Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Fort Oglethorpe, GA
Students enrolled: 1,015
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
The administration in this school does not teach respect or even tolerance. If your child is different from the status quo in any way, they will publicly cut your child down in front of other admin, other teachers, and other students. They are outrageous.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Administration runs the school like it's their house, oblivious to any laws that govern the real world. At least one of the male administrators quit over the summer. Too bad it wasn't Vandiver. She is the most backward leadership that school could possibly have, and the reason why the other assistant principles acted like bigots, and she allowed the art teacher to bully my child for a complete year. Vandiver is a bully, Langston was a bully, Weaver is a bully, and Wendy Morgan needs to go to the house - she is a 44 year old teenager with a teaching license who spent an entire year creating a hostile learning environment for my daughter. This school will be great when a more updated and professional batch of administrators are hired. Hopefully that happens all at the same time, so the new ones don't have a chance to learn anything from the ones who are currently there. If you have a complaint about these individuals, go straight to the superintendent, and go straight to the board. Go higher than that if you have to, I've already paved the way. Be persistant. You don't serve them - they serve you and your children.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
It has been our experience that the administration behaves like the teenagers, and they feed off of of each other. For example, Wendy Morgan gossiped about my child in front of my child's peers on multiple occasions, cutting my child down. That is not ethical, and it encourages other children to consider it as appropriate behavior when actually it is very damaging in the educational or work environment.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Brittingham and the Spanish teacher have it together very well. They know what it means to be a teacher, and they are responsible.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
If your child can survive the hostile learning environment from continous degradation and bullying by the adults at this school, then yes, your child will be able to survive anything in life.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
Always was targeted. Called stupid by principal, yelled at when I was crying. Terrible school. They don't keep it clean all around either. Gross walls and bathrooms too. Dusty classes.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Administration is unprofessional and biased. It's as if the school were being run by about 6 high schoolers themselves.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 1

Posted November 03, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from LFO 20yrs ago and I can still say in my opinion it is the absolute worst school ever. The enviroment is extremely bias and raciest. When I was a student at LFO even the foreign exchange students got harrassed. The teachers only cared about a select group of students any students who did not fit into there "ideal" definition was basically ignored. Don't get me wrong I had about 6 really great teachers but that was it out of a school with so many teachers. After I became a teacher assistant I worked with a teacher who graduated and taught there after she got out of college. I learned a few things then, how the admin were busy trying to sleep with some of the teachers and sexiest remarks that were made in the office. I would NEVER let my child attend Lakeview. It was a horrible school experience and to this day is still a horrible school.


Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 5

Posted January 06, 2009
- a parent
LFO is a fabulous school. My daughter is a senior at LFO this year and she is more than prepared for college. The teachers and principals are very caring and they have pushed her to succeed. In a world where everyone is concerned with just getting by, it is nice to know that my daughter is being challenged and encouraged to take harder classes in order to be prepared for college and beyond. They also won two state-level awards this year that no other high schools in this part of the state won.

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School 5

Posted January 06, 2009
- a parent
LFO is a fabulous school. My daughter is a senior at LFO this year and she is more than prepared for college. The teachers and principals are very caring and they have pushed her to succeed. In a world where everyone is concerned with just getting by, it is nice to know that my daughter is being challenged and encouraged to take harder classes in order to be prepared for college and beyond. They also won two state-level awards this year that no other high schools in this part of the state won.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School
1850 Battlefield Pkwy, Fort Oglethorpe, GA  30742
(706) 866-0342
Last modified Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top