Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jonesboro Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

I worked at this school for two years as a special education teacher and found it to be a complete nightmare. The kids were horribly behaved, very low academically, and even violent towards teachers. The administration literally locked themselves in a dark room with no windows and pretended they weren't there. Avoid this school at all costs! It's horribly for students and adults!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 27, 2013

I think this school is moving in the right direction, but more structure and student activities need to be in place. Technology is plentiful, but everyone needs to get on the same page with each other especially administrators. Teacher morale is still low, and many have left as a result. The kids are GREAT, but need more guidance. Parents need to be more involved in a positive way instead of being concerned about toys and electronic devices.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2013

This school might be alittle hard but they do get you ready for high school. i am a 8th grader now.. I have been here since 6th grade. They got me ready for MT. Zion High School.Our admin. in the school ( Dr.hightower, Ms.Perry, and Ms.Bisch ) do not play games when it come to things like bulling and they are not scared to give you ISS, OR OSS. And our honors students are just great. GO BEARS


Posted May 3, 2013

This school is highly not recommended. Please buy a home or rent a place that is zoned for MD Roberts which is right around the corner and much better. The teachers and administration are only there to get a paycheck and doing the bare minimum is the standard. It is ashame that the school and the entire school system have plenty of resources available but they are highly underutilized. I have three children and my oldest is at JMS. It is bad when no homework comes home but the younger elementary school students and the surrounding high school students are jam packed with homework everyday. JMS does not do anything to prepare its students for high school and all the hard work that the excellent elementary schools have done end up going to waste. Two thumbs down to JMS. Perhaps an administration that is not politic driven will do this school good. Best of luck to you in searching for a good middle school, but this one is not it. My child also agrees that this school is not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

This school is most definitely, NOT recommended, and bullying IS most definitely, happening at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

This is a GREAT SCHOOL! I love how it speaks like urself. JMS ROCKS GO BEARS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2011

I removed my child from this school after the winter break of 2010. He'd received threats from different teachers and did not want to attend school. It may be better now because they have a new principal, Dr. Hightower. There was a lot of bullying in the beginning of the school year, also. If parents want to visit, we are required to give a two-day notice. I enrolled my son in online school, but he'll be back in public school since we've moved out of JMS zone & I want him to have the social experience that public school brings. If it weren't for that, I'd allow him to continue online; FAR BETTER CURRICULUM/opportunities to learn and be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

As far as bullying is concerened at JMS it is not tolerated at all. The principal and her staff do not tolerate such nonsense. The teachers are very hard-working teachers who put a lot of effort in the their skills to help the students learn. It is up to the students to get the education that they need. The school has a diverse population. If you are looking for a school that well enhance your child with discipline and knowledge JMS is the place.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 25, 2007

i too read the earlier comment about bullying, and i have not found any troubles as that in this school so far. my daughter is now entering into her 2nd year and my son will be in his first, in 6th grade. we are also a white family, but there has been no issues with that. my daughter loves it, and loves her teachers. they truly are doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I currently have a 6th grade daughter at and have found JMS to be a very good school with great teachers. I read the post about bullying back in 2004 on this web site and was concerned and have kept a close eye of signs of this with my child this year. I have been very involved and actively encouraged to participate in fieldtrips and all activities at the school. This school has strict rules that the children are expected to follow. We are a white family and in the minority at JMS but have not had any problems at all. Our daughter loves it here! Middleschoolers are ready for more freedoms, than elementary school; however at Jonesboro they are given limited amounts of freedom but they still treat them as children. The teachers we have encountered have been at the school for years and still seem to enjoy teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2004

This school is a very violent school. It has too many bullies and many trouble kids. This school is very small to have so many problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

208 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
White 5% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa Hightower
Fax number
  • (678) 610-4332

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1308 Arnold St
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone: (678) 610-4331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT