Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peach County High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2010

Great on hands teaching at Peach County High School. I had two daughters who graduated from PCHS and would proudly suggest PCHS to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

The school does not need to discipline students, that is the parents' JOB! The PCHS is doing a great job, some parents aren't however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I think pchs needs better teachers that will buckle down and teach, and teach discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2007

I had a special needs child attend one semester which was a great disappointment. It was not the teacher or teacher assistants. IT WAS THE SCHOOL SYSTEM!!! The Kay Center needs to update the program to employment in businesses and food industries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

So, the school went from having a decent principal (O'Shields), to a person with unrealistic goals. No respect for the arts as the drama and choral program have virtually ceased to exist. The degradation and simplification of their programs has become depressingly apparent over the 8 years I've dealt with the school. Teachers are 50/50, some try to work with what they have, and the rest are either new and inexperienced or waiting to retire. If your children have enough of a work ethic to overcome the atmosphere of the school, it is sufficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

Academically the school needs improvement. The principal does not participate in many extracurricular activities. The whole town comes out for football games but other sports frail in comparison. Parent involvement, is pretty good if the students are involved in extracurricular activities and the students that do participate are usually the ones who perform well in school anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

My daughter attended PCHS for one semester and I would have to say that that was one semester too many in my opinion. I give an F-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

I recently graduated from PC. I wouldn't say that I enjoyed it but I wouldn't want to have gone anywhere else. It was a good experience going there. I kind of miss PC actually. I'm doing well in college, better than most I think. My SAT score is 1270. I only had one teacher who was really horrible but she's gone now. I would have like to take Latin but they don't offer it. Football games were a lot of fun, especially in 2003 when they did really well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2005

All three of my children were enrolled at Peach County High School, my oldest child graduated with honors and with bad experiences. Discipline? What dicipline? I have heard of many grphic fights, and not to metion bomb threats on some occasions! My second child went to this school untill his junior year. When we moved away he learned so much more and was accepted wasn't worried about students but by the teachers. My youngest child is currently attending Peach County and her grades are doing fine and on A honor roll, but I cant stress enough about the principle, coaches, teachers PARENTS on attending school sports games. My daughter is in soccer and we are lucky to see one teacher let alone the principle at our games, though I have heard of many faculty going to football games.Alot needs to be done for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Luckily I have a bright student. If it wasn't for the college program they offered him his senior year - we would have transfered to another school. At least someone there recognized the need to challenge this student and reward with college credits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

The school is not all at your fingertips acidemically, you actually have to try a bit to do well and prepare yourself as it's not all spoonfed to you. The cultural diversity of the school well prepares you for the real world, and actually, in the social aspect has done a lot more than the previous high school she attended. Teachers were very helpful- all she had to do was ask. Needs more support for the extracurricular activities. In my own opinion, Claudia Patterson (the new principal) is absolutely terrible in that area. She hurts the school if anything. All disciplinarian- bad people skills. My other daughter is in the jazz band- At the fine arts concert, the Superintendant was there, and she wasn't. If that doesn't tell you. Other than that, I give an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

My child graduated in 2004. I wish I would have sent her to a private school, in all honesty. When my daughter entered college, she said she felt highly unprepared. Many of her classmates had already read books she had never heard of or were able to do math equations that blew her mind. Keep in mind that she was part of the gifted program at PCHS, which is sad to say. In addition, she reflects that she received all A's and writing awards in high school. However, when she entered college, her first writing professor pulled her aside, commenting that her writing was hardly up to par for a college student. PCHS does not educate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

253 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

250 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

250 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

251 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
47%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
53%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
43%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 37%
White 32% 44%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Campus Dr
Fort Valley, GA 31030
Website: Click here
Phone: (478) 825-8258

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Georgia Center
Reynolds, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT