Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hephzibah Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2013

It's nasty , there are roaches and mice all trough the school. There is spider webs all in the gym . And it's just nasty . Roaches will be all over the lunch room tables and in the class room .


Posted May 26, 2013

This school is the best only because there is love in the air and you can tail that the teachers love threre jods
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

This school has great teachers a couple no-so-good teachers .Their principal and assistant principals are the pitts and school is very diorganized. No leadership at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

We have great staff and awesome teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

Hephzibah Middle School is a great school. The teachers are very good teachers and the staff is very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

my son spent 3 years at this school and now my daughter has recently started. our experience has been one continuing nightmare. there is no leadership,responsibility or concern for our children. the school is concerned with dress code and erroneous write ups instead of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

I have been very pleased with Hephzibah Middle. I am a parent that is very involved with my children's education and all of the teachers that I have been involved with appreciated my involvement. My son received a great education, but chose not to participate in extracurricular activities. My daughter is in the 7th grade, loves her teachers, participates in music, art, student council, yearbook committee and maintains a high 'A' average. She has been invited to participate in the Duke University TIP program for academically talented children which is sponsoring her to take the SAT this year. She received this education at Hephzibah, I did not have to pay a fortune for her to go to a private school. The teachers and the administration work hard to keep the exceptional students academically challenged as well as keeping the average student academically challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

This school needs to refocus on the quality of education. As things are right now it is more important that the childs shirt be tucked in than if the child is actually learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I was very skeptical about sending my child to this school. I have to say I have enjoy the teachers. I am glad to see the officer on campus. It is required for middle school and high school. Other than the fact the school is long over due for some remodeling, it has been a pleasure thus far. I have met the prinicpal and she was greatful to see parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

The school is very disorganized, it has an assistant pricipal for each grade yet my son who was mistreated by one of his teachers and the assistant principal had no clue as to what was going on. This was not an isolated incident other students from the same grade had difficulties with no leadership support. You would think that a school with so many assistant prinicpals would have a clue as to the happenings in their assigned grade. I believe a school that requires a police officer is not a school for your children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

it needs to get organized and remodeled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

163 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Black 35% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Larina Thomas
Fax number
  • (706) 592-3979

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2427 Mims Rd
Hephzibah, GA 30815
Phone: (706) 592-4534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The First Academy
Gracewood, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT