Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hapeville Charter Middle School

Charter | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2008

HCMS is a waste of my time.This school is lack in organization and quality.The teachers here are not truly their for the student they're there for a paycheck and to communicate with other colleagues about other students or teachers.I feel if your in a classroom learning another teacher from a whole different classroom shouldn't be able to walk in the classroom and start a full blown coversation interrupting the students.It seems as the teachers don't want to communicate with the parents because they have to scheldue an appointment.Why do you have to scheldue an appointment to see what your child is learning.The teachers are allowed to talk to the students any way in any tone.This school will be a waste of anybody middle school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I recently left hms. I was an 8th grader in the 07-08 year. I really didn't like that school, and i think i wasted my middle school years there. I'm in high school now, and i have to say that school didn't prepare us at all. All the teachers talked about was how they thought it was funny that we could possibly fail because of thre mistakes. I don't recommend anyone sending thre child to this school.


Posted August 29, 2008

My daughter is in her 3rd year (8th Grade) at Hapeville Charter Middle School. I am somewhat pleased with the school and the environment. But I truly believe this school needs to weed out some of the teachers that are there merely for employment. Some of the teacher's behaviors are petty and immature. Teachers have to want to Teach and Nurture Kids, not see their weakness and simply talk down and pass negative situations from teacher to teacher. This school is headed in the right direction and has a good vision. We as parents have to continue to address the teachers that are in all schools for merely employment and not for the Nurturing of our children !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

The school is great and the principal is wonderful. I was purchasing uniforms for my child and the principal was there and took out the time to speak with me and addressed the uniform policy with my son. Most principals will turn their heads in public and thats only if they know you're a student a their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I too was excited about my child going to school, but now I can't wait for the year to be over so that I can withdraw him. The teachers are not good with keeping parents informed until it is to late. The organization of the school not good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I am a parent of the school and it has been a wonderful experience. Charter Schools are not for every parent but has been a blessing to me. If you have time please stop by the school to see for yourself and I promise that you will be happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I am very excited about my daughters school year I was welcomed with open arms I volunteer everyday and attend every PTCO meeting They have listened and made changes throughout the body of the school they do have several activities for the kids to participate in I love the one on one support the staff and administration gives when there is a concern the school setting is loving and friendly and open the atmosphere that the school displays is wonderful I have always been invited into the school with open arms and pitch in and help out on the daily basis instead of us complaining lets come together and make things happen for our kids they are always looking for parents to volunteer you can only get out of something what you put into it my daughter will be returning next year and I will return with her everyday helping
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I was very excited at first as well. But getting a hands on experience my expectation at this school has rapidly decline because of the lack organization. I do understand that there are problems at all schools;but for a charter school with a lesser amount of students things should should go smoother. However, this is not the case at HCMS. I am very displeased with the way teachers at this school handle certain priorities. This adds a sense of gloom over the entire campus. It is important to keep parents involved and Parent Connect should be enforced. You should a much information possible about your child's progress instead of finding out after the fact. I would recommend anyone to wants to enroll their child at HMCS first come and visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

This school has turned out to be a great disappointment. At the open house they talked the talk but did not walk the talk. Most of the teachers leaves a lot to be desired. They don't have the children's interest at heart.There is much chaos and unorganization. With good teachers and a good principal, this could have been an excellent school. I'm sorry I wasted a year there from my child's middle school years. The availability of extracurricular activities is practical nonexistent. The administration seems as if they do not want parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

There is no teacher quality at this school. The teachers do not have control over the students. Each and every time I do a pop up visit I get more and more disappointed. I am very disappointed in this school as a parent and educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

I was very excited about my child attending this school, but to my dismay, I am very disappointed with this school system. The behavior of the students and teachers towards the students in the classroom seemed to be out of control. My feelings are with Hapeville being a 'charter school' I expected higher standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

Hapeville is an excellent school that is well diversed. The faculty and staff are caring an always possitive. This school should be ones first option if moving into the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

This school could possibly be a good school if the teachers and the administration would step up and create a much better enviorment.This school could run head to head with schools in the worst areas of town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

HCMS with some organizing, the support of more parents, and Fulton county school system could become one of the better schools in the area. The teachers who are the backbone of the school needs to be a lot stronger than it is at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

HCMS has the ability to be a great school. However the quality of students that attend the school takes away for the great vision that is held by the director and the principle. Discipline is a big issue. Many teachers do not have control of their classroom. Some of the teachers aren't there for the love of teaching children. The environment is not conducive to learning. There is a lack of organization and a lack of support from the GA school system for this charter school. I have visited other schools in N. ATL and they receive full support from the Fulton County System. The parents do not support the school either. I was excited about the school but the thrill is gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

This school has the opportunity to be a really good school considering the parental involvement. However, I have found it to be very unorganized. The teachers don't seem to be as dedicated as they should. They have a long way to go to be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

192 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
23%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
38%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
28%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
39%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marcia Lowe
Fax number
  • (678) 576-0342

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3510 Atlanta Ave
Hapeville, GA 30354
Phone: (404) 767-7730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Long Middle School
Atlanta, GA




Woodward Academy
College Park, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT