Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chestatee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1146 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2010

My son is happy & learning. What else can you ask for? Most the teachers care & teach real world values and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I have been personally attending Chestatee for 3 years now and I have noticed that the Administrative faculty here has much more concern with test scores and keeping a good image of the school rather than caring for the students and their abilities. I doubt the new principal here will be able to help out this autrocity of a school and I believe it to be doomed becuase of low funding for true teachers and caring faculty.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

Chestatee is very clean. All the staff members are nice and willing to help with any problems you have! The school is so safe no one could be harmed. they also have drug dogs that come once every 2 weeks on random days and sniff lockers then they randomly go into a class room and sniff all the kids and bookbags to keep CHS a drug free school. I wouldnt want to go any where else! Ps: VERY little gang activity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

My Daughter attends CHS in Gainesville, GA. She has been mentored by fabulous teachers who go above and beyond their calling as teachers to see that my Daughter succeeds. Sarah was nominated by Senor Vonier, her Spanish teacher and won the Governor's Honor Scholarship last summer. She spent 6 wks living on the Valdosta State University Campus, studying Spanish and Architecture. Recently, she translated at the Cumming Ga State Driver's License bureau last wk when she took her Driving test. She was even able to converse with a lady who spoke Portuguese (which is a combination of French/Spanish). The opportunities at Chestatee are boundless if your child is willing to become involved. The Principal, Assistant Principals and teachers are hands-on in everything and use their talents (Dr. Sapp-pianoMr. Merck Stage Band for Drama) to enhance student opportunities. If only everyone did their jobs this well! Brothers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

While three of my children have attended Chestatee, the early years of the high school were much better than what is occuring there now. The leadership of the school has slipped with the current administration who seems to be overly interested in protecting the image of the school over protection of the students themselves. I would not be against my child changing schools if we find a better alternative. I would like to see the school board make a change in principal, the sooner the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Chestatee High is the best school around. I could not ask for a better high school to have attended and now i am proud to send my brother to chestatee. Chestatee staff keep up the great work!


Posted August 6, 2008

This is a great school! I'm a junior this year, and I could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

I would agree whole-heartedly with the ratings that are given, all of them are very precise. I attended all four years of high school and I could not dole out anymore praise for the faculty and staff. Of course there were a few teachers that I ran across that I did not personally like, but the teachers that had garnered a consensus of dislike are now gone. Although there are 'clics', they are generally not based upon money, parents influence, et cetera. They are formed by the type of people and most of the time can be very fluid. I tended to float between many different groups and can say that the social setting can be very dynamic and opportunistic. The multitude of extra-cirricular activities are surrounded by a great atmosphere and programs that are building around good, many times great, coaches. Overall, 'Chestatee is the place to be.'


Posted October 12, 2007

I am very grateful to attend a school like Chestatee High School, it is simply the best school out there. The teachers are smart, dedicated, and care about their students. For the most part students are nice and there is a great variety of activities to choose from. Chestatee provides students with the tools to be successful, however, it is entirely up to us to use these tool effectively. I am super proud to be a Chestatee War Eagle!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

As a parent of a Chestatee High School student, I must say that I am proud that my child is a War Eagle. He simply would not miss a Friday night football game and frequently attends softball, volleyball, and other events just to be around his friends. The teachers care for him. Proof is that we were contacted when he began to drop in one of his classes. He also got a card in the mail from his basketball coach reminding him that he is a good player but he needs to work harder on his academics and get help if he needs it. Mr. Thompson has exhibited his dedication to the school by attending all or most of the events which take place after school hours. A time when most principles are home with their families. Chestatee High School is his family. Ku-dos to all at CHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

I think overall, Chestatee is one of the very least segregated schools in the county. Money dones't matter here, and even look at the homecoming court. Not just the popular people get attention. A wide variety of students all excel at everything, and politics in sports aren't that big of a concern here either. I love how everyone is friendly with each other and I enjoy every day at Chestatee High School =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

I have only good things to say about Chestatee High School! Chestatee is one of the 'youngest' schools in the area, yet they continue to excel in every aspect! The staff, especially Daniel Merck, band director is phenomenal! My child has thoroughly enjoyed her experiences, especially participating in the marching band. This is a school that listens to the needs of everyone involved, and provides an excellent environment for achieving academic excellence. Chestatee High has incredible community support of sports activities, and has the only band in the area involved in holiday parades! I commend the entire staff, principal, and parents who give generously of their time and energy supporting students at Chestatee. I will always be grateful and make myself available to support this highschool even after my child graduates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

The students at Chestatee are all segregated. The pretty people group up and shut every body else out. The band geeks are probably the nicest, but if you don;t fit into any of these categories than you will sit alone at lunch, get denied a seat on the bus, or even be made an enemy. The principal is nice and the teachers are smart and strict, they do have a large variety of sports and clubs, but whwn your kid doesn't feel like waking up in the morning and going to school you know why. -former student
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2005

I used to hate this school. but now I really enjoy going here. I only have one more year here and I am looking forward to my senior year. I was talking to my parents last night about how much i like Mr. Thompson and if there was a best principal award given then i would definately give it to mr. Thompson. Cass Powers
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

183 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

183 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

183 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

183 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 44%
Hispanic 32% 12%
Black 3% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3005 Sardis Rd
Gainesville, GA 30506
Phone: (770) 532-1162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ava White Academy
Gainesville, GA


Gainesville High School
Gainesville, GA


Wood's Mill Academy
Gainesville, GA


Lakeview Academy
Gainesville, GA


North Hall High School
Gainesville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT