Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Carmel Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Mount carmel is an excellent school. Strict on policy and safety of the children which is a good thing because you know your children are safe. My son attended mount carmel grades 2 thru 5 and he was readily prepared for middle school.My daughter has attended since kindergarten and now finishing 2nd grade in the tagged/gifted program and she has done exceptionally well. Excellent school choice and area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My son has been attending Mt.Carmel now since kindergarten and he's now going to 4th grade. I love the school and how caring everyone is. I would like to thank Ms. Rhetta Duren for going that extra mile and making sure that my son does his best. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

My kids have attended Mt. Carmel since the 1st grade. They are now going into the 5th grade. I love Mt.Carmel it is an excellent school. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Mt Carmel is very family oriented. I hate this will be my kids last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I love Mt. Carmel. Eveything about the school educational standards, administation and their teachers. My daughter's teacher truly believes that every stundent is special and deserves the best education they can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

We recently moved to Georgia from North Carolina. Our first concern was finding a good location for our daughter to attend school. We quickly learned that Henry county was were we needed to be, so we searched for a home and found one in Hampton Ga. We are extremly glad that our Daughter is attending Mt. Carmel. It is a good clean school, well maintained and well managed. The Teachers are kind, and the Administration is great. All though Georgia schools are not as tough as North Carolina schools Mt. Carmel is up there, our daughter was able to adapte to the curiculum well. Her Teacher also made extra work available to ensure that she was challenged, Thank You Mrs Green. I would recomend Mt. Carmel to anyone moving to the Henry county Ga area. D. Lowe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My son attends mt. Carmel elementary, and I have always been impressed by the positivity exuded by teachers and staff as well as by the wonderful learning activities that gage has had the opportunity to explore. This is a wonderful school, and mrs. Carmack rocks the sage world with field trips, banquets, and an exciting curriculum. Gage has also had the luck of having ms. Wilson, ms. Junger, ms. Lawrence, and ms. Phillips...All awesome, loving teachers! go mces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I am not a parent, but I am currently student teaching at Mt. Carmel through my university. And all I can say is wow! I have been in a lot of different schools in many different counties, but nothing can compare with what Mt. Carmel is doing. This school is full of innovative teachers, caring staff/administration, and happy students. I honestly do not feel that I could have been placed in a better school. Mt. Carmel has,and continues to, exceed all my expectations!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 21, 2006

Mt.Carmel is an excellent school! The teachers and staff are awesome. The principal is the best around! We are so fortunate that our children go to this school. We would not send them to any other public school in the county. What a blessing this school is to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

All three of my children are going on there 2nd year here and they love it. So if they enjoy going to school you know the teachers are doing something right! Also all the staff members I have met are really friendly and will help you in any way possible so thumbs up to mt.Carmel elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

I love Mt.Carmel-Jason Newman
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2004

My oldest son has been with Mt.Carmel going on two years. I wouldn't have any other way. It is by far the best school he has ever attended. There is a lot of teacher/parent involvment and the line of communication is always open and I'm always kept up to date. Kudos Mt. Carmel for doing such an excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

My son has been at Mt. Carmel since kindergarten. He loves it here! The teachers are all friendly and willing to assist you in anyway they can. We are blessed to have such an awesome elementary school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 44%
Black 40% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Martin Gore
Fax number
  • (770) 897-9806

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2450 Mount Carmel Rd
Hampton, GA 30228
Phone: (770) 897-9799

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT