Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Harlem Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

North Harlem Elem is a great school, all the teacher or excellent and the principle is also excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We recently moved and transferred two children into North Harlem Elementary from a neighboring school district. I am very impressed and my children are actually challenged to learn for the first time in their school careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

According to the county, Harlem Schools provide the lowest test scores of all the schools in Columbia County. My oldest daughter attended from pre-k through 5th grade and was a straight A student. I think the curriculum is fine, and the low test scores reflect the lack of parent involvement with their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I absolutely Love North Harlem! My Children have been very successful there! MR. Wright is Fantastic with staying on top of things and interacting with each student. My son struggled alot with Pre-k due to never being away from home with day care or anything else. However once he got to Kindergarden he was a brand New child "Thank you Mrs. Arrowood" My daughter is 3rd grade this year and has had some struggles but its nothing for Mrs. Logue to spend 1 on 1 time with her outside of the classroom to make things easier on both of them. "Thank you so much Mrs. Logue" in All staff is Great all the way around. I wouldn't send my lil ones any where else. I know they are always in great hands at North Harlem. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK BULL PUPS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I have had a great experience with this school. My husband and I (along with our three kids) moved to harlem not that long ago, and we must say we love everything about it. Coming from a very over crowded and politicaly driven school in WA, it has been a very nice pace of change. My daughters teacher (mrs. wilson) has been great in keeping me informed and entertaining my obessiveness when it comes to how my daughter is doing and adjusting to her new environment. Bottom line: Great school with Great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

I absolutely love NHE. The staff and teachers are the best!!! The school makes every effort to keep the children interested in learning, to keep them safe and happy within the school environment. The teachers work hard to encourage learning and the curriculum is centered around meeting GA standards. All staff and faculty at NHE work hard to make sure the students thrive! The school is the most wonderful elementary school I have ever dealt with...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I absolutely love this school. They have the most thoughtful and caring teachers and faculty. They really care about our childrens education and do everything they can to help them learn to their best ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

We really loved everything at this school. The Princile, Mr. Wright is really great with the kids and is great a motivating them.. I love the Parent Resource Room! I love that I can come in and do work for the teachers and just leave it for them to pick up.. all supplies are provided. It makes a great working relationship for the parents and teachers. I love all of the 'extra' activities. My Son Loved every minute of attending school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

As the mother of a special needs child(autism), I have been very impressed with the talented and caring faculty at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kirk Wright
Fax number
  • (706) 556-5960

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Fairview Dr
Harlem, GA 30814
Phone: (706) 556-5995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT