Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hephzibah High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2012

I went to this school way back in 2001 and finally got out in 2005. From my experience, and from the gossip still being said about it today, it's a pretty terrible school. There were great teachers there, especially my Science and Math teachers. But in the majority of my classes, all the teachers did was turn the tv on or just sat around. I remember my teacher in art class would just leave. Yes, leave the classroom for the entire period and not come back. So most of the 'thugs' and 'bullies' would take that class. And it wasn't just contained in the school. I remember on my bus the students used to have belt fights in the back all the time, and the driver was ALWAYS late picking up students in the morning. Always 30 min late to school, but they never did anything about it. Heck, I even remember when we were on 'No Child Left Behind' and BARELY crawled out of it. But I won't be surprised if they end up back on it. All I can say is, transfer! Do ANYTHING to get out. It's a Drop-Out Factory. My brother made F's throughout his entire senior year of school, and he graduated 4th in his class.


Posted January 25, 2011

Part I-Part I- I am a parent whose children attend this school. My children have attended schools all over the world due to the military. I am highly disappointed with this high school and wish the government would build a school on post so that children do not have to be subjected to the poor quality county schools. No child should have to experience the conditions of the high schools in this county. It is supposed to be one of the better high schools in the county however, they are not concerned with important things like academics, repairs needed in restrooms like running water, fighting, preparing graduating seniors for college or fighting. Most of the guidance counselors are "too busy" to assist students with scholarship info or assistance with getting help with classes or attending high school and college (dual enrollment), etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Im A Student And I Wouldnt Say Its A Good School. But Its Not The Worst Either. Many Problems Here(Bullying/Fight/Teacher Dont Care)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2010

i am a student at hhs and i wouldn't say i love the school but i am glad i go here, teh teachers are close and help guide you, and since its in the country you get to do alot of outdoor activities, also the administration does care alot about rules but thats just to make it safe, and also i think their jrotc department is one of the best in the state!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

As a parent of a student that attends hephzibah high school, i would honestly say that this is the worst school that i have ever had to deal with.. The principals as well as the teachers care nothing about the students or the education that they get paid to do. I feel that my tax dollars are going to waste in this school and my child is not getting the education that they deserve.. If it were up to me i would fire everyone and place teachers and principlas that care and that are willing to teach and guide...Please do not send your child to this school, it will be the worst mistake of your life!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I currently attend school at HHS and I personally wouldn't recommended anyone to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

This school's principals and administrators care more about rules and regulations than the education of the students.


Posted March 16, 2007

As a student at hephzibah, I would have to say that we need a new principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2007

I am a student at Hephzibah and honestly, I am trying to get my mom to transfer me out. The principal is not at all as good a leader as she should be. They interrupt class entirely to much to babble on and on over the intercom about stupid stuff like wearing jackets when its like 40 degrees. I understand partially about the passes out of class but its to the point where they barely let you out to go to the nurse, and that is ridiculous. I don't even feel safe in this school honestly. And the only positive thing I can say is that the teachers are great for the most part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

As a current student here at HHS, i can say that if i had to choose a high school to graduate from, i would choose Hephzibah. The Chemistry here is just amazing. And yeah there are those that don't get along, but that's at every school. All in all i would call Hephziabh High School a home away from home
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2006

As a graduate of HHS, in response to the comment made about night school, it is not the schools responsibility to make things convienent for the children. This is especially if a child did not do what they were supposed to in order to graduate on time. I could bet anything that your child attends games and functions in Augusta, then there should be no comments about going to night school in Augusta. Parents need to become more involved in their childs education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

It is beyond believe to me that such a good school as HHS is suppossed to be, does not offer night school for kids who need a class in order to graduate. You do not need to be that intelligent to know that forcing kids from Hephzibah to come to augusta to take night classes is the most inconsiderate thing the school could possibly do against these kids. It is not that going to augusta would make the class free. Insult goes right on top of injury because we still have to pay for our children's inconvenience. If we have to pay, why can't it be then at HHS? Honestly, they only answer that comes to mind is that HHS does not care about our children. Where is the support our kids need. I will never understand the reasoning of the people that make important decisions for our kids at HHS, but BOY do they need some higher authority to really take a good look at the way things are done down there. The same way graduation stuff is made available in the same school, any class needed for graduation should be as conveniently available as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

226 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

205 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

226 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

222 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
52%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
34%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
22%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 37%
White 35% 44%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Walter Reeves
Fax number
  • (706) 592-3975

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4558 Brothersville Rd
Hephzibah, GA 30815
Phone: (706) 592-2089

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Butler High School
Augusta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT