Advertisement
Advertisement

Bible Baptist Christian School

Private | K-12

We are best known for fine arts, sports, academics.

 
 

Living in Hampton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

As previous reviews stated this school is beyond narrow minded, and one of their only pro's would be that the students are well behaved but other than that unless you are exactly like them then you will most likely be looked down upon. Favoritism is shown among the kids that attend their church in both academics and also in sports. Your children will also not be allowed to express their selves or their interest unless it meets their standards.They also get way too personal with the families and children's lives, at some times it seemed as if they had no boundaries. Many of the teachers ridicule children about their personal interests if it is not something they know of or approve of. Most of the teachers and workers can be judge-mental towards the parents and students. They also sometimes punish students for things they do outside of school and as far as the education goes for the high school students it is ridiculous some of the classes are extremely difficult and near impossible to pass no matter how much you study. Many of the teachers do not offer extra help at all which makes it even harder. The fine arts program is also very restricted to their beliefs. I was not impressed.


Posted March 17, 2012

Our years with having children in both the elementary and high school at BBCS are almost over as our last child reaches 12th grade shortly. While there is no perfect Christian school, we have been impressed with this one and would recommend it to anyone! What a dedicated staff that truly loves the whole child! What an impressive Fine Arts program it offers! Everything from the sports program to the academics are done with excellence! Thank you, BBCS, for the impact you've made on our family down through the years! We will miss you but will continue to recommend you to other families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

BBCS is an excellent school. If you want a school that first and foremost seeks to instill a love for God and a desire to serve God with their whole being, then this is the school you want. It prepares them to live godly in this present world but it doesn't shirk its responsibility in the area of academics. Students are able to develop their abilities in music and speech as well. The staff are dedicated and loving. I couldn't think of a better place to send my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I enjoy my granddaughter calling me every week to tell me about school. It seems she has a well-rounded education with academics, sports, and fine arts. As a musician, I'm glad that she can take piano lessons and participate in band through the school. She constantly tells me about the regional and state competitions she enters and how well she and her classmates do. I'm very thankful for her education.


Posted February 2, 2011

I have been a parent of a BBCS student since 2000. I believe the quality of teachers that have been employed at the school are the highest. Each one that I have worked directly with have impressed me on different levels. The greatest quality they all share is their desire to see their students succeed. When one of my children are struggling, they are willing to work with them even after hours. As for Principal leadership, our principal has the same desire to see the students succeed. He is a great asset to BBCS. His door is always open and in all my dealings with him he is positive and works to get solutions. BBCS welcomes parental involvement and I have seen it on many levels. I believe the best way to see success in students is to be involved. In fact it is a must. It takes a team effort between home and school to make the difference. I am proud to be a part of BBCS and plan on all of my children graduating and going on to be positive assets to their communities and country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Our daughter has been at BBCS since first grade where her teacher created a love for reading. We really like the curriculum, BJUPress, which offers a wide variety of reading selections. Thanks, BBCS! Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

This school's tuition is way to high for an education that is subpar. I found this school to be very narrow minded as others have mentioned before. If you do not act exactly how they do then it is a waste of time, because your child will have an unpleasant experience. Also, this school has a lot of petty rules. I was not impressed and do not recommend this school unless you want your child to be a cookiecutter christian with no individuality.


Posted January 28, 2011

I have a second grader and a K-5 student at the school. My wife and I have been thrilled with the atmosphere, the leadership, and the education. I would highly recommend BBCS to those looking for challenging academics with a Biblical worldview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

I am a graduate of BBCS. They offer a well-balanced education with teachers and staff who care about the students on an individual level. They want to see each student reach their personal best academically, spiritually, physically, and socially. They have a small classroom size which encourages closer interaction between the students and teachers, and allows those who struggle academically to excel. In response to the below comments that the school is narrow-minded: BBCS does have strict rules that follow Biblical guidelines. The rules are not difficult to follow, and I never felt like the teachers were being judgmental or unkind in their discipline. I always felt like they had my best interest at heart. I was better prepared for college than many of my other college classmates. If you are looking for a great Christian education, this is the place for you.


Posted June 16, 2009

All five of my children have attended this school and four have graduated from BBCS. My last child is a senior. The school lives up to its theme, Different on Purpose. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants an excellent academic education balanced with fine arts, athletics, and a strong spiritual emphasis in all areas of the school experience. There have been over 300 graduates and more than 98 percent of those graduates have gone to colleges all over the US and Georgia. I now have two grandchildren attending. If you are serious about a solid Christian education, then check out BBCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

Our child attended this school for a short time and I was very disappointed. This is a group of very narrow minded people with very little tolerance for difference. Your child will do well in this school only if your child walks, talks, and acts just as they do. Otherwise, you may not want to waste your time nor money just to have faculty and staff at BBCS critique and criticize your child daily concerning their every imperfection. We removed our child from this school and our child is now in another private Christian school in the area. Since being placed in another more welcoming and loving environment our child has excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

We would recommend BBCS to anyone desiring kids that can, 1st, learn to glorify God with their life and be encouraged to do so, and 2nd, experience a quality education with a biblical worldview. Our kids get a well-rounded education-academics, fine arts, sports, socialization, and 'religion' - all in a loving, caring environment. You may not find all of the guidelines that BBCS has at other schools but it is refreshing to have them introduced to the next generation and see them held accountable for them. They will someday have bosses, careers and organizations that they align themselves with that have different convictions. Part of their education should be in how to submit and obey authority if it doesn't contradict the Bible. We know that Bible Baptist is preparing our kids for life and their post high-school education in the best possible way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

My children have attended BBCS since 1993. Three have graduated, one still attends. I believe this school is well-rounded, the teachers care about the students and job performance. The principal is very involved in the student life, both elementary and high school. I would recommend BBCS to any parent who wants to educate their child in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

This is a wonderful christian school that is great in getting the parents involved. The teachers are excellent and I wish I could still go there. The kids are friendly. Everyone is like family unlike all of the large public schools around henry county. The school might be strict on some issues but it is very helpful with teenagers to have the rules laid out.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 21, 2007

This is a good school. Biblical training is incorporated in every area. Teachers care about the students. There is a growing fine arts program, and many sports opportunities. I am glad my children are a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

My child attended this school briefly. It is a good school for some, but I would not recommend this school. It is very narrow minded with it's views and cultures. I think the school is hypocritical.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 44%
Black 12% 40%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian 6% 2%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Bob Jones University
Pensacola Christian College
Maranatha Baptist Bible College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Timothy R. Lee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (770) 946-4715

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bob Jones University
Pensacola Christian College
Maranatha Baptist Bible College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2780 Mount Carmel Rd
Hampton, GA 30228
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 946-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT