Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-5
Public district
Kennesaw, GA
Students enrolled: 825
 

3 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

34 reviews of this school


Big Shanty Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
My child is finishing his first year here. The teachers have been nothing short of fantastic, very flexible and willing to work within a child's limitations. The reason that I can only give 3 stars is the "Excellent Eagles" behavior program. The children carry their agendas around wherever they go and any staff member may mark the agenda, if the child has no marks at the end of a quarter, they are a "Golden Eagle" , if they have 3 or fewer marks, they are a Blue Eagle, there is a big ceremony at the end of each quarter which all students attend, I have several problems with this: 1. Students get marks for missing homework, I don't feel this is a disciplinary issue 2. Once the child has three marks, there is no avenue for her to regain eligibility for that nine weeks. For example, if a child has a really bad day and gets three marks from a variety of staff members, there is zero incentive to behave during the remaining weeks of the quarter. 3. The child who had a bad day is then, possibly weeks later, forced to sit on the cafeteria floor and watch her friends parade across the stage cheered on by parents,,teachers and administrators.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at this school are not organized. How can I child have only 3 to 4 grades for a grading period? When things are brought up to administration, they will do anything to try to protect their teachers acting as if you're the problem. It's really time for some of the teachers to go and/or retire. They have been there so long until they are really out of touch in how they are teaching. There is a lot a favoritism where they addressed some students behaviors and ignore the behaviors of their ALP students whose behaviors are out of control. This school needs new leadership.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This school has lost it's focus on teaching children. It has become militant with a new behavioral policy that has the children very stressed. I have not spoken to one parent who does not have an issue with this new policy- the administration is clueless, despite the numerous parent meetings expressing concerns. Their new stance seems to be head in the sand, disregarding valid concerns from not only parents but mental health professionals in the area.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is governed on focusing on the minority who are failing to adhere, rather than continuously acknowledging those that consistently follow the rules. Goals/rules, are so out of whack..... = does not/will not equal success for the students.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a parent
Terrible! The teachers are absolutely careless and disorganized. The focus is on behavior and NOT academics. There is no across the board no questions asked behavior expectation. It's based on the kid and the teacher's subjective impression. The negativity runs ramped and the extra carriculars such as festivals, holiday shop, etc are non existant. The administration is cold and careless. To solicit help from these people is like pulling teeth. The cafeteria doesn't even pay attention to diet restrictions placed by parents, etc. There is NO supervision during lunch besides from janitorial staff, and the school is incredibly money hungry with nothing to show for it. Their art program is pathetic. NIGHT AND DAY difference between Kennesaw Elem and Big Shanty. Such a shame! I'm pulling my child and placing him elsewhere next year.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
This school is terrible. My daughter goes to this school. Yes racism is there. Due to crowded rooms teacher can't help the bullying and bad manner children are adopting in this school.

Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a community member
Awsome Epic cool amzing the best these are word i use to discribe big shanty

Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
Big Shanty has a new administration and it shows! Everyone in the school is full of energy and enthusiasm. The staff has high morale and the students are eager to learn. Look for great things to come from Big Shanty in the coming years!

Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
I had two children go through Big Shanty, both were challenged and looked forward to going to school everyday. I could not be happier with a school, both my children became independent and ready for middle school.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
My oldest child is currently in their 2nd year at Big Shanty and will be taken out at mid year when we can transfer somewhere else. She has always loved school and scores in the 99th percentile on standardized tests. She is a very bright child but we now spend hours each night doing the teaching that she isn't getting at school. This is further complicated by the lack of communication. The rooms are over crowded and the teachers have turned into baby sitters just looking to collect a check The thought that my child should be challenged is an absolute foreign concept. If you have other options, take them - we will be. If you do not have any other good option then prepare to teach your child everything they need without any assistance from the school. I'm sure some of the teachers are fine but it is luck of the draw and not worth risking your child's future to their overall incompetence.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Big Shanty Elementary School
1575 Ben King Rd NW, Kennesaw, GA  30144
(678) 594-8023
Last modified Big Shanty Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Big Shanty Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top