Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Matthew Arthur Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Matt Arthur is a wonderful school! This is my eighth year as a parent here, and for the first time it feels like a community. The number and content of SchoolMessenger calls is perfect, and they always end with and, please tell your knights I said hello. Dr. Rogers supports his entire staff, interacts beautifully with the PTO, and is the ideal role model for the children. His love of children was evident from day one when he stood in the Grand Hall Lobby welcoming them and learning their names. Not only does he smile, but I have also frequently seen him stop to tie shoes, cheer successes, and encourage children for making better choices. As a former teacher of the year from a neighboring state, I would be richly blessed to teach at Matt Arthur with Dr. Rogers as the principal. I m sad to have another child graduating ; however, I am thankful we have the opportunity to school at the castle with Dr. Rogers, Dr. Harrell, and Dr. McDuffie for a few more years with our youngest child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I love this school! I have 2 children (one currently in HS and the other in 4th grade). The teachers are wonderful and the administration is very hands on and caring. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to volunteer and be involved at the school. I am truly going to miss it when my child "graduates" next year. Highly recommend Matt Arthur!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

I am a parent with two children at Matt Arthur Elementary. One child has a very loving, caring, and respectful teacher who is very in tune to the needs of my child. Unfortunately, my other child has a very harsh, demanding, and disrespectful teacher. Going to the principal is a waste of time because the principal does not care about the concerns of the parents. The school has pro's and con's just like every other school has. However, this school could improve tremendously by simply listening to parents concerns and taking them to heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

LOVE MATT ARTHUR....its great for my 8 yr old who has Autism...we have teachers who care about my child and realize that even though she maybe non verbal doesn't mean she doesn't know whats going on. So much better than where she went before. I can't even tell you - its like night/day....so glad we moved our child. GREAT SPEC NEEDS class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I love Matt Arthur!!! The teachers are teaching our children for the future!! They are ver attentive and have good relationships with the children and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2012

Love Love Love this school. Teachers, Parents, Administration, and all the support staff are amazing. I would recommend this school to everyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

We are absolutely pleased with Matt Arthur Elementary School. The principals each care about every student, greet them each morning in the Grand Hall and know them all by name. The teachers are very professional and communicate daily with each parent through the student s agenda and when necessary by e-mail, phone call or in person. The school faculty and volunteers at MAES are there for one reason only; the future of our children. The faculty ensures the best learning environment is provided through safety, caring, and structure. Matt Arthur Mighty Knights Rule!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

As a parent and teacher, I adore Matt Arthur Elementary and Dr. Rogers. The transition has been easy. While each new administrator has his or her preferences, Dr. Rogers has really kept the focus on the children. The programs such as Mighty Knights and 5ht grade helpers (previously Dr. Hardin's Helpers - now Dr. Roger's helpers) provide continuity for the children during the transition. Speaking as a parent, I find Dr. Rogers more approachable, more willing to reach out to children and do what is needed to help them, and at least as caring as Dr. Hardin, as wonderful as she is. His door is open, he's genuine in his dealings with parents, children, and employees, and we really can't ask for more. He is certainly an asset to the school. I'm sorry the the PP feels differently, but I have no idea where such feelings come from. The school has gone no where but up since the new appointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

we love Dr Rogers, he is a blessing to us. teacher and staff are all wonderful people. i wouldnt put my child anywhere else. we have the best school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

My kids and I love Matt Arthur! The teachers and the entire staff care about the kids and want everyone to succeed. I think the new principal has done a great job and has made the transition easy for the kids, parents, and teachers. Every parent and teacher I have talked to all agree. The atmosphere at the school is the same or better under the new leadership and I can't wait to see what happens in the future. I would definately recommend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My kids LOVE Matt Arthur and I am going to cry buckets of tears when my oldest leaves MAES for middle school next year. The school has been as much my home for the past 5 years as it has been his. (Thank goodness I'll still have a third grader at MAES). We loved our former principal and love the new one too-- maybe even more. The new principal is friendly and approachable and really cares about the kids and I completely disagree with the previous comment. My experience with him has been nothing but positve and since he has only been here 1 month, I think it is VERY unfair to criticize him already. Any time you change leadership, it takes a while to learn their style and expectations. That is a NORMAL part of getting a new leader and not a reflection on him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

What has happened to this school!!! It has been on a downward spiral since gaining a new principle. It is not like it used to be. Nobody, even teachers, seem happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I completely agree that Matt Arthur Elementary is one of the best schools in Houston County. All of the teachers are incredible. The principals are very accessable, they are seen every day in the hallways both in the morning and the afternoon. From the Med Tech, to the principals, to the lunchroom staff, and the custodians, they try to get to know each child by name! That is amazing in a school of 700+ students. There is great parent support, but I feel that is because of how welcoming the people working there are. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

This is one of the best schools in Houston County. My son excelled and had a great experience there. The teachers were great, the music program was excellent, and the principal was one of the best I've observed. Anytime I had a concern, there was someone who cared. This is a great example of how a school should be run, and I mean this sincerely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

I have two children currently at Matt Arthur. It is by far the best school I have ever been involved with. The administration is caring and the teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

This has been our first year at MAES & I must say this is the best school we have ever been to. My daughter is a 1st grader & I have never met a more welcoming, friendly, & loving group of parents, teachers, and staff. Moving to a new school is very hard for a child but this transformation was very easy for us. MAES has become a second family for us & we love our school!! The educations your child will receive that at this school is top of the line. We are hooked on learning at Matt Arthur Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

I was considering taking a job in Atlanta and was searching on the web for schools that were rated a 10. Out of the 100's of schools there were only a couple that had earned a 10. Just for fun, I checked the Houston County schools and was not surpirised to find that Matt Arthur had earned a 10. My daughter has been at MAES for 4 years and it has been an enjoyable experience. Due to the extra hard effort that Mrs. Faletto put into her reading, she went from a C reading level to atleast an M in first grade. Most days, she does not want me to pick her up before 5 because she loves the after school program and she is excited about getting involved in the extracurricular activities once she gets into third grade. I don't think we will be moving to Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

The negative comments about the pricipal here are absolutely correct. I believe that effort is made and the heart is in the right place. But the results speak for themselves. Much controversy has taken place this year and nothing seems to have been done to make anything better. Starting in January, we will be home schooling our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

This school is great! I am a parent of a Pre-K student who will be going to kindergarten this year. The teachers are very enthusiastic and the energy in the building is exciting. I haven't had many dealings with the administration although they seem welcoming and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

My friend told me about this site and I was also shocked at the comments about the principal. I have dealt with her several times regarding teachers and she has been fair and friendly. The teachers are fantastic! Especially Mrs. Hall, Mrs. Lauritsen, and Mr. Payne!! I recommend this school to anyone moving in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 19% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Richard Rogers
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (478) 988-6178

Resources

Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Ga Highway 127
Kathleen, GA 31047
Phone: (478) 988-6170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Perdue Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT