Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
173 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 251 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy 1

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
The school is a mess financially. They received an "admonishment" from the State Department of Education Charter Division regarding their financials. They can't pay their property or payroll taxes on time and have had liens placed on the school by the City of Kennesaw and the IRS. The school can't meet the covenants of it bond. Don't take my word for it, read the 2015 audited financial statements.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Favoritism runs rampant at the school. Teachers have their sons and daughters in their class as students. Take your child to work day is everyday. Expect your child to be talked down to by the teachers while their child is held up as a model student

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Large amount of quantity but low on quality regarding the amount of homework given by the school

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Favoritism runs rampant at the school. Teachers have their sons and daughters in their class as students. Take your child to work day is everyday.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy 4

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at KCSMA and I can't say enough about how wonderful the teachers have been. I am concerned about the teacher turn over though. This school is not perfect, but what school is. Hopefully there will be some positive changes to come this year.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
They had an incident in which students were throwing rocks at cars. Tell me if that's developing respect.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I dropped off my daughters lunch and asked that she gets it and she didn't get it until after lunch was over. This happened twice. Her teacher then told her that it's not her problem.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I feel this way because they have no counseling to deal with situations that the administration is not trained to handle.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
This school has no soul. It starts from the top. They will target your kid and mistreat them if they don't like the parents. They had a teachers husband visit the school to speak to a 5 th grader who had a crush on his wife, who was his teacher. The kid who had a crush on the teacher, punched the husband and gave him a bloody nose. What self respecting school allows this to happen? They are the worse. If you want your kid to be in a nurturing environment, this ain't it. There are so many stories of ineptitude that they are sweeping under the rug.

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy 2

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Unless you are zoned for a really terrible school do not go here. The principal and her assistant principal are rude and unprofessional. The new enrollment specialists are an absolute joke. They want to do better as a school but just can't pull it together. They say everything that goes wrong is due to lack of funding. You can only use that excuse for so long. We left the school we were zoned for to go to the charter school thinking we would get what they promised. They said they had smaller class sizes but my son had more students in his class. Then a few weeks into the school year his class size grew because a teacher left after only a few weeks and they dispersed her class. I don't think his teacher ever really recovered from that. He went into 1st grade on a 3rd grade reading level and left on a 3rd grade reading level. He had a lot of "busy work" homework and really missed actually having music and art. We simply could not let our twins start Kindergarten there. We worked hard with our son over the summer and got tutoring so he would get caught up and be ready for 2nd grade. We are happily back at our old school and will never leave again. This school has some major financial issues and many are self inflicted. It's not a good feeling knowing that utility bills are not paid on time and that the internet rarely works for the teachers. The good teachers all leave and are replaced by brand new teachers. School board meetings and meetings with the principal are jokes. There are too many problems and they don't have qualified people in place to fix them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy
3010 Cobb Parkway North, Kennesaw, GA  30144
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 251 reviews. (678) 290-9628
Last modified Kennesaw Charter Science & Math Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top