Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Hall Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 906 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

My daughter loves school. The teachers and staff are great. if there is any issues with grades the teachers call you right up and let you know different options you can choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

ehms is a wonderful school most of the teachers are great and i love it and best of all you feel save
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

East Hall Middle School has been such a GREAT place for my daughter to learn. All of the teachers and staff are wonderful and very helpful. Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

I am an involved as a parent at EHMS. I feel that the school administration provides a safe environment for my child. From what I have seen while volunteering at the school, disciplinary issues that arise are dealt with quickly and expeditiously. The school resource officer, the teachers and the counselor's office build a good rapport with all the kids. I personally have not seen anything that suggests a rise in gang activity at the school. A big plus for the school is its open door policy for all parents to visit classrooms and facilities. The scores for academic achievement continue to improve which means that the staff and teachers are doing something right! I would like to see more parental involvement. The school is on the right track! Oh yeah, I find the uniform policy beneficial both from an economic standpoint and from an academic one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

My daughter goes to EHMS , they have a uniform policy which I think is very unnessary and can be harmful , because the childern at EHMS are at the age now when they figure out who they are and figuring out their individuality and having uniforms at school takes away their individuality and they can't express thir own personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Both my children attended East Hall Middle School. In their 6th grade year everything was great,the teachers appeared to really get involved in their learning. The second year they attended things went downhill.Some of the teachers act as if they could care less about the students learning, students came and went out of classrooms unsupervised and I feel there was not adequate supervision in classrooms or the hall ways. One of my children dropped from an A student to a B/C student. There are also things inside the school that is in my opinion totally need to be looked at and corrected and could be with the staffs help. We as a community turn our children over to an educated and qulified staff thinking that they have our childrens learning intrest at heart should we expect any different? So please make sure you are very active in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2003

Overall my child had a wonderful school year at this school. Some of her teachers I think could have done a better job. Some of them were not child friendly, they seemed to get annoyed really easily. I would recommend anyone who has a child at this school to make sure your involved with what is happening at the school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

286 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 12%
White 44% 44%
Black 9% 37%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kevin Bales
Fax number
  • (770) 531-2327

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E Hall Rd
Gainesville, GA 30507
Phone: (770) 531-9457

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakeview Academy
Gainesville, GA




Ava White Academy
Gainesville, GA



Wood's Mill Academy
Gainesville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT