Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Effingham County Middle School 4

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
I have had four children attend this middle school. Of all the the years of training the 3 years my children have spent at ECMS have been the most rewarding. The teachers at this school are more intersested in the students learning the subject matter and preparing them for high school than just getting through the required materials. The teachers take time to get to know their students. I have had teachers work individually with my child to make sure she is understanding the material. There are many extracirricular activities for the students to participate in. There is no drama or performing arts besides band and chorus which is a negative to me. However overall this is a great school with a caring staff and a diverse student body.

Effingham County Middle School 3

Posted March 06, 2012
- a community member
I am moving to Effingham mid April and believe this will be the school that my son will be attending. We are coming from Cherokee County, North Metro Atlanta. I would like some feed back on this school from any parents/teachers. I noticed there hasn't been any reviews written since 2006. Don't know if that's good or bad.


Effingham County Middle School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Effingham County Middle School 2

Posted September 08, 2006
- a parent
Not willing to test students with learning disabilities, not willing to work with students with learning disabilities. Parent involvement is discouraged from the first day of school. Teachers are more worried about 'following the rules' than actual teaching. Homework is 50% of the overall grade, tests and projects make up the other 50%. This allows mediocre students to raise their grades up to an acceptable level. Most students refuse to use the restrooms due to uncleanliness.

Effingham County Middle School 4

Posted July 12, 2006
- a student
This is overall a pretty good school.


Effingham County Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2005
- a student
My School is the best school ever because of all of the work that everyone puts into. It might not be the newest school ever but if walls could talk you would here a wonderful story.

Effingham County Middle School 2

Posted January 01, 2005
- a parent
The accelerated learning program for students just meets state guidelines and is not up to par with the neighboring Chatham County system. Our daughter was not challenged at all during her seventh and eighth grade studies. There is a great lack of cultural activities and after school programs. One after school club is geared toward Christian students, which I assumed was not legally acceptable. There is very little taught regarding ethnic and religious diversity and in fact, we found that there are prejudices towards students of non-Christian orientation. The overall curriculum is satisfactory and the teachers are friendly, communicative and supportive. The student base is a predominantly rural one, who needs more exposure to cultural activities, foreign language and world experiences. This community is rapidly growing and the school needs to grow with it. It has the potential to be a great school, but it must be led by those with a broad-minded vision.

Effingham County Middle School 3

Posted July 21, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Effingham County Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Effingham County Middle School
1659 Ga Highway 119 S, Guyton, GA  31312
(912) 772-7001
Last modified Effingham County Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Effingham County Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top