Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dutchtown Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1059 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

The teachers not only are committed to excellence, but they are committed to helping children engage community life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

This school is horrible! I wish they would let you put negative stars but they don't. My daughter comes home everyday telling me about how many fights between children go on there. That is very unacceptable! And the parent involvement is 0; they only let you know about something if it's about your child doing something destructive, harmful, dangerous, etc. Plus they principal is never around to resolve your issue. The teacher quality is ok; my child learns everything she needs to but they don't pay attention to the children at all, and they let them run amuck! My daughter once told me that the teacher was teaching and there was a kid who sat by her and was touching him self. This is ok to the school? Well it maybe fine in their standards, but not in mine; as soon as we can Im pulling my daughter out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

As all the other posts have said, the communication between teacher and parent is nonexistent! When you call the office you are never able to speak to anyone that can actually help you, you can only leave a message that will never be returned! The bullying is absolutely ridiculous and my child is afraid to speak up for fear of retaliation. A school full of hoodlums is absolutely correct! I will be doing everything I possibly can to get my child out of this school and somewhere that is actually conducive to his successful education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My school is awesome they let us have a good learning inviormentv and the teachers are sooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooo nice and they keep us safe and they also let us be social


Posted March 7, 2013

Can we give negative stars? No books (unless you purchase them), fees for everything, teacher communication with actively involved parents is virtually nonexistent, and I could keep going. The school is more interested in ensuring that your child tucks their shirt in rather than the quality of their education. My advice, research this school heavily prior to enrolling your child. There will not be another year at Dutchtown for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I regret moving into this school district. The school doesn't even have books. Each student is responsible for making a binder of handouts from which to study. Teachers don't keep parents informed and my child doesn't feel safe at this school. It is full of a bunch of hoodlums.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

We are sorry we moved to this area after relocating to Georgia. The teachers seem to be great, but the student body is mostly thugs who are downright rude. My child has always looked forward to school, now she doesn't even feel safe. The principals are never around when you need them..the place is a zoo! We heard such good things but then right off the bat we found out the hard way. Should have listened to parents--not the school officials. No wonder! They will always brag up their own schools to make it look good to people who are new. We are pulling our child out at the first opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I pulled my daughter out of that horrible school last year when she was in 6th grade. Best decision I ever made. She now attends Georgia Cyber Academy (a georgia internet-based public school using www.k12.com). She has blossomed and matured and taken a new liking to school and studying. Her worst grade is 100 and she is now self-motivated and independent . She completed her 7th grade math back in November and started 8th grade math! Nothing can hold her back.!


Posted April 15, 2010

For the love of god this school looks good but in the inside it is not all it seems. My son truly feels unsafe ans sad everytime time he comes from home. Think twice about coming here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

I have a son who is artistic and thinks outside the box. Instead of being accepting of the fact that he interprets things differently and would probably be deemed 'gifted' in our native, Detroit, MI, he is deemed a 'learning disabled' child because he does not learn always in what I consider a 'robot student' format. These southern schools are truly turning out to be exactly what I had been warned of and what i thought initially were myths.....extremely racial and judgmental and would rather be than to take the time up with a child who may be indifferent, not disabled. If he were disabled, it wouldnt take a school on the bottom of the nationwide lists of academically successful states to take notice at the middle school level!! The schools of the North are much more successful, knowledgeable, and scholastically achieved so surely they wouldve caught on by now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I have one child who currently attending this school. It is a warm and caring community with wonderful parents and wonderful teachers. The quality of the instruction has been great and my child have been challenged and pushed to do their best consistently. In addition, the school is a community where kindness and respect do not take a back seat to the curriculum. I will be highly disappointed if my child has to attend Stockbridge Middle if the re-zoneing is approved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

Dutchtown Middle School has a high education and the teachers are caring and outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I love Dutchtown Middle School. It is a great school and have high standards to movate its students. The principle is doing a great job and the teachers as well. You could not ask for a better principle or teachers to teach the students. I admire the staff, students, principle, and teachers. Way to Go Dutchtown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Great School. The administration and staff are very caring. The vision statement says it all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The staff and administration really care about the kids. They make learning fun and creative and are constantly striving to encourage the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Dutchtown is a well kept school. Teachers and administrators are fair and consistent.Also the environment is inviting and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

The new principal is wonderful! Very community and parent friendly. Looking forward to good things from DMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Dutchtown Middle school is rich in diversity, teachers that care and a principal that is dedicated to success! There is no room for failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

We work diligently to create a safe and supportive environment which is conducive for student achievement. We believe that each child has the capacity to obtain success once they enter our walls. DMS makes a conscious effort to garner support from our parents, local businesses, government affiliates and faith-based institutions and celebrate them as part of our success. It is our goal to treat every child, regardless of disability, with dignity and respect. Students participate in a broad variety of academic and extra-curricular activities such as band and chorus. Both performing groups are consistently awarded high honors at festivals and compeitions. Girls Rise and Young Men's Alliance clubs gathers regularly to meet the emotional and social needs of it's members. Our athletic program challenges our students to strive for excellence during every event while stressing the importance of sportsmanship and passion for the game. The Fellowship of Christian Students gathers to support our students desire to share their faith through discussion and community service.amongst each other. The Partner's Club is a unique group of students who's primary goal is to assit our special needs population by assisting them with physically and being friendly to those who are in need. These are just a few of the great things that are happening in the life our school. We have a strong Parent Teacher Organization who volunteers each week at our school. They assist teacher within and without the classroom and hosts fundraising events to be used for the betterment of each child. Our dedicated staff spends countless hours preparing standards-based classrooms and generating lesson plans that will motivate and inspire our students to continue developing their love for learning. Our faculty is steadfast in our commitment to the students at DMS. We consider our school to be a family. We celebrate our in our high moments of sucess and grieve together during times of loss. DMS has a very supportive administrative staff who are constantly deriving ways to make our school even better. Their 'open-door' policy allows us the ability to speak our concerns freely and respectfully without being scrutinized. We are able to share ideas and see them implemented. In closing, I am a very proud member of the Dutchtown Middle School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The students are full of energy, diversity and experiences that keep teachers motivated to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

352 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 37%
White 15% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cynthia McCray
Fax number
  • (770) 515-7505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Mitchell Rd
Hampton, GA 30228
Phone: (770) 515-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT