Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Big Shanty Elementary School

Public | 3-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2006

Big Shanty was the worst experience I have ever had with a school. My daughter attended and I was extremely disappointed and abhorred by the lack of responsibility, supervision, and protection of my child. I recommend running as fast as you can away from this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2006

Educated parents have quickly realized that the new principal at Big Shanty is dedicated to making this an outstanding school. We have been very pleased with all aspects of education at Big Shanty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

This has been my daughters first year at Big Shanty and I have been very impressed. The quality of academic programs is outstanding, the extracurricular activities are awesome (especially music!), and the level of parent involvement is average. The new principal this year has made a huge difference. She is always visible at the school, present at the after school activities, and available to the parents. I love Big Shanty and can't wait for my second daughter to go there soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

My child(ren) were affected by the school split. I was very sad to leave kennesaw and i can say that the 04-05 school year was not the best but my daughter had a great teacher. This year my daughter is a 4th grader and with the new principal, ap, front office staff, and ilt big shanty is the place to be. We have had a fantastic year. The administration is accessible and the teachers are thrilled to be under their leadership. Fyi the cafeteria and custodial staff are wonderful. They go out of their way to be helpful and nice. I can't wait for my other child at kennesaw to be apart of the big shanty family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

My son has been at Big Shanty Elementary for two years now since the split in the schools. During this time I can say that the teachers that he has had were and are very motivating. They work with him when he needs assistance. The environment of the counselors and teachers were warm. I have spoken to the principal and she has always been available to me. I think Big Shanty is improving. What others don't realize is that as parents we also have to go the extra mile and not depend strictly on the teachers and staff to assist and push our children. Big Shanty is coming around the curb and they are doing a good job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

Big Shanty is a mess. The principal leadership is too poor and she is not available when is needed. She protects some teachers with really very bad teaching skills. The students arrived from other schools with high motivation but the lack of organization and interest reduce their performance and motivation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

The quality of education, teaching & learning here is the lowest I've ever experienced with any of my children in ANY school district. Once excellent & excelling students are failing due to poor teaching & environment. Lots of unnecessary involvment by the 'counselors'. Way too much emphasis on state-mandated and local testings. Teachers to-date seem unresponsive to parental concerns and teaching improvements. Principal? Never available. Unacceptable level of serious injuries on playground on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

The pricipal at Big Shanty is not interested in helping or working with parents. My son was at Kennesaw Elementary for first and second grades and he excelled and did not have even one instance of trouble. Since being forced to go to Big Shanty this year (due to school realignment) my son has had trouble with bullys with no support from the Principal. Although his teacher has been excellent the administration is terrible and should be looked at by the County for serious review. If you can avoid it do not send your children to Big Shanty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

The Principal has not been available to us. Teachers seem to run the school. Big Shanty Elementary School needs some restructuring. There is a big devide between teachers, administration and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2004

I agree. Big shanty staff is highly rude and the teachers are not very helpful when it comes to the students. My son was student of the month with straight a's last year. This year at big shanty he is struggling because the teacher has given no feedback to me as to what to do. I have written 4 letters to the teacher. I also will be moving my children out of that school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Big Shanty has a very low motivated staff and has a negative administration. Parental involvement has decreased and the morale of the teachers/staff that had to move to the school is low. Kids are suffering and it's not a positive environment. Parents do not feel welcomed and overall the experience is terrible. Will be moving our kids to another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1575 Ben King Rd NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Phone: (678) 594-8023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT