Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-12|Private
193 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heritage Academy 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
We did not have a good experience with this school. This school may be a great fit for some, but it wasn't for us. I hate to write anything negative, but I am posting in hopes that it might help someone else with making a decision. The 2nd grade teacher did not want to teach my son, who is respectful, kind, compassionate, and smart, but has a short attention span when it comes to things that do not interest him. She did not want to be bothered. His previous (public) school was in another state, and both his kindergarten and first grade teachers loved and cared for him. I know we are all human, but IMO, this school did not exemplify the love of Christ.

Heritage Academy 3

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Loved our teachers at Heritage! But if your children are at all 'different' from the mainstream, quiet, sit on your hands type of child - this school is not for you. They do not have the means to deal with any child that is different from that 'perfect' mold. They will just, basically, tell you to leave but only after making you feel that you are a horrible parent and that your child is just 'not good enough'.


Heritage Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
I'm floored by the negative reviews. I think the negative posts are based more on a personal issue. On that note, this school has been an answer to prayer. It is 3 days a week, with an opportunity for math help on Tuesday mornings for the upper grades (7 & up). It is a hybrid school giving parents the chance to be involved in their childs academics while receiving an acredited diploma, lower tuition (because it's 3 days a week), 16 student max class size, 2 days a week they're home doing their assignments (about 6 hrs), and in a loving Christian enviroment. My daughter has thrived, been encouraged by her teachers, and loves it. She's developed strong study skills, learned to be responsible for her assignments, & more confident. Teachers pray before class begins. She knows the work is demanding & that she needs to work hard, she doesn't expect the standards to be lowered to her pace. I don't ask the school to change their values. Their house, their rules. No excuses. They are motivated and encouraged all the way. If you have a non -compliant child, this may not be the school for you. If you believe in the "it takes a village" to raise up your child, then you will love it here.

Heritage Academy 1

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
I could not agree more with the last post. Absolute disaster of a school. Run don't walk away. Spend your time, energy, money and emotions with a place that actually knows what they are doing.

Heritage Academy 1

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
This school has a few great professional teachers who do really care about the students. But, it is really struggling, it is not willing to commit to hiring only good teachers and academics. It hires anyone willing to fill in and then seems to allow bad teachers to teach year after year with little consequence despite parents repeated cries. The principal and guidance staff are VERY VERY weak and academic results are mainly driven by a few smart kids. As a parent you will have to be very involved, Heritage is working off of a very dated perspective of what is needed to get into a good school. The University Model can be very effective for some kids but not others. My first daughter graduated a few years ago and she felt she had developed some very good study habits because of Heritage that her friends had not. My other child only lasted two years after getting several bad teachers and little help from the principal, we felt we needed to try to rescue him before it was too late. Heritage is a Strongly Christian School, but sadly they mistake poor planning, disorganization and a deteriorating ability to get anything done as "God's Will." Perhaps they should read Thessalonians 2:11


Heritage Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2011
- a parent
Regarding the post suggesting the administration is dishonest and manipulative...I'm just wondering if this parent could possibly be talking about the same Heritage Academy. This is our child's fourth year at Heritage. Another child of ours started attending this year. In our experience, the staff and administration have always handled things in a God-honoring way. We have never witnessed any sort of unethical leadership or decision making. We have gotten to know the staff over the years and have nothing but good to say about them. The individual who wrote the poor review must have had a very isolated incident. We are so grateful for this school. The class sizes allow for a great deal of one on one instruction. The curricula is very rigorous and college preparatory in nature. It has greatly challenged our kids to step up their game academically and we are confident they will do well in college because of Heritage. The teachers genuinely care about the students and spiritual/character develpment is emphasized first and foremost. One drawback for us has been that sports are emphasized over fine arts. Hoping music/drama will be developed further over the coming years.

Heritage Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
This school is run by passionate professionals who really love what they are doing and know why they are doing it. For the Lord and your children. I have not seen that at any other school and thank God for them to provide an alternative to mainstream education. Additionally the scores for these students are well above the norm as the schools standards are based upon a university model and not a cake walk. But the students are well prepared for college when they graduate.

Heritage Academy 1

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This school is completely awful! Apart from the subpar teaching staff, the administration is the most dishonest and manipulative group of people I have ever met. Truthfully, I have had non-Christians treat me and my family better than the staff at this school. Please save your money and your time and look elsewhere for your children's education!


Heritage Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2006
- a teacher
What a great place to be! I taught at Heritage Academy for 5 years and had a truly wonderful experience with the administration, faculty, and the students. I would recommend this school without reservation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Academy
Po Box 398, Flowery Branch, GA  30542
(706) 658-3020
Last modified Heritage Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Heritage Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top