Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy

Charter | K-6 | 920 students

Our school is best know for its culture of community and parent support

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

186 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2007

We believe our children are getting an oustanding education, due to our terrific teachers. Like many parents though, we are continually frustrated by the administrative issues, the problems with the management company and overall lack of strong leadership in the school. It's a true shame because this school has (or had) the potential to be a wonderful choice for families in Cobb County. Instead it's becoming a school of 'last resort' for many recent enrolling students and school officials aren't doing much to protect the vision of the charter and the initial environment for the kids. If not for the teachers--we wouldn't still be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

I don't think my children are getting any better education then at any other school. There are some programs that the public schools offer that KCS doesn't. I think that there are many issues to work on sadly have been let go too long and will take much time to correct. Only a teacher can make a difference in what you learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

We love this school. I have never seen one teacher without a smile on their face, even during carpool. I have found it very easy to get my volunteer hours with adhering to the policy of when parents can come into the school. My children are averaging above grade levels in all areas due to their committed teachers. This school may have some issues to resolve, but they are working on making it even better! My children are receiving an excellent education and it is still far superior to our local public school! I will continue to support the teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

Parent involvement is discouraged. Academics are subpar. Staf is unfriendly and unwelcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

I am feeling very frustrated and saddened by the situation here. While I think my children both have outstanding teachers and I have been impressed with the principal (who I have found to be nothing but professional), the school community seems to be unraveling before our eyes. The building is not such a concern for me because I find it in no worse condition than any other older county school. What concerns me is seeing the attitude of entitlement of many parents. Parents seem to think they should be allowed free reign of the school with no boundaries. There are parents complaining that they don't have access to the teacher's lounge or wanting their child's teacher forced to allow them into the classroom to 'help' when the teacher has requested no parents in the classroom during instructional time. I am afraid there may not be a school to attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I have a child in Kidergarten at this school. I am happy with her teacher and her willingness to reach out and communicate with the parents and get them more involved in the classroom. However, this school has huge negatives. The administration is doing a poor job, the facilities are unbelievably filthy. The school board has no authority and the managing company, Imagine, is unreachable and unaccountable. The new administration and its supporting staff treat parents as dead beats, uneducated and low class people. I just wished I did more homework on the school instead of listening to friends who are parents there. If I knew then what I know now about the school, I would have never chosen it. I will be pulling my child out, hopefully I can wait this school year out. Don't put your kid there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

There is so much potential at Kennesaw Charter. Only time will tell if it will reach it's full potential or if it will flounder due to indecision and ineffective operational decisions. I hope that does not happen. There are fantastic, dedicated teachers who go above and beyond for these children. Unfortunately there are issues beyond the classroom that must be addressed if the school is to see long term sustainability and growth. There is a perception that the governing board is refusing to address issues; I am not sure that is the case but I do know they are refusing to discuss these issues openly with parents and concerned teachers. I love the concept of a charter school where parents have more input, unfortunately that concept is not a reality in THIS charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My children have been at this school for 2 1/2 years. We have been pleased with the teachers they have had, the curriculum & most aspects of our school experience. However my husband & I do not think our children will be returning next year. I am tired of feeling as though no one will 'be straight' with parents on important issues. I don't have confidence that the school will continue to move in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I like KCS Curriculum. This is my daughters 2nd year.Teachers are great. I wish they have a much cleaner and nice building.( Bathrooms are really filthy). Wish they could provide school bus for the students. Parent involvement is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I have 2 children at Kennesaw Charter. We came back this year hoping for the best and so far I love what I see! We ended the school year last year with low staff morale and 50% teacher turnover. This year with a new principal it's a total turn around. It feels more like a family. The teachers seem more motivated and all speak very highly of the principal. My kids even commented that the school 'feels happy' this year. Very active parent community, PTA that contributes close to $30,000 to school programs, teachers who differentiate instruction and now a principal who seems to truly care and want to see KCS succeed and flourish. I would agree that a new building is our next 'must have.' I would also agree that the school is flourishing despite having an ineffective and aomewhat hostile governing board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

My children have attended KCS since the beginning. I have seen the school go through all kinds of changes but one thing remains the same, my kids are growing and excelling in their education at a rapid rate. My children ended the last school year almost 3 grade levels above. The school is immersed in diversity and parent involvement. The PTA is a strong active group that mirrors the school's goal of... children come first. Would highly recommend this education-friendly, family-oriented atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

New principal and vice principal appear to be very positive, active and approachable. Facilities look better but still room for improvement. Teachers seem more motivated and happier this year. Nice alternative school option for parents who want a change. There may be no tuition but you pay in other ways. Dealing with the school governing board is frustrating at best. They seem unwilling or unable to put aside personal agenda and serve the best interest of all kids at the school. I am pleased with all aspects except the board. The good outweighs the bad. Good teachers keep us coming back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Kennesaw Charter School is a great alternative to Cobb's public school. If you are the type of parent that is very proactive with your child's education then KCS will allow you personally to be involved with your child education. Of course this school can not be all things to everybody. However, the staff and administrators make the children feel at home which impacts the children's learning capabilities. The school is a bit on the shabby side I would like to see some improvement. Get this, the 20 hour mandatory parent volunteer hours will give me the opportunity to help pitch in with painting, landscaping and other things the school desperately needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

I am very please with KCS. This is my daughters first year attending, they were in Kindergarten and 2nd grade and when I compare the level of education my 2nd grader was receiving at public school I am truly impressed with KCS. The staff seems dedicate and although the facility needs work, the students seem motivated and they are learning in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I wish that this school was as good as it looks on paper. In theory it is spectacular, in reality, it is not. The facilities are run down, many many many of the teachers will not be returning next year, there is a major lack of communication from administration, there is not a gifted program. I will agree that parental involvement is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I am not happy with this school's lack of communication. The facility is dirty and run down. Per my childrens' opinion, the after school program is terrible. Good points; great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

My son's a kindergartner and we have been extremely pleased with the education he is receiving at KCS. There is a huge gym, a new band program for older kids, and free tutoring for students who need it. Parents and teachers meet at least 3X a year to review individual learning plans. My son is working on a 2nd-3rd grade level in some areas and brings home work that reflects this. We chose this school because it allows students to work at their level-not above or below it-and have been very pleased. The principal spends most of her time in the classroom so may not always be easily reached but that's b/c she's involved in the school. The facilities aren't the best, but a new site is in the works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

If you are a parent lucky enough to have a great teacher, you'll probably be satisfied, but don't expect great things. This school is nothing more than average among Cobb County schools. No gifted program and no accountability on individual student learning plans. Physical condition of the buildings is not great, few extra curricular activities and lack of communication are big negatives. Parents are definitely involved, which includes sending their kids to Sylvan and Kumon for the basics their kids are not learning in the classroom! Smaller overall school population and uniforms are nice, but can't make up for the curriculum deficiencies as well as the declining test scores. A great idea in concept, but seriously lacking in execution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

I am very pleased with the quality of programs Kennesaw Charter School offers our children. I admire the staff, teacher and parent commitment to their education. My daughter is doing excellent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I am very dissatisfied with the leaders of this school. The principal, and the board is very hard to communicate with as it relates to issues that affect the growth of the school in a positive manner. I have seen a decrease in the morale of the teachers and lack of direction. When one enters the Kennesaw Charter School, you will immediately notice the poor and unclean condition of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 37%
White 33% 44%
Asian 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kay Frey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (678) 290-9638

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • science and math
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Gifted
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Walmart
  • Chick-fil-A
  • Vulcan
  • Liberty Mutual
  • LearningRX
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
110
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
881
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3010 Cobb Parkway North
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 290-9628

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT