Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grovetown High School 3

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
There are many teachers who don't really teach, and as a student that goes here, that a major problem, especially when it comes to tests and exams. Also, the administration often shows favoritism regarding the dress code. Males can wear whatever they please such as REALLY short short and tank tops, but when a female attempts to do this, that's an instant office referral, to change clothes. And lastly, the quality of my education has decreased due to the influx of students who feel the need to disrupt the class, then the teacher has to stop teaching, and ultimately we lose time for learning, which is the sole purpose for attending school. My opinion is possibly biased due to the fact that I came from Ohio, and Georgia's education system doesn't hold a candle to ohio's, due to the fact that there's more emphasis put on the success of the students, whereas here, some teachers have an "I don't care, if you don't care" attitude.

Grovetown High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
Mrs. Reeder puts in the effort to make sure you understand the information before moving on, which ultimately leads to higher test scores and a successful school year.


Grovetown High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
There are a few good teachers such as Ms. Reeder (a.p world teacher), Mr. Shaw (science teacher) and Mr. Cox (lit teacher) but for the most part most of the teachers seem to dislike coming to school

Grovetown High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
The teachers often give many tests and quizzes and not enough homework for practice, which is detrimental to our gpa and the amount of time that is taken to have to reteach what should've been taught correctly in the first place.

Grovetown High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
There are a few teachers who put in the work necessary for you to become successful, but a lot of the teachers do the bare minimum, and expect to see great results from the students, in which they are often disappointed.


Grovetown High School 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
Great programs, friendly students, supportive staff and excellent principal. Very military friendly. This school is a great choice if you have high school aged children.

Grovetown High School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
We are a military family stationed at Fort. Gordon and were told to stay in Colombia County. This is a close knit community, a previous review stated if you are attached to one bad apple that your child is branded as a bad apple as well. That review was absolutely correct. My child has been bullied by a group of kid's from the ending of last year to currently now. Talking to the staff is pointless. We all know going into the office and pulling other children in makes it worse. For the mental health of your child, I'd choose another licstion.

Grovetown High School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Our children recently started attending Grovetown High. I have to say, the JROTC program is above any other. The Staff is very professional... you can see they love working and teaching respect to our children. I would like to see an improvement in their meal selection, my kids maybe have lunch once every two weeks since there are no options other than a main dish. Pizza gets categorized as a fruit! Sorry, but lunch menus need a lot of improvement. The building itself is well kept, and the community seems to be growing fast. I would also reccomend that the library gets a revised schedule allowing our children more than 15 minutes to complete any homework after school. We are a military family and move constantly so we had experiences with many High Schools and I am glad we found a good school for our children.


Grovetown High School 4

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
We're a military family, and when we moved here we had a few problems transferring some home school credits. Mostly, it was miscommunication with the counselor. Other than that slight hiccup, my teenager loves this school and the teachers.

Grovetown High School 2

Posted December 03, 2013
- a student
this school does not meet proper expectations of parents nor students, where staff focuses on petty matters such as minor conduct issues and not educational issues such as teachers teaching abilities, class atmosphere and the concern of the students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grovetown High School
2010 Warrior Way, Grovetown, GA  30813
(706) 447-2102
Last modified Grovetown High School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grovetown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top