Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Mountain Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

I am overjoyed that my son goes here for PreK. My husband camped out overnight for 18 hours to get a spot (limited because it is a lottery program) along with all the other parents...but here's the thing: they were happy to do it. We are proud of our school and love that the staff all seem to take a hand in caring for your child in some way because it is a smaller school. The facilities are clean and well taken care of. I also appreciate that you are invited to come to the school to check in on their progress and to see how it is being run. We couldn't imagine being anywhere else and will gladly camp out again when our next child starts preK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

New Mountain Hill Elementary in Fortson Georgia. Our son just began attending their pre-K program. I waited outside for more than 18 hours (really!) to get him in, and can say honestly that I see why parents are willing to do that to get their children into this school. The teachers are warm, caring, but professional and I feel so blessed to have my son attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

We have been at NMHE for 3 yrs now and my kids have absolutely loved it!!! Each year the teachers have been great!! We are very sad to be PCSing to Ft Bragg... For those of you moving to Ft Benning from Ft Knox due to BRAC, I HIGHLY recommend this school. You're not going to find schools that top Harris County!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I 'love' the school because they are a small school that appears to mostly care about the children. My grandchildren appear to be as educated as well as the public school has to ofter these days and I appreciate that. Whenever I visit to pick up the children the staff is always pleasent and I see examples of how they care. Example: One day they were having 'hat day'. One little guy had his hat on backwards. The staff member asked why he had his hat on backwards, he said because his brother (older) wears his this way. (she did not know I had walked up to overhear this) . The staff member said 'well we don't wear our hats backwards here'. The backwards hat is a tell tell sign of a negative attitude/ 'loser', my opinion only.


Posted April 28, 2010

I have loved every day my children have gone to NMHE! It is a well-run school (thanks Mr. Ray) and the teachers are awesome! I have been VERY impressed with everything my kids are able to do. They have the toughest curriculum to make the smartest kids. As a pediatric nurse practitioner in the Muscogee county area, believe me I know that not all school districts are the same. I take care of kids from 5 different school districts and NMHE & the other 3 elementary schools make thei students learn. NMHE teachers keep their parents informed and on top of the kids' education!! I cannot say enough about this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Strong parental support. Great teachers. Safe place to be. Great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

We were new to NMH last year and it took quite a bit of adjusting. We were used to a open and friendly enviroment. I would not describe NMH this way. The students can not talk at all during lunch. They cant use the restroom when any class is in the school is testing. If the fifth grade is testing 1st cant use the restrooms. We have wonderful teacher this year and it has made the many stringent rules and unfriendly staff tolerable. I know that there are many safety and security issues that schools have to unfairly deal with, but I have seen other schools do this with out loosing the warm atmoshere. This is not what I would want elementary school to be for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Perhaps the best public elementary school in this area. A retired public school educator myself, I could not be more pleased to have my granddaughter at NMHE.


Posted August 15, 2007

I am so glad my daughter is going to this school. The staff are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Nmhe has been a godsend to our family. I cannot say enough good things about it. Parents are always welcome in the classrooms, learning is fun here. My kindergartner is reading chapter books and even doing fractions. The best school in the county and surrounding 5 counties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

New Mountain Hill exceeds every other elementary school is Harris County, and the surronding counties. The teachers are the real prize at NMH and put a lot of focus on the children and the childrens' educations. Mr. Ray, the principal, runs the school with masterful precision, though he has had his minor faults, as does everyone. Still, he is an excellent administrator. The only complaints I would have would be certain members of the office staff -- but don't let them fool you, NMH is an EXCELLENT school nonetheless.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2004

I really loved NMHE alot. All of the teachers were excellent. Wome teachers I really miss are: Mrs. Galyon, Mrs. McClurg, Mrs. Cone, and Mrs. Carlisle. My parents think that NMHE is way better than the Middle School(Carver). Personally I like them both.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 44%
Black 8% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Mountain Hill Rd
Fortson, GA 31808
Phone: (706) 323-1144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Eagle Ridge Academy
Columbus, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT