Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Catherine of Siena Catholic

Private | PK-8

We are best known for excellent Catholic formation.

 
 

Living in Kennesaw

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

St. Catherine of Siena's school is a solid place of learning. The teachers and staff are highly engaged, immensely positive and are well responsive to parents. The sense of community with everyone involved is high and certainly inclusive to new arrivals to the school. On an academic level the school is pretty strong, as one should expect from a private school. And from what I've seen, any deficiencies are openly acknowledged by the staff and addressed relatively quickly. And finally, the most important part, my wife and I are seeing the school's positive and balanced effect on our child every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

My child has been attending St. Catherine of Siena for the last six years and it has been amazing! The teachers are always very nice and they let their students have fun while learning. They also have many sports and activities to try. This is the best Catholic school in Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My children has been assisting to this school for years now and we just have wonderful things to say about the staff, the principal, discipline and academics of this school. My kids love it and for them is like a second home. I highly recommended to all parents who wants to offer to their children not the basic but a whole different environment where they can grown, learn and have an extraordinary academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

We have been attending this school since 2004 and are happy with the academic and religious education provided. The Sisters add much to the school both academically and spiritually and the administration is top notch. I've read a few of the reviews and disagree with some points. The '7 minutes of silence' at lunch (which is 30 minutes long) is to ensure that the students take time to eat their lunch. After the 7 minutes of silence is over, they are allowed to talk at inside voice level. After the prayer, they are released to recess and can run, play and shout to their heart's content. Part of an education is to learn discipline and respect for self and others. I see no reason why students need to be super noisy at school. They can do that at recess or at home. The teachers are well-educated, excellent, and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School is a wonderful school with an awesome parent community and a dedicated faculty and staff. The school prinicipal, Sister Mary Jacinta, is a constant presence in the school and is dedicated to providing an academically challenging curriculum within a spiritually nurturing environment. My child is thriving at this school and we could not imagine having our child at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

This school is average and only if you are a very conservative Catholic family. If your child does not fit the mold of quiet and reserved, but is a free thinker, this is not the school for you. The teachers are not tolerant of any noisy behavior. The children are made to be silent for 7 minutes at the beginning of lunch. They are all wanting to talk and relax but are not allowed to. There has been alot of yelling by teachers in the past but this is improving. Many of the families are parishioners of St. Catherine and very conservative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

This school is excellent! Our kids have gone to this school now for 4 years and they both are doing great. It is a lot of work for them but the results are great. Also happy to say their minds are not being destroyed by the leftist teachers unions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have found St. Caterine of Siena to be a truly oustanding school. The foundation in Math, Reading and Writing to be unparalleld in the elementary system. I have discussed the level of expectaions and progress with parents throughout the U.S. and the education at St. Catherine's is better than 80% of the parents I speak to. I have the choice of sending my son to any school in the Northwest Atlanta area. I have found that the education is well worth the cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Saint Catherine of Siena Catholic School is absolutely terrific. It nurtures an environment of acceptance, love, and challenging academics. The parental involvement is extraordinary and the teachings of the Catholic Faith is an added bonus. You can't go wrong with Christ in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

I have had my child at SCS for 4 years. Overall it is average. There are limited children's entertainment programs or extracurricular activities (ex: singing, Christmas, evening programs, sports). Also, I've not seen my child bring one art project home. For the most part the teachers are great. The communication between school and parents good be better. The parents are required to volunteer 30 hours or pay $300, which I don't agree with. We both have 2 jobs each in order to send our child here, which does not leave much free time. Overall it is average, not sure it is worth the money, except for the fact the kids are in a 'nice' protected environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Hispanic 11% 10%
Black 3% 40%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Mary Patrick, O.P.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (678) 626-0000

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Parents of prospective students are invited to an OPEN HOUSE Saturday November 12, 2011 at 10AM. A Principal's Presentation will be followed by opportunities to visit the classrooms and meet the faculty. St. Catherine's will also host a Meet the Principal event on Tuesday January 10, 2012 for prospective parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Blessed Trinity Catholic High School
area public high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1618 Ben King Rd NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 419-8601

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT