Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Vernon Elementary School 3

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
This is one of those schools where the teachers play favorites. You know, teachers pet! Oh and if there are kids in the class that have a parent at the school that is a teacher then forget it they get special treatment! It's the good ole boys. I love small towns but this takes the cake. Most of these teachers are taught out and they are rather young! The patience level is NOT there even when you have a good, sweet kid. Remember your kid is not the pet! I know it's not just Mt. Vernon but they could integrate it in the lesson somehow is spelling words. Somehow spelling words have been taken out of my first graders curriculum and then he is completely chastised for not being able to spell PERFECT! Gone are the days of spelling lists/words? How do they learn to spell? Yet they are learning geometry! I'm so confused? So NO as a parent I am not happy with this school and we moved here for this school and got duped!

Mount Vernon Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
The teachers choose favorites ( teachers pets ) and can be very mean and this gives my son so much self criticism


Mount Vernon Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
The homework for a first grader is so much that my son has anxiety that he's not going to get it done and he's going to get in trouble

Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Great school! My children love to attend Mount Vernon. Everyone is so nice and really cares about the kids!

Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing. All of the teachers push the students and they don't back down. The principal is amazing and loves to interact with the kids. All of the teachers love on the students like they are their own children.


Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
We are beyond happy with Mount Vernon Elementary school! The teachers and admin staff are caring, go above and beyond, and dedicated to their students. They are providing a solid foundation for a wonderful education. I can't imagine being anywhere else!!

Mount Vernon Elementary School 1

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
Sadly, a lot of the information about this school on this website is out of date (2006-2007). We relocated our family in 2007 due to my husband's employment and we were sorely misled about this school district. The teaching staff at MV is either dedicated or highly unprofessional, with the latter being the majority. On many occasions I would walk my youngest in only to see a classroom full of children with a missing 1st grade teacher who would walk in 15 minutes late. We mentioned it to the both the principal and asst. principal but it never was addressed. During parent teacher conferences one of my child's teachers was unable to tell me my child's current reading level, why test grades (taken weeks before) were missing, etc. She said she hadn't had a chance to catch up on things because of her kitchen renovation. In short, do not move here and expect a solid education for your children. By 2011, six families in our neighborhood had either moved back to greater Atlanta (where the districts are better), switched to a private school in Gainesville, or were being homeschooled.

Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
Our grandson has been at MVES since first grade and will be in the fifth grade this next year....a senior. This has been a great experience for him. As in any school there will always be a bully, the situation that involved our grandson was quickly taken care. The teachers are amazing and care for the students. The principal is awesome and works hard for everyone. From the Principal to the janitor, this school rates a five star and we are anxious to be threr for our grandson's graduating class.


Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
I had one child here K-5 and I have my second child now getting ready to enter 3rd grade so I have 7 years of working with this school and I have no complaints whatsoever. I am NOT a "highclass" parent and both of my children have had positive experiences with this school. ALL of our teachers have been amazing and helpful and seemed excited to be there. I've only met the principal and couple of times but she seems fine. I hope that this becomming a charter school will only help and not harm what Mt Vernon is. I look froward to seeing what the future hold for us here at this precious school!

Mount Vernon Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My son had his first year in Elementary School here and we couldn't be more pleased. The teacher's here seem to love their jobs and are truely dedicated to helping these kids learn.

Nearby schools

Mount Vernon Elementary School
4844 Jim Hood Rd, Gainesville, GA  30506
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (770) 983-1759
Last modified Mount Vernon Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top