Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mercer Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

Mercer Middle School is not the problem! One it is the Student whom attend and the Teacher whom teach. If you have a teacher that doesn't want to teach and discipline. If you have a student whom doesn't want to learn and have discipline. Who loses the child no matter what age of school. We as parents need to understand none of our kids are perfect and act up. Teacher's need to step up if the teacher has a student that is giving problems and no respect call the parent but at the same time parents don't believe everything your child tells you is true. We as parents have to support the teacher, we all have to be on the same page. Once our kids figure out how to get the parent after the teacher and teacher giving up. The students wins but loses at the end. We have to work together as people, parents, teachers most important is our kids. We can build ten new schools but if all of us are not on the same page nothing will get accomplished. Lets figure a way out how to fix the issue's. I live in Port Went-worth if it was up to me it would not matter because something new is not going to change how things are conducted at the school what makes the difference is what new can we build.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Mercer Middle School is not as bad as everyone is putting. Yes it's not like it was when I was there in the 90's. I have a daughter there now in the 7th grade and they have done everything to work with me and her. The teachers are nice and very hands on. I think that they should have a better score than a "1"! They are better than Garden City Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

I was at Mercer for 2 years and for my first year, too much drama and I always (somehow) get into it. I was (I guess u can say) bullied. But, I managed to get go on about my life. My second year, everything was ok, still was getting put in drama, but now im going to southwest. If I came from Mercer (which is what people say is a bad school) then I can take southwest. But, that bullying stuff aint happening with me. I aint even going to know nobody :( but Mercer is terrible. And having a student say that is sad. The teachers dont like teach and act like they scared of half the class. Fights break out almost everyday....smh, to be honest, if you reading this, you might as well be home school because no school in savannah is good


Posted May 20, 2013

If I could give this school a 0 I would! This is by far the worst school I have ever seen or heard of. For more than half the year I lied about where I lived so my daughter could attend a better school. I got caught more than half way into the school year and now she is back at Mercer... UGH I'm actually having to move just so she can go to a better school. It stinks in that school and the teachers act as though they have just given up... Sad situation!!! I think it is time to just give on up on that place and shut it down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Mercer middle school the school that don't teach please don't bring your child to this School teacher do not teach you don't care about anybody child I encourage all parents do not see a child to the school they will soon. Drop out A.fenell don't teach at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

This school is disgusting!!! Staff doesn't care if your child gets bullied or abused here. I have been in multiple times & no results half the time the kids do not get punished for their behavior! Kids stand in hallways & curse the teachers out! My kid is out asap!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

My son attended this school for 8th grade and it is by far the WORST school he's ever gone to. The teachers are wretched, disrespectful, and don't give a rat's a** about the students. Everyday, my son would come home and complain about how rude and uncaring his teachers were, and the amount of time I've spend corresponding and talking with the teachers about their own behavior was ridiculous. They are just there for a paycheck, not because they love the children and love their jobs. If the board of education was smart, they would shut this school down! If you have other options, PLEASE, do not send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

i love mercer middle skool even though i am like the only wite gurl there lol :) dueces MERCER IS DA BEST!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted May 26, 2009

i love mercer middle school and the principal ms. dukes she is great and is always on the job so is the other teachers and staff they keep the school a great learning enviorment
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

I thimk mercer middle school is a great choice for the acadimic program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

this school diserves 5 stars. i used to attend mercer in 6th grade and half of seventh now im in eight and things are gettin hard.. i miss mercer and the staff and students..
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

I was a student there last year in the 6th grade, and I loved it. The teachers have a great way of teaching where students are not bored.The principal could be more involved, though. I feel safe there. The extracurricular activities are wonderful. It is overall a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2007

The principal needs to be more involved, but besides that, Mercer is a great school, and I enjoy being a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

The problem I see with this school is the teachers not informing the parents if the students are having problems in class you find out after the fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

Mercer Middle School is moving in the right direction. Since the change of administration, dicipline problems have went down and test scores have improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

I must say that Mercer is having a problem. Many teachers are leaving because of an administration problem.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

206 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
69%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 37%
White 12% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Odessa Richards
Fax number
  • (912) 965-6719

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Rommel Ave
Garden City, GA 31408
Phone: (912) 395-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT