Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harris County Carver Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

I think teachers have heart here, but have a long ways to go in offering challenging curriculum. Classes move slowly and the building itself is very outdated and crowded. Behavior is allowed to slide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

I go there an its beast, best school nationwide , teachers are great awsome school


Posted February 12, 2010

I have had the pleasure of having both my children educated at this middle school. I found the teachers helpful and knowledgeable. Their students success is their main goal and work extra hard to make sure that they are challenging each and every student. I am extremely satisfied with the education and competence of faculty at the Harris County Carver Middle School and would rate it a 5 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

The school needs change. A lot of the staff there are from the old superintendent and they are not the best people for the job. Most teachers are good and the principals seem to care. But the job is to get my kids ready for high school and I don't think they are very good at that. Many teachers are too easy and want things to be pretty and fun. That is all good but why reward my child for doing what they are supposed to do like bring their book to class and do their homework?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

My child has had a wonderful experience at Harris County Carver Middle School. The Administration and teachers are working hard to improve the mediocre repuation of the PAST. They are always available to parents and communicate in a proactive way through emails, electronic progress reports, phone calls and their up to date website. The school focuses on academics and safety. The fine arts programs and athletic programs are achieving at championship and award winning levels. If you haven't visited lately you should. Great things are happening at HCCMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

As a teacher at HCCMS I would like to challenge many of the comments made on this site. As you can see many of them come from parents complaining about different rules, this is obviously from parents of students who do not follow rules. Goes back to the old saying about the ones yelling the loudest..... I am very proud of my school and faculty that I work with. I encourage all of these parents to actually come to the school and spend a day and see what a typical day at a 'middle' school is like. I am sure most of these parents have never spent the time to see what actually goes on or come to see all the hard work that takes place!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2008

School is good academically and working hard to get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

i'm a former student of harris county carver middle school and i recommend harris county school system to anyone in the country, it's great.


Posted March 22, 2008

I am a student who currently attends HCCMS. There are some areas that are good, and other that could use improvement. The top two things that need improvement would be the teachers and dress code. We could benefit from younger teachers. The ones we have currently,should have retired already. Also, the dress code regulations are a bit strict. Another thing, the county just spent about 4.5 million dollars to build a new gym. That money should have been spent to refurbish and clean the school. Even though it has many faults, HCCMS is the only place I would want to go. The teachers push us to do our very best ever day, and that is good. Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

What a wonderful school this has been for both my boys. They have a wonderful Adminstration and the teachers are truly amazing! All programs at the school are done amazingly...what a great place to have your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Harris County Carver has improved in several areas this year. Principal leadership is in my opinion,is much better this year07-08. Teacher quality is good and the extracurricular activities are enough to keep the students busy. I would love to see more challenging classes. At present you can only take 1 gifted course. We came from another school system, and feel that our child is not being challenged. HCCMS is not able to offer enough classes for advanced students and those classes that are offered are offered in the same block, so its not possible to take more than 1 class. It is really something I hope is addressed for next years students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This is the worst school my children ever attended. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The principle and the staff care more about the dress code then they do education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I am a student and I do not like the school because of the way students treat other students! The teachers are absolutly unfair and I do not like it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2007

I am a parent who has 2 daughters. One of which had troubles at the middle school (she missed 3 months due surgery complications). She never really caught up after missing so much in class instruction time. She is at the high school now and is doing great. My youngest daughter just finished 6th grade at the middle school and did remarkable. She had a great team of teachers that were available anytime I needed them or had questions. She is looking forward to the 7th grade. I am a parent who is very much involved in my children's education. When I had questions or concerns, I had no problem getting the administration to discuss it with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

Hi, i know i'm not a parent, but I am a student, and I think my opinion should count... Carver is probably the worst school I have ever attended... ive been taken out of that school twice. The teachers dont care about students education, they just care if their shirts are tucked in, and if its not, they make a huge scene about it.. I think they need new principals, and younger blood for teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2007

I think that dress code is a little to stern. I also don't think the teachers communicate with the parents enough, it's pretty much none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I have been very impressed with the middle school from the academics to athletics, I have nothing but good things to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

Teachers and Admin Staff more concerned about the dress code that anything else. Too many silly rules that accomplish nothing. Teachers rarely available for after-school help. Math textbooks are horrible, Einstein would be confused using them. PTA and other meetings are unorganized jokes. Make sure you monitor your child's grades through the website, because you'll never hear from the teachers; unless your child breaks some silly rule, like not tucking in their shirt. The elementary schools in the county are excellent. Everyone likes the high school. But I've yet to meet a parent that likes anything about HCCMS - everyone just tries to make it through those 3 years...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

As a graduate from Harris County Carver Middle School and currently a 10th grade student, I believe the HCCMS has the potential to become a great middle school; the teachers may teach, but how many students learn? It seems most of teachers at the middle school do more of inforcing the dress code then teaching or after school tutoring sessions. At the highschool however, teachers want students to stay after school to recieve extra help. My final verdict? HCCMS is a no. Harris County High is a yes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 28, 2005

As a 8th grade student here I personally think HCCMS is not as good of a school as it could be. There are too many rules that keep a lot of kids from being able to be individuals! The administration is very prejudice. I know this might not mean much coming from a student, but the rules are way too strict. If I had a choice of which school I could go to I definetly would'nt have choosen this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

386 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 44%
Black 17% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

184 S College St
Hamilton, GA 31811
Phone: (706) 628-4951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Creekside School
Cataula, GA




Trinity Christian Academy
Warm Springs, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT