Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 546 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

My family and I are moving to this area and were told this school is the best in the area. We are looking forward to our move and for our children to attend Cleveland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My son is in Kindergarten and is reading on a 1st Grade level already! The care the teachers and administration put into every child is what separates Fayette County schools from every other district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

My son transferred here struggling with school and although he still struggles the Administration and most of the teachers are very supportive of him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Cleveland Elementary has the best musical program in the state of GA. I have three grandchildren at Cleveland and never miss a program. It amazes me what this wonderful educator does with our children.


Posted September 7, 2011

I love Cleveland Elementary. The faculty and staff are fantastic. We moved here over the summer and my son started 5th Grade...very rough transition for him from a small private school to a big public school. The teachers and other needed facutly rallied around him to help him in every way and to help me and show me how to help him. I love it and am very pleased with this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

We decided to have our sons attend Cleveland due to it feeding into Bennetts Mill Middle School. (military family here for short time only) We have been very happy with the performance of kids, the extra instruction they needed to 'catch them up' after entering in the middle of the year. Very happy. Also love Bennetts Mill MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Cleveland Elementary is as good as it gets in public school! Our daughter has attended grades 1-3 and she has excelled in this environment. Very few, if any negative issues, high parent involvement, great school atmosphere and spirit. Don't hesitate when considering Cleveland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I love the cleveland elementary school.My son used to go in the Montessori. I started his school this Year. Its far better than the montessori. Teachers are excellent, very caring & coperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I am pleased with Cleveland Elementary. I appreciate the fact that the school strives to teach children academic as well as life skills. I love the fact that there is open communication between teachers and parents as well. The parent involvement is a big plus and I feel that it is a safe, comfortable, stimulating environment for my child to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

I am a parent of a third grader at Cleveland. He came in the middle of the second grade from a county which had lower expectations of their students. He struggled in the beginning, but the teachers worked with him and kept me informed. He is an A/B student. It is unfortunate that in this day and age some parents send their children not only to be taught by the teachers; but also to be raised. They then cry foul if they disagree with the teacher. As a parent, I feel it's my responsibility to be actively involved in my son's school. I would like to thank the administration and staff of Cleveland. The Crocs Rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

I agree with the comment that this faculty is more appreciative of high-achieving kids, rather than those who struggle. My son was in the reading program from Kindergarten thru 2nd grade and it really wasn't helping much. We finally resorted to hiring a private tutor during 2nd grade. He's now an A student, but his Kindergarten teacher couldn't understand what was 'wrong' with him. We knew that once he developed his reading skills, he would excel. I don't want to sound too critical. It's probably above average in GA, just not a 'great' school yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

As a certified staff member, I would like to respond to the criticism of the administration. I feel like the administration is getting an unfair judgement by the 'holier than thou' parents. I have worked one-on-one with the administrators and, yes, I have disagreed with their decisions from time to time. I do feel like they are keeping what's best in mind for the school. They work hard everyday dealing with test scores, happy and unhappy parents, and everyday school issues. The administration is do their best to work with all of the parents. Have you ever thought that may some of these irate parents are too blind to see what ir tight before their eyes? Maybe they are upset that we are pointing out that their child isn't an angel like they thought they were. People...Walk a mile in their shoes before you start to complain about sore feet.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2006

This school is definitely run by overbearing women who only care about test scores and how they look on paper. They could care less about children who struggle with learning. If you are a single parent, they definitely will discriminate against you. My children have been very poorly treated by this school and by one teacher specifically. The principal does not care and ignored all of my requests to have my child moved to another class. I feel sorry for the good teachers that have to work under the evil principal. The only good thing this school has going for them is Ms. Weber, the best Kindergarten teacher and the Ms. Bonnie in the cafeteria. These two women are amazing and truly care about the children. I am relocating so my children have a fair chance away from the evil leaders of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Cleveland is a great community school, with an active PTO and many excellent teachers and staff. It is a very safe environment, but tends to be less 'warm' due to the strict environment. I feel that teachers are a valuable commodity and need to be respected by both parents and administration. By the same token, parents need to feel that the teachers and administrators have their childs best interest at heart. This could be one of the top schools in the county, if ego's are put aside and cooperation is embraced. Parents need to step up to the plate too and become more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

The academic programs were fine, but there was a lot of homework, even in Kindergarten. I was not happy with the fourth graders split into three classes. Too soon. Not happy with how the teachers in fourth grade taught a thesis paper, they didn't care if the kids got it or not. I was happy with the third grade teacher, Ms. Godbois and Ms. Weber in Kindergarten. Excellent ASP program for working families. Parents definitely have to stay involved because there is a lot of homework assignments and tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

My child has attended Cleveland for two years. Administration has been nothing but supportive of both teachers and parents. Children are the number one priority at Cleveland. Decisions are made with the best interests of children in mind. Music, art, physical education and technology are integrated throughout the curriculum daily. Expectations are high for children at Cleveland and as a parent, I want nothing less for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

Cleveland is a superior school in Fayette County. The students are challenged academically, and provided with a successful foundation for their future. The staff, teachers, and administration all show an excellence in team work and dedication to all of the students in the school. Their goal is to make every student in Cleveland feel confident, safe, and intelligent. The enthusiasm in all the teaching staff is very evident, and I've seen very little turnover in the last two years. The special events brought to the school are both educational and fun for everyone. The opera, well-known authors and storytellers, scientists, musicians, the list goes on. Cleveland is a great school that deserves full credit for ALWAYS putting the students first and focusing on their success in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

If you want your child to be academically challenged, and behavioral problems kept in check, then this is the school for you. However, if your child struggles in the least, they become a 'burden'! The school is also run by two overbearing women fighting for the top spot. If what you have to say doesn't fit what they want to hear, then too bad. No wonder the teachers are unhappy and the turnover rate one of the highest in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

I want to comment on the After School Program. It is one of the finest I have seen. I am in the military and have seen my children (oldest-18 yrs) educated around the US. This is one of the finest programs I have encountered. My 6 year old complains when I pick her up before 5 pm. She says she didn't have time do all the things she wanted to do. Caring, warm and security concious. All children and staff wear badges. Many extra programs (eg. karate, cheerleading, piano) are offered. VERY reasonable price and program is supervised by school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2004

excellent school. music and art programs are excellent many diverse activities. yearly poetry contests- starting at 4th grade musical instruments started.n 4h program girlscouts and boy scouts. parent teacher organizaton very active: golf tournaments, picnics, concerts with each grade level (plays, musicals, choirs, dramas,recitations). parents are very involved. no sports program avilable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 44%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Black 12% 37%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Lester Rd
Fayetteville, GA 30215
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 716-3905

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pace Christian School
Fayetteville, GA


Rising Star Montessori
Fayetteville, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT