Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy

Charter | K-6 | 920 students

Our school is best know for its culture of community and parent support

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

189 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 30, 2009

I'm proud to say my children attend Kennesaw Charter Science and Math Academy! I moved my children to KCS last year out of desperation to get away from a bad situation at our home school. I was unsure if we would keep them here but after hearing that there would be a new principal, a divorce from the management company and a new academic focus, we decided to give it another year. Mrs. Frey is nothing short of an answer to a prayer! Last year this was the school we came to because we had no other choice. This year it's a school I am proud to be a part of and I school I will support and fight for even after my children graduate. If you want an affordable alternative to private school, where families are required to be active participants in their child's education, then KCSMA is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Wonderful alternative for parents looking for a great education for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

They really care about educating our children and do a wonderful job doing that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

A great place to educate your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Excellent curriculum and teacher to student ratio. This alone would not make a great school but add in obvious enthusiasm the teachers have for their subject and the children, the caring and inclusive atmosphere reinforced at every level... then you have Kennesaw Charter School.


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers and staff are excellent and really care about the developement of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Kennesaw Charter is an amazing school which encourages the development of the whole child and does not simply inforce rules. The teachers are caring and intelligent and strive to bring out the best in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The level of education is above Cobb county schools. My son loves this school as well as me because it challenges my son who is very intelligent. The teachers are awesome especially my son's second grade teacher Mrs. Ralston. KCs not only encourages parent involvement but requires it. They take pride in giving our children the best possible start in education. I am proud to be a part of the KCS team. I know my son is getting the best education. I hope it gets extended to not just Middle School grades but High School as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Love the new brain based method of teaching. I can't wait unil it is in all classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Kennesaw charter has been a wonderful experience for my son, he comes home form shcool and start on his homework before he ask to go outside or watch tv. KCS makes it fun to learn !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Kennesaw Charter School (KCS) creates a safe and fun learning environment for our kids. The teachers and staff are committed to providing the best experience for our children. Mandatory parent involvement for a specific number of hours per year ensures that each parent is involved with the school and the staff. Awesome school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

KCS is amazing!! Parents help above and beyond the call of duty, the teachers care not only about their student but about the entire family. The administration is genuinely concerned with every aspect of our school. We have overcome so many obstacles that ordinary public schools never have to consider, and here we are, celebrating our approval for the next 5 years as well as the opportunity to move into a K-8 setting. They said we couldn't do it. They said they didn't approve of Charters. They said we wouldn't survive and to get our kids out fast. Our success proves that with hard work, diligence, and a lot of heart, youu can do anything you set your mind to. What a great lesson for our children to learn and experience first hand. Kennesaw Charter of Science and Math is a top notch school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

KCS is awesome! Their parents are very involved with their children and the school.


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers and staff are the best! Go KCS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Something about this school (KCS) is different from the other charter schools that I have experience. Maybe it's the chemistry. Everyone works as a team to make good things happen. Having my kids there for two years has been a tremendous experience, not only for me, but for my family as well. The Principal, Parents, Teachers, and Administraion has been awesome! Let's all keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers are awesome, and they really seem to care about the kids. My kids enjoy going to school and are allowed to learn in a way that works best for them. I love that the school not only encourages parent involvement, they require it. I love the uniforms, not having to argue with my kids over what they can or can not wear to school. KCS is proof that if you hold everyone (teachers, parents, students) to a higher standard they will step up to the plate and do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers are awesome, and they really care about our kids. My son enjoys going to school and he is allowed to learn in a way that works best for him. I love that the school not only encourages parent involvement, they require it. I love the uniforms, not having to argue with him over what he can or can not wear to school. KCS is proof that if you hold everyone (teachers, parents, students) to a higher standard they will step up to the plate and do their best. I hope it gets extended to, not just Middle School grades but High School as well. I wish they were ready for Middle School already as my Daughter has to go to a regular middle school since leaving KCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

This is my second year with KCS and my son and I love it. The teachers and staff are dedicated to the well being of the children. Parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Excellent school that is only getting better and better. We were the underdogs for sure. Phooey on those former school employees who told us a the gloom and doom about how terrible the changes were going to be and how the charter would never be approved. Not only was it approved for 5 years but they let us add middle school and the charter was praised. That shows what little they know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

At KCS, every student is known by name, abilities, and family ties. Children are taught one on when needed or put in a gifted program is they are exceptional. We are a family. We are NOT a large school where students fall between the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 37%
White 33% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kay Frey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (678) 290-9638

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • science and math
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Gifted
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Walmart
  • Chick-fil-A
  • Vulcan
  • Liberty Mutual
  • LearningRX
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
110
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
881
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3010 Cobb Parkway North
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 290-9628

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT