Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palmer Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

My school is a pretty bad environment for a 6th grader like me. I get bullied almost every day. People in my school try to act like they are gangsters and when I ask a question to one of my teachers a question they kind of just shrug it off and take the next persons question. Overall its pretty bad but the extra activities are good.


Posted April 25, 2014

Palmer middle school has great teachers, music, and art classes. The only flaw is the students. You'll have some great friends but some students will annoy you. They will chew gum even though it wasn't allowed in elementary school. They will curse on the middle of class and the teachers will pretend not to hear. All in all, Palmer is a great school with a couple of downsides.


Posted February 9, 2014

This is my first year at Palmer and I must say; it's a very qualified school. It has its pros and cons, though. For an example, some teachers such as Mrs. Esserwein and Mrs. Holder are good in the case of a student's problem. The bad news is the students. Some of them are the rowdiest kids you'll ever see. They'll be sneaking past teachers and hanging out in groups, and worse, getting detention almost every week! However, the music and arts program is AMAZING! It's something I look forward to every day.


Posted December 5, 2013

Some of the teachers here should not be teaching! Ms. Bobb in 7th grade is a miserable human being. Administration is useless & phony. Principal that retired (Wentworth) was the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Middle school has been proven to be very challenging for students, parents, and teachers. My daughter is in sixth grade and, based on what I heard prior to her attending Palmer, I was very apprehensive to send her. Instead, I determined to be an "active" parent for my daughter. I immediately enrolled her in the Palmer Band, made appointments to speak with her teachers and the staff, and made sure my daughter know what was expected of her each day. I make my name and face known and the Palmer staff see that I care by being there. I am fortunate to be able to take time from work to visit Palmer and be involved. For those parents who feel they do not have the time to constantly visit Palmer for their child(ren) because of financial obligations, I say pick up the phone, send an email, write a letter. Your voice can still be heard for your student(s). Signed, "Active-Momma"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Horrible administrators students are treated as irelavant.Worst experience ever for my child. Terrible learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

Go out of the way to make sure parents are not involved. Cannot access Pinacle (grades online) unless you drive to the school and request it. I am disabled and work from home, but they refuse to mail, email, or send access home with my daughter. She is failing three classes and when I called the counselor she had never met with my daughter and said she is too busy and that 70% of the students are failing math. Teachers refuse to email me and let me know what that nights homework is and their blogs are never updated. I asked for any help available and the only help is before school and after school tutoring, which she goes to but she does not ask for help in tutoring. The teachers in tutoring do not check to see what work needs to be done and insure that the students do them. I was told the only way we could get any extra help is if she is a discipline problem, taking drugs, homeless, or if English was her second language. I am very frustrated with this school and it's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

The majority of the teachers are great, the band/orchestra programs are strong, and the front office staff is friendly. Unimpressive administration, though.There may be no gangs, but you have kids walking around that think they are in one. Bullying is something that definitely happens and is often not detected or reported. You'd be surprised. A warning to parents that may have concerns, address them via e-mail and keep everything in writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

This is a WONDERFUL school! The administration here is on the ball & they quickly address any parental issues. I have been extremely pleased with mine & my child's experience here and would highly recommend this school. The teachers are wonderful, the front office staff is supurb, great PTSA. Best middle school in Cobb county, hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

We have had nothing but great experiences at this school. The administration is on top of a very strong anti-bullying program. When we had a bullying incident, it was handled immediately & the bullying stopped. There are no gangs at this school, as someone previously posted. When my child needed extra help in a class, the school provided a teacher to assist her before school each day. I have seen nothing but positive administration here that stays on top of what is going on at the school. This is a great school with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

This school does not do well for any child that is lagging behind or needing additional help. They will not admit that the teacher maybe in the wrong or just lazy. There quick to tell you your child is doing bad .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

Palmer was a well-run school under the previous principal. However, Ms. Wentworth is inexperienced and has run morale into the ground. There is no new thinking, no creativity, lazy teaching, and administrators who can't wait to get out of the door in the afternoon. The office staff is the exception - the are very helpful. Also, there are some special gems as far as teachers - those who can and do teach - Ms. Esserwein, Ms. Antonnucio, Ms. Merrica, Ms. Maer, and Mr. Irving come to mind. The band, orchestra, and chorus teachers work hard and care about the kids. Then there are the others, who throw busy work at the students instead of teaching them. Who yell and belittle. The Principal has no idea what's going on. The kids are not learning as they should be. Dr. Jerry Rae was a fine principal. She is sorely missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

This school is being overrun by kids how think they are gangsters. My child comes home from school in tears because of the complete lack of supervision at this school. Kids are getting bullied and beaten up and the correct students are not being held accountable. This seems to be an on going issue in the Cobb County school district. If I could send my child to another school I would FOR THEIR SAFETY. Since clearly no one at the school cares about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

Palmer is a decent school. It is in good shape. Majority of teachers are great. The administration lacks effort on their part although have gotten better this year with the new principal. They don't seem to help the students if they have problems and they defiantly over do it on their rules. But overall this school is recommended. The students have great school spirit.


Posted October 12, 2010

The principal and office staff we're poor however they're teachers were excellent with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

This is my last year at Palmer and I have to say I've been extremely impressed. The sudents have a lot of school spirit and the classes have good teachers who challenge us. Most of the kids are on honor roll, and lots of us take AC classes. There are many clubs and extracurriculars to choose from like the Reading Bowl, the Acedemic Team, The Tennis Team, Chorus, and many others. I was a little worried coming into Palmer because it was only my second year in a public school, and my first year in junior high. There is a wonderful principal, Dr. Ray, and you can tell she really cares about us students. Also, there isn't school violence, because we have a bully prevention program here. Overall, this school is the best and you won't be dissapointed if your child attends Palmer!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2008

I love this school, it has great influence on the us. It encourges us to persue our dreams and stay on task. Palmer is the best middle school I've been to!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

the school is very good the school is always clean and thers never a halway whithout a teacher making sure the studedents get to class on time. im in 8th grade and ive been in palmer for all 3 years. some teachers are exelent and no one fails in their class but then thers ome that care more about wat yur doing than how yur grades are but thes is a very god school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2008

Dress code violations are not handled properly. Kids wearing 'Urban' clothing are not asked to change. Kids with slight 'threading' in jeans are sent to the office. Double standard, this is creating division among the student body . School is full of 'gangsta' want-a-bes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

I rate this school as a #1 school especially for children with disabilities. One of my twins went to this school and I was amazed at the kids who befriended my child who is blind they treated him like he had no disabilities. The teachers were just as awesome. It's a great school. Sharon
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

337 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 44%
Black 27% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cathy Wentworth
Fax number
  • (770) 591-5032
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

690 N Booth Rd NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Phone: (770) 591-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT