Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School are one of the main strengths of the school. My son has not had a teacher yet that was not willing to stay after school to do anything necessary to help him be successful.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
I chose to send my son to this school. Most of the teachers are dedicated, each taking a personal interest in my son's success. Students can gain a top-notch education, if they want it. Excellent AP and honors courses are offered in many areas, and there are many opportunities for students in various extra-curricular areas. The band program is a five star program, earning top ratings in every event. My honors student is graduating this year, very prepared for college.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been going to this school for a few years.. the bullying is never resolved... and medical issues are not taken personally. My child has medical issues and a teacher jerked her by her arm leaving a bruise on her.. however they called DEFACS on me for her being out for a week with a stomach virus on which I have a drs note for every single day.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
This was hard to answer.. not all teachers there are bad.. but the ones that are give the good ones a bad name.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is a huge issue.. they do not ever listen to the students.. everything is favoritism..


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Honesty and integrity are learned by showing it.. they do not in any way show this to students or parents.. instead they lie.. and cover up their own mistakes and then its your word against the teachers and principles.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
The administration in this school does not teach respect or even tolerance. If your child is different from the status quo in any way, they will publicly cut your child down in front of other admin, other teachers, and other students. They are outrageous.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Administration runs the school like it's their house, oblivious to any laws that govern the real world. At least one of the male administrators quit over the summer. Too bad it wasn't Vandiver. She is the most backward leadership that school could possibly have, and the reason why the other assistant principles acted like bigots, and she allowed the art teacher to bully my child for a complete year. Vandiver is a bully, Langston was a bully, Weaver is a bully, and Wendy Morgan needs to go to the house - she is a 44 year old teenager with a teaching license who spent an entire year creating a hostile learning environment for my daughter. This school will be great when a more updated and professional batch of administrators are hired. Hopefully that happens all at the same time, so the new ones don't have a chance to learn anything from the ones who are currently there. If you have a complaint about these individuals, go straight to the superintendent, and go straight to the board. Go higher than that if you have to, I've already paved the way. Be persistant. You don't serve them - they serve you and your children.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
It has been our experience that the administration behaves like the teenagers, and they feed off of of each other. For example, Wendy Morgan gossiped about my child in front of my child's peers on multiple occasions, cutting my child down. That is not ethical, and it encourages other children to consider it as appropriate behavior when actually it is very damaging in the educational or work environment.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Brittingham and the Spanish teacher have it together very well. They know what it means to be a teacher, and they are responsible.

Nearby schools

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
1850 Battlefield Parkway, Fort Oglethorpe, GA  30742
(706) 866-0342
Last modified Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top