Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
176 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We consistently have a 95+% satisfaction rate on our parent surveys. I strongly believe that partnership is essential to getting complete resolution. Being a small school has many advantages, including the ability to work one-on-one with families if any issues arise. Please read our reviews on Kudzu.com and Yelp.com as well, where we have 100+ reviews that reflect more than is available on this site. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me to discuss. Sincerely, Lynn McKinnon, Head of School
March 22, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
Over the years, Foundations has become a community of learners and teachers that believe in the mission of providing a more natural learning environment for students, and a supportive, collaborative environment for teachers and parents. This would not have been possible without all the wonderful families, teachers, and children that have been a part of our school. Thank you to everyone who has been a part of building our school community over the years since 2004.
Posted March 22, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Teachers are provided support in many ways to help be as effective as possible. Foundations provides training classes, but more importantly, they have daily interactions with other teachers and administrators in a collaborative environment, so they have constant support to do what they are trying to achieve in their classrooms. Foundations also covers the materials costs for everything the teacher needs in their classroom, so they have no out-of-pocket teaching costs, which would limit what kind of experiences they could provide to their students.
Posted March 22, 2016

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Numerous studies over the years have shown that homework is not beneficial for elementary age students for the most part. Because of this, we limit the homework assignments to reinforcement of key topics, and to a very limited amount of time.
Posted March 22, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
We support the development of self-confidence in our students. When they struggle, we work alongside them to overcome that obstacle. When they are confident in their abilities, they can take that into knowledge and translate that into knowing that with persistence, grit, and determination, they can accomplish anything they set their minds to.
Posted March 22, 2016

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
We develop respect by giving students a lot of respect for their abilities, and in turn, they give respect back to our teachers. Students are given increasing amounts of independence in their choices and responsibilities as they go through our program each year. As they develop confidence in their abilities to help direct their learning, they teachers as partners in that process, helping them succeed, and they respect them, as well as care for them.
Posted March 22, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
A multi-grade learning environment is a wonderful setting to develop these traits. By working alongside students that are younger and/or older than themselves, they learn to communicate with others that are not on their exact level, which requires compassion, caring, and empathy to be successful.
Posted March 22, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
One of the strengths of our program is the collaborative learning environment. Students develop important character traits such as honesty, integrity, and fairness by working together to create a strong sense of community in their classrooms. When an issue arises, the teacher takes the time to guide them through the process of solving the issue, empowering them with the knowledge that they can be a part of the solution.
Posted March 22, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
We consistently have a 95+% satisfaction rate on our parent surveys. I strongly believe that partnership is essential to getting complete resolution. Being a small school has many advantages, including the ability to work one-on-one with families if any issues arise. Please read our reviews on Kudzu.com and Yelp.com as well, where we have 100+ reviews that reflect more than is available on this site. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me to discuss. Sincerely, Lynn McKinnon, Head of School
Posted March 22, 2016

Foundations for the Future 1

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
My son and another child that I know of went to Foundations from preschool to Kindergarten. When they transferred to public school they we're both placed in remedial English due to their inability to read at the same level of other public school children. School is too focused on STEM education and disregards basics of reading.

Foundations for the Future 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. I have a 15 month old in the childcare program and a 6 year old in 1st grade and they love it. My daughter, 15 months, has a big smile anytime she is dropped off; and every Friday my son always talks about how excited he is to go back to school! Class room sizes are small and the children get great individual attention. When your children attend Foundations you feel as if you are part of a family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foundations for the Future
1500 Stanley Road NW, Kennesaw, GA 30152, Kennesaw, GA  30152
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (770) 429-4799
Last modified Foundations for the Future is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top