Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Unidos Dual Language Charter School

Charter | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

This is AWFUL! The teachers are not equipped to teach Common Core. The communication is poor. The teachers do not provide appropriate communication to parents when grades or behavior in the classroom has changed. No one never knows anything and it takes the teachers and the Principle four days to respond to concerns posed by the parent. The concept is great, but your child will suffer in the end without the proper foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

This school is awesome i would never leave a spanish school and now that the unidos middle school is at morrow middle i think i might put my child there next year. The best thing is that whrn are kid grow up the can have a great job and get great pay checks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

I am very please with my children academic perormance. I love the close knit community feel, the school offers. It is a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I like this school because it teachers in 2 languages. Children have a chance to learn and become fluent in a second language and that is important in this day and age. The Forest Park/Clayton County area has a mix of languages and cultures and children need to be able to communicate with friends and people in general. This school offers that chance. I have never had a child at this school and I live across the county from it, but I think it should have a chance at the $20,000.


Posted February 24, 2010

I love the closenest of the students and the concept but worry about what happen after elementary school .Its need to be a middle school with same concept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

I love the concept of the school, but it isn't run very well as far as communication with parents and teachers. Half the time you talk to a teacher, they don't know what is going on in the school and you are told to ask the principal. Also, it seems behavior problems get a simple smack on the wrist. If a child is bullying another child it should be stopped. Dual language learning is good. Administration is nice, but don't do their job to the best of their ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I love the fact that we have a school were our childrend can go and learn spanish, there goal is that every child as there reach to the fith grade be able to read, speak, and write spanish fluent my dauhgter is in unidos and i see the progress already i am very happy with the school , teachers, and principals , coordinators , every on is very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

It's ok for now, I would like to see more teachers appointed as dual language training for these young minds in a smaller environment to help with learning ability
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Well I am not happy about the less classroom management that I am seeing. The kids are not able to get the full instruction due to behavior. But we all know that clayton county offers a variety of assitance per the classroon personnel. There are classes provided to help with such situations for behavior and instructions. We as parents can help but it is not our responsibility to come in and take over, we are here to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I overall like school, but extra assistant personnel is needed in classes to assist slower learning children as well as children w/special learning instructions for one on one teaching. Also, for musical programs, better sound system is needed and quietness needs to be enforced by all parents and students, so that all can hear and enjoy. It's always very noisy in the back of lunch room. -Can a weekly schedule be sent home for what day gym class is on and also computer, art and music, in case a parent wants to come by and sit in. We are not aware of it at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 37%
Hispanic 43% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy Said

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4475 Hendrix Dr
Forest Park, GA 30297
Phone: (404) 361-3494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Huie Elementary School
Forest Park, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT