Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

We are moving to Harris County and ALL the people I talked to mentioned two other elementary schools, but when I read the reviews of them versus Park, I am convinced my child will be at Park. Is Hamilton the City we have to live in?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

My daughter started at Park this year and absolutely loves it!!! I have to agree with previous comments about the teachers treating the children as their own. My daughter is not a clingy child but she loves her teachers so much she misses them on the weekend. While the principal and her teacher are both new to the school this year they have been doing a wonderful job! My daughter has learned so much and she's only been in school for 2 months! They pay attention to the students' needs and the small class sizes really make a big difference! I'll admit the pre-school registration process is a big pain, however it's completely worth the trouble! These children are very fortunate to have teachers and administration that really go the extra mile to make their learning experience a meaningful and quality experience! I am thankful that I can trust them with my daughter's future, and I do completely!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Park has the warmest environment for children. It is the only Title 1 elementary school in the county and therefore the test results are impressive. The teachers are truely advocates for each and every student. The Book Parade is such an amazing and fun event that I hope we are at Park for all of my children to experiance it. Park is truely the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

I have six children and everyone has attended Park and of my six children I have a set of twins that are in special needs with Jenny McKibben and Alisha Duke. They have had them for almost three years and they have came so far with them they are the most loving and caring teachers that I have ever came across. They go the extra mile when it comes to their kids and will do anything to get them where they should be. My kids love them. I have never seen teachers that treat their kids like they are their own. The whole staff at Park treat you like you are family and they make sure that you are welcomed and they take safety of your children to another level. It's like one big family. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I have 2 children who attend Park and I think it is the best scool your child could ever go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

My daughter attends park, kindergarten. The teacher there are great, the work they do with the children really show. My daugther originally was in the first grade, I as a single mother had to accept the fact that coming from another school, in another county set her back. The first grade teacher she had was great in the fact to talk to me and show me the level my daughter was on. They showed me where she was and where she needed to level wise. It was hard to accept and I really had to pray, and even though the transition was easy I as a parent thought how my daughter would be affected. Since then, my daughter's work and skill have been well worth the transition. Thank you all for the extra attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

We're new to Park...They are so awesome people. I have 2 children at park. they both got wonderfull teacher this year. I can't say enough about Ms Thomas ,my autistic son's teacher. she has been a God-send to us! My Kids love it at Park. -impressed mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I think that Park Elementary is a great school. The administration and staff are awesome. You could say that they are like a very close net family. They care about all of the students equally and about each other as well. I am proud to say that my children go to park and I think it's the best! sincerely, A Park Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

I think that your school has some good quilities and bad. The good are that your staff is very nice and considerit and you seen to have the acidemic program. But also i think that the control level that Park has is not as good as other schools. You could control a little better and if a child got a red card then you would inforce that it was sighned and brought back. But over all i think that Park Elemendary has done a good job of making sure that the students that attent have a good education. Thabks Alot
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janice Owens
Fax number
  • (706) 628-5413

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13185 US Highway 27 N
Hamilton, GA 31811
Phone: (706) 628-4997

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity Christian Academy
Warm Springs, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT