Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johns Creek High School

Public | 9-12 | 1585 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

I just started as a freshman and I know I will absolutely love this school! To all the parents complaining Its high school! Students are expected to learn how to manage their time correctly and etc. The teachers are challenging but are always there if you have questions. I'm a little annoyed that parents are still expecting the school to babysit their kids. Isn't the whole point of high school is to learn how to be more independent in life. And all that homework? this will help your kid to learn how to balance school and extracurricular activities. What do you think college is going to be like? This school is doing a great job at preparing students, the courses are challenging but the teachers are always there for you. And about drugs.. Drugs happen in every school. To wrap this up JCHS is a great school and parents need to calm down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2014

As a senior graduating from Johns Creek, it has been a wonderful school. Being an honors/AP student, I have had mostly great teachers and have felt the curriculum is challenging but manageable if you use your time wisely. I am graduating with 6 AP classes and a 94 average, and I have had time to get involved with sports teams and clubs in school. Communication is an issue at JCHS, and the counseling department is pretty scattered. Otherwise, it is high school so communicating with the teacher is the child's responsibility, and teachers are open for parent conferences. The school itself is beautiful, and other than a few shortages of textbooks I have had a great experience with the facilities/supplies. At every school there are some great teachers and some horrible ones, and it is no different at JCHS. Hopefully the new principal will implement some changes to evaluate teachers more thoroughly. Coming from a private Christian school, Johns Creek is on a similar level, especially in advanced courses. I feel that I am prepared for college, and am thankful for the wonderful education I have received. Parental involvement really increases the learning and supportive atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2014

I graduated from this school and am now at a top 100 University. The teachers that I had (some) required a lot of independence yet were very available for office hours when approached. It is a great preparation for college life, where people will not spoon-feed you the information. Granted, there are teachers that are not as good as others however, making the generalization that ALL the teachers are incompetent is not accurate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2014

WOW! I am so surprised by the negative comments! I have had one child graduate from JCHS who was an "on level" student. She did beautifully at the school and recieved extra help when needed. Other daughter is an "All Honors" student. Doing very well too! All teachers offer Help Sessions in the am or pm. My children took advantage of help when needed. At one point I needed help from the Admin&Counseling office. I recieved excellent attention and action to my concern. Both my kids have great friends with good manners. Most kids come from great families and therefore there are very few problems at the school. This is a GREAT SCHOOL DISTRICT to purchase a home. You will be pleased with all schools! There is a large parent involvement which speaks highly of the school. I got to know the counseling office, admin staff, many athletic coaches and many teachers. I have NO COMPLAINTS. This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I agree with other reviews in that if your child is "middle of the road" they are easily lost. Communication is horrible and the admistration does not hold teachers accountable. I contacted administration about the horrible communication and got no answers! A horrible school if your child needs any extra attention or help. I think they want to pretend that all students fit into the mold of "extreme over acheiver" so that they can discard the rest. The counseling department is useless. When I addressed the fact that no one returns phone calls or emails, I was told that they have too many students to serve! There is also a horrible drug problem at this school and it is totally ignored by administration. My child tells me that there are students visably impared in the classroom. Do teachers not see this??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I agree with all the other reviewers. JCHS is a frustrating environment for students and parents. My daughter has hours of homework ever night because the teachers can't control the classrooms so nothing gets covered. Trying to communicate with teachers is frustrating. There is no uniform method of communication. Some teachers use Edmodo, some use the hub, some use text and some use nothing. They put all the responsibility on the student for communication which makes it impossible at times. Considering how great of a school AMMS was, JCHS is a severe let down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

My feedback is similar to the other reviewers: if you have an honors student they will get through JCHS with no problem, if you have a middle of the road kid they will suffer from too much homework, quality of teachers varies, and teachers who should use better methods of communication other than swear words, belittling or embarassing the students. The office and counseling staff are useless, some of them very nice but you'll just get sent in circles anytime you have a question. I brace myself every time I have to call because I know person answering phone is automatically on defense before I've even opened my mouth. Kids not treated as individuals but as a page number in a county manual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

The school may have a state of the art facility, but that doesn't change the fact that John's Creek High School suffers from major failure of multiple departments. Like another reviewer said, it is a bureaucratic brick wall. I have two kids that both attended Johns Creek - one an honors kid who has been in TAG and advanced classes since the start of the middle school, and then I have my other child who is a fantastic kid but is more middle of the road and doesn't take any honors courses. While my honors kid was able to tough it out - my son, who was enrolled in normal classes (not advanced ) was destroyed by excessive homework in multiple classes , dysfunctional classes where teachers couldn't keep the class under control, incoherent teachers who seemed to not be able to effectively communicate lessons, and lack of support from counseling. It seems JCHS does not hold their teachers who teach on-level normal classes to the same standards as their honors classes. After consulting with parents from my son's on- level classes - it seems their children suffered from the same problems. I do NOT think this school is run well and would advise you not to get persuaded by the nice campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The school is beautiful, but the quality of teachers varies drastically and the office staff have no knowledge about anything going on at the school. When you call with questions they always put it back on the parent to go figure it out, even when it's a question of about who to contact about their website. My daughter's teachers are listed incorrectly and she cannot access homework assignments and no one seems to know who handles that. She has been incorrectly marked absent and when I call they tell me I have to contact the teacher. It's their mistake, why do I have to do more work to get it fixed. It's like the lottery on if you'll get a good teacher. There are some really great teachers or ones that don't seem to know the curriculum or care if their students succeed. It would be nice that in such a high income area we would have all great teachers. This year was the worst because many students didn't have books ready for them and some actually ran out!! No one seemed concerned that they had no books, no agendas. They had to sign for books before they got them so they couldn't notate horrible condition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

The TAG program is decent, but the school's offering is lacking. Students are overworked. My son is doing homework all night. There is no communication between teachers and too many think the kids have it "easy" in Johns Creek and are attempting to compensate. My son is an excellent student and is drowning in hours of homework. He does it, but his family life and extra curricular volunteer time is suffering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

JCHS appears to have received a lot of weak teachers when it started. From everything I hear the Principal is aware but doesn't seem to be willing to do anything about it. The sports programs are great. The booster club would never tolerate coaches as weak as some of these teachers. Don't let the great test scores fool you. They are a testament to great demographics and excellent middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

Recent Physics project - students needed to build a Hover Craft - written report required - calculations required - significant number of the students were unable to have their crafts actually get off the ground, primarily due to air source - surprisingly class average on the grade for the project was an "A". Does not speak too highly of the integrity of the project or the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Coming out of Autrey Mill school, going into Johns Creek----you need to be rreally prepared to see a totally different school. While Autrey Mill is like a private school: the teachers are great and so are the administrators; Johns Creek High School is the opposite. MANY of the teachers are either incompetent, or pure lazy, or both. Your child would be really lucky if he or she gets a decent teacher. And the administrators have a totally different mentality: do not care! If you try, you would feel like you are hitting a stone wall there, and would feel very frustrating and helpless. Horrible school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Autrey Mill is like a private school: they cared about the kids. At JCHS the teachers don't care, counselors never get back to you in a timely manner, you hit one bureaucratic wall after another. If your kid an honor student they'll get by but a middle of the road student could drown here and no one would notice or care. I do admire that there's so many activities, clubs & sports for kids to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

AP Program still in need - apparently budget constraints will not allow full offering to students' AP needs. Counselor services too little and way too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Ninth grade Math teacher is abysmal - pulling my son from this school. Really sad because Autrey Mill was an excellent middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

My child graduated from this school this year. This is a horrible school. The facility is beautiful, but the administration and counseling department are terrible. It is hard to contact the counselor. If you send email or call they will not respond. The principal is arrogant and the administrators do a poor job managing the school. My daughter applied for three colleges - 2 in state and one out-of-state. Fortunately she got accepted in both in-state colleges. Later we found out that her transcript was never sent to her choice of out-of-state college. She paid the fee for sending the transcript, but dysfunctional counseling department did not sent the transcripts. The same thing happend to few other students. I will not recommend anyone to send their kids to this school. STAY AWAY from John's Creek High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

The ninth grade Math teacher is horrid. The students doesn't know what the teacher teaches. Looks like the teacher self doesn't know the correct answers for the math questions. Strongly recommend the school district to evaluate the teacher's qualification as soon as possible and fire the disqualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

this school needs more qualified teachers that actually love the teaching career and do not treat this job as "just" another job. this school also needs better administrators, and better counselors especially for juniors and seniors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

The school facilities are great, but the administration and math department are the worst around. Someone should remind them of the County Tag-Line "Where Students Come First."
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

429 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

430 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

432 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

432 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

532 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 3%
Black 7% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Buck Greene

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5575 State Bridge Rd
Johns Creek, GA 30022
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 623-2138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Monarch School
Duluth, GA



Wesleyan School
Norcross, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT