Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gainesville High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2011

As a lifelong student of the Gainesville City School System, I have many wonderful memories (football championships, great baseball and awesome band program) of the school; however, the quality of the education had diminished over the past few years.You certainly have a few good teachers in the system, but overall, there is a culture change going on here.I know the recent blue ribbon award has the smoke and mirrors working its magic, but don't buy into it without doing a little homework of your own.The blue ribbon was most likely awarded because they continue to teach to the lowest common denominator by bridging the achievement gap between those who perform and those who do not.The credit recovery lab was a great invention and it certainly has worked, but I can tell you that other areas have suffered and this has directly affected me, an above average student
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2010

Given the incredible diversity, the committed, caring, and capable faculty and staff do a fantastic job of inspiring kids. They offer a wide range of curricular choices, as well as extracurricular programs. School spirit is great...I wholly recommend this school for parents who believe in instilling the best values for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I'm a student here and I don't find the safety nor the teacher quality satisfying, though the school does have great extracurricular activities to choose from.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

I do not find this school to be very safe. Also I feel that the students do not really connect with the teachers as they should. I do not recommend sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

GHS is a magnificent school the safety is amazing now that the students are wearing their ID badges. DIscipline is becoming less of an issue with many incentives to do good. Academically it is no doubt the best in the county and if your child is into sports more scouts come to look at students from Gainesville High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

This is a very happy school. The school spirit is outstanding. Teachers and students alike join in on the events, such as homecoming parade, the rock bonfire and dances. Teachers love their jobs just about as much as students love being members of the Big Red Machine. Teachers maintain websites and genuinely care about the academic success of the students. You feel like you are part of a family at this school. I have to say I love and respect GHS so much for everything they strive to do and actually get done. Go Big Red!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2006

If you're in the right academic track you can do very well here but safety and discipline are STILL issues at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

My daughter graduated from Gainesville High in 2005. I am proud to say that she and my son, who is now a junior at a different school, received an excellent education from this school. Special thanks to Jennifer Torrey, Mrs. Hill, and Mrs. Wade. You will never know how much your time and extra effort helped my children. I'm proud to have been a part of a program where teachers care so much about the success of the students they teach. Kimberly Daniel mother of Meagen and Damarian Flentall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

This school is great. I use to go to another school but this has been the best. If you are athletic you can come to are great football team. We are going to win state.We are right now undeafeted in region.I and my family love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2005

As a parent, GHS has been a blessing to my children. The whole city school system has received national attention (Bush, etc.). The diversity in school is definitely an advantage to my children, as it represents the 'real world'. GHS has more honors/AP-level courses than any other in Northeast Georgia, and the academic rigor is second to none in the county - why do so many out-of-district students pay to come to GHS? Because of its 100+ years of tradition and excellence. The academics, athletics, and extracurricular activities are outstanding. One of my children plays golf and the other football/baseball. The coaches are outstanding - i equate it to being not only 'college prep' in the classroom but in athletics as well. Go big red!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

I am a former student from Gainesville High School (c/o 97) I remember the school being great academicly but I never felt safe. I remember fights constantly and the disciplinary procedures never really solved anything. We even had fights that would be better described as riots granted they were caused by serveral peoples stupidity. I tried to transfer to a school with lower educational standards but to no avail. I just hope that the school is a safer place for the future generations.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2004

I thought these were parent reviews. Several of the ones posted are clearly by students. In looking at the GHSGT scores, it is clear that Gainesville High has some challenges to overcome. In the figures this website gives for 2001-2002, not only is GHS clearly below the state averages in all categories (not saying much given that Georgia is already at the bottom of the pile), but of the '25 nearest high schools' to Gainesville, GHS is also at the very bottom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

I am a student at GHS, and I personally would not choose any other school to attend but Gainesville High School. GHS has given me the opportunity to take challenging classes, participate in the best theatre productions in all of Georgia, and to be taught by the most gifted teachers. One thing that makes GHS different from many private schools is that GHS has a wide variety of ethnicity, and to me, this is one of GHS s best qualities, simply because it has taught me about real life, given me a chance to learn about different cultures, and make new friends. I can honestly say that I know I am going to be well prepared for college and the wonderful life ahead of me, thanks to Gainesville High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2004

We moved our daughter from a private school to GHS because the education was so much superior to the private school and the other schools in the county! She was always challenged, and supported by the faculty. The racial mix provided her with great opportunities to cross the lines in her choice of friends, and not be so sheltered from the reality of the world. But the negative influences sometimes attributed to the racial mix were not an issue for us, or her. GHS has a community environment and lots of pride - in sports, in academics, in their theatre productions (excellent) - best prep. our daughter could've had in the county for her future in a demanding college setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Too many racial differences between students. Many fights break out a week.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

235 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

219 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

235 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

235 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
73%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
White 22% 44%
Black 21% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chris Mance
Fax number
  • (770) 287-2031

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Century Pl
Gainesville, GA 30501
Phone: (770) 536-4441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wood's Mill Academy
Gainesville, GA


Ava White Academy
Gainesville, GA




Lakeview Academy
Gainesville, GA


Chestatee High School
Gainesville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT