absolutely wonderful and professional. The staff is so supportive and just unbelieveable. By the end of the school year I can see the difference in my son's progress. I was told that my son would have to go to his home school, but that is just not an option for us. We plan on providing our own transportation for our son to and from school. I can't say enough on how great Campbell Elementary has been to our family...Highly Recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Campbell Elementary is a dynamic school! I truly believe that the performance of any organization is contingent upon whether the head of the organization demonstrates great leadership, integrity, authenticity of character, and an unquestionable desire to put his/her employees first. These attributes definitely describe Principal Denine Cadet! With the unwavering commitment of teachers and staff, she has managed to create a learning environment that goes beyond any parents expectations! The camaraderie and dedication, among teachers and staff, the genuine devotion to each child and their family, and the rich diversity of culture, are just a few of the many qualities that contribute to the outstanding education at Campbell Elementary. Everyday I take my daughter to school, she has a big smile on her face, from the time I drop her off, to the time I pick her up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

My daughter just graduated from Campbell this past May, and I am so sad about her leaving. We moved into the area from another country 2 years ago and before we even got here Ms Cadet kept in touch via email and when we finally met in person, she told us 'We don't shake hands, we give hugs'. The teachers are great - and committed - they give of their time after school to tutor and lead extra curriculars like scrabble club and boy/girl scouts. Very culturally diverse, PTA meetings well attended and to the point and the kids love skate night. 150 words is not enough! Drop off/pick up is almost seamless; they take care of children and teach them and on any given day you can find former students coming by to say hi. Campbell is not just a school, it's a family.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

Both of my sons at one point attended this school I love the staff and the principal is the best. I wish this school was K5-12!!! Keep up the great work Mrs. Cadet!!!! L. Dilworth
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My kids absolutely love this school. I am in total agreeance with them. The staff is courteous and geniuinely concerened about the children that attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

My child is new to this School. The first day usually is a little hectic, but the staff was very helpful and made my children's transition a pleasant one. Even the principal walked up to my daughters class after showing us where to sign up for after school pick-up. I mean she did not leave our side until we were settled. My son was very nervous his first day, but when he came home him and my daughter said they had a great day. I am looking forward to getting involved with my kids education at Campbell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

Campbell Elem is an awesome school. I refuse to move out of the area because I could not imagine my kids in another school. The teachers are excellent and the academic performance has been great where my kids are concerned. The kids are kind, courteous, and well behaved. The staff teaches them manners and life skills that they can take out into the real world. The PTA turn out is excellent, parents are working along with the teachers to ensure that our kids have the best education. Campbell is an extremely diversified school, with white, black, hispanic, and other nationalities. Campbell celebrates cultural differences with hispanic and black history months as well as lessons on other cultures. Campbell would a awesome elementry for any child whose parents are seeking a loving, nutruring enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

149 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

119 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
White 2% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Denine Cadet
Fax number
  • (770) 306-3522

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91 Elder St
Fairburn, GA 30213
Phone: (770) 969-3430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT