Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dutchtown Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

I haven't been involved with Dutchtown until this year but I have been impressed with the organizational skills of the staff, the caring of the teachers and how informative they are about everything that is going on. Thank you for making me proud to say my grandson goes here.


Posted August 4, 2013

i use to go to this school and it's a great school , but people are bullied a lot at this school and i know this from experience .Other then that i think it's a great school and almost everybody passes the CRCT.


Posted May 23, 2013

Academics is ok. Bullying is a big issue at this school and the administration is not taking care of it. I have a child at the school who has been constantly bullied. I have spoken with other parents who have similar stories. If you want your child to have a well rounded positive experience please please stay engaged with their overall experience of school. They will not admit to a problem that has gotten way out of control. Talk to other parents and stay involved with your childs experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I love Dutchtown Elementary School. Dutchtown has helped my daughter tremendously. The entire staff cares about the students as if they were their own. I specifically moved into this area because of this school. Mr. Donohoe is great, Dr. Johnson is great. I'm just so happy to have my child attend this school. Dutchtown gives true meaning to the phrase, "It takes a village".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

The Pre-K teachers at Dutchtown Elem. are very helpful teachers. The SED is very sweet and kind. They care about the children as if they were there own and they make sure each child is safe, happy, and healthy. I am very proud of the work that the teachers provide and show. Mrs. Beacham and Mrs. Angela are the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Mr.Donahoe is a great addition to making this school excellent. When you need someone to get the job done he's there and fair. He would make a great principle for any school because he cares. Ms. Johnston
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

My son goes to Dutchtown. He is in 2nd grade now. Very good staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My son started Dutchtown Elementary in kindergarden. By 1st grade he was reading fluently after having Mrs. Thomas as a teacher. Mrs. Thomas actually enjoyed her kindergarten class so much that she decided to teach the class again for 1st grade. My son Tylah was very lucky to have Mrs. Thomas as a teacher. She recognized Tylah's abilities and recommended him for SAGE lead by Dr. Thompson, I couldn't be more happy, Dr. Thompson has introduced Tylah to many adventures that he will be able to use for years to come. The faculty and teachers at Dutchtown Elementary are fabulous and they show genuine concern for the students and truly want to see them succeed. Currently, Tylah has Mrs. Sawyer as his second grade teacher and she is also amazing. I am very thankful to the Dutchtown family for all that they do to make their school an enjoyable learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son started Dutchtown Elementary as a kindergarden. He was reading fluently after having Mrs Powers as a teacher. Mrs. Powers and the other teachers at Dutchtown show a genuine passion and concern for the students. The administration is easily accessible, pleasant, and tries to meet the needs of their students and families. My daughter will be starting kindergarten next year. I'm excited and confident that they will get what they need along with my support at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

This is a wonderful school. The principal, Dr. Winnie Johnson is always visible and available to both students and parents. I love my son's second grade teacher Mrs. Sawyer who saw that he needed an additional challenge and recommended him for the SAGE program. His SAGE teacher Dr. Thompson is wonderful as well always looking to open the children to new experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

This is such a wonderful school. The principal, Dr. Winnie Johnson is the best as far as I am concerened. She is very friendly to all the students as well as the parents. My little girl hugs her everytime she sees her and it is welcomed by Dr. Johnson. I love her and thank her for all she has done! The teachers that my daughter has had there are fabulous! My little girl is reading so well for a first grader. Even the teachers that don't have her, know her and express how much they love her. They get to know you and your child. I hate that we had to move away from such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

I m a new comer to this area/state. My son started at the end of the 1st grade and now he is 2nd. I'm very impressed with all my son's teachers so far, specially his 2nd grade teacher Ms. Morris, how she recognizes individual strength and areas of concern and set goals for individual student accordingly. Enjoy seeing the principal, Dr. Johnson around always. I m hoping to see the strong influences of the teachers and the administration on their students of DES will continue just like this in their up coming years as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Okay school. I withdrew my child and chose homeschooling due to the cirriculum for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2006

This is a new school that has just completed its first year! Each grade level has certain key teachers that keep everyone 'on their toes.' As a parent, I have observed a willingness to change in order to improve the school standards by only certain teachers. I believe that this school is in need of a higher level of learning expectations for the students. This 'family of learners' needs to strive more on learning rather than that of being a family. Perhaps if there were more parent volunteers, this school could have the potential of bringing its students up to par with surrounding schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 37%
White 22% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

159 Mitchell Rd
Hampton, GA 30228
Phone: (770) 471-0844

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT