Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Effingham Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2011

I recently moved to the area (Aug 2010) and was leery of moving my kids out of their Magnet Program at home to a regular program here in Effingham County. I am above impressed by South Effingham!! I love the school, teachers, staff and educational program!! My kids have been challenged and had a good time!! I love this school and I am looking to remain in this district!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I just love little South Effingham Elementary! I worked at the school for two years and it is the best! Exceptional leadership combined with the superior work ethic of the teachers and staff make it stand out in a crowd. You will feel truly blessed to send your child to South Effingham Elementary! GO Mini Mustangs!!!


Posted July 15, 2009

My daughter just finished kindergarten. I am amazed at what she has learned this year. She was reading very well by the end of September and can now read anything she chooses. Her love of learning was nurtured throughout the year and she was challenged daily. The teachers are warm and friendly, and parents are made to feel welcome in the school at any time. This is an excellent place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

This is the best school. The principal and the teachers know almost every child by name. There are so many fun activities that they make learning fun. My children are doing great there and they love the school. My Kindergarden son is reading books and it is only December.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

We moved to the Savannah area in October, 2005. My son started kindergarten in Aug. 2006 at SEE, and it is everything I could have wanted and more. We moved to a home in SEE area specifically so my son could attend this school. I mainly based my decisions on the test scores, which are outstanding. For anyone thinking of moving into this area, this elementary school is simply the best. Mrs. Christian and Mrs. Hartzog are such wonderful leaders, and it is obvious they care a great deal about all the students. I'm very happy on the decision I made to have my son attend this school - he is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I have 3 children currently enrolled in SEE-2 in 2nd grade and 1 in 1st grade-and my experience thus far has been nothing but exceptional! We have had wonderful teachers who not only teach but LOVE their students. Mrs. Christian is an extremely dedicated leader and expects nothing but the best from her staff, students and parents. The parental involvement at SEE is comparable to that of any local private school. The children are also encouraged to improve reading by being involved with the Accelerated Reader program. Extra-curricular activities include the Quick-Think-A-Thon and Invention Convention. Academic excellence is the norm at South Effingham Elementary-home of the Mini Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I just want to say how great this school has been for my daughter over the last three years. Not only does the staff care about these children; teachers form friendships with their students. The children have a safe and caring environment; condusive to learning. The academics are phenomenal at this school! I couldn't ask for a better place where everyone is working towards the same goal. A better education for our children. Parent support is a strong element in the make up of SEE. Mrs. Christian is a wonderful principal and loves her staff and students. She very involved in the events and activities and the students achievements. WONDERFUL CARING TEACHERS, UNBEATABLE ACADEMICS, AND AMAZING STUDENTS that's what makes SEE ONE OF THE TOP 15 SCHOOLS IN GA. Thanks for all your hardwork, teachers, staff, students and parents. Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Lynn & Mrs. Barbara are one of a kind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

This is about the best public school education you will find in the surrounding counties. The principal is incredible, she knows the kids, cares about the teachers, and works hard to promote a positive learning environment. The teachers are so great. I have had two children go through this school and remain eternally in debt to the teachers who inspired them. In the past few years they have really worked hard on extracurricular activities, they have a great music program and an awesome media club. There are plenty of opportunities for parental involvement at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

This school is one of the best schools in southeast Georgia. The principal is always active in helping the children and knows there names. She is continuing to keep the school as wonderful as it was since the day it opened when I went there as a child. My son enjoys going to school and has loved his kindergarten and 1st grade teachers so far. The teachers are always kind, fun, and intelligent. Any activity the school has there is always a massive turn out of parents and relatives. So much that there are no parking places. The school is in a nice quiet country environment where you can be assured your child is always safe. I wouldn't want my son to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 44%
Black 6% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

767 Kolic Helmey Rd
Guyton, GA 31312
Phone: (912) 728-3801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT