Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Awtrey Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2005

I have a daughter that attends Awtrey and she hates it. She complains that the teachers do not have time to listen to the students when they try to express themselves about a situation and that is very frustrating. I do not like this school and will be removing my child from this school as soon as school ends I'm from up north and this school is the worst, there's no programs for the students who are struggling except in the morning well what about the parents who children can't make it @ 8:00am do the children just suffer and just continue to struggle. Yes we as parents have to help but them as teachers get paid to teach and they need to do just that. Yes teachers are under paid but this is the job/career they choose so do your job. Thank You New York
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

I wish I'd known about this site before enrolling my son in Awtrey today. I surely hope that the experience will not be that of more than half of the commentators on this site. I'm a very involved parents. Awtrey's job is to educate my child. If they can't handle that, then we will be compensating for the inability or lack of interest in doing their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

I got my daughter out of that school as soon as the year ended. The school is out of control and i totally agree with what the other parents are saying on here. Its not a safe enviroment for your children. My daughter was a minority at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

I would like to agree more with the latter few comments more than with the first several comments. I have one daughter who is at North Cobb now who attended Awtrey for 3 years and I also have a daughter who is a rising 8th grader. Based on what my 8th grader tells me, there is a basic disrespect and disregard for authority with a good number of students at Awtrey. You should hear the horror stories about the bus! I have to constantly remind her to choose her friends carefully and not to get caught up with the 'cool crowd'. Her teachers communicate beautifully with me. It takes the parents showing that they want to be involved. The middle school years are a difficult time for kids and the teachers should be applauded with what they have to put up with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2004

My son was a student at Awtrey, and my daughter is now a student there. Our experience has been very good. My family can personally attest to the deep involvement of the principal and teachers in the success of the students. The music program is wonderful, by the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2004

It should be noted that most respondents to these polls will use this forum as an opportunity to vent. Those with words of praise will seldom speak. I have had great experiences with Awtrey. If any of these parents had ever had to teach middle school, they would understand the need for discipline and control. It isn't elementary school anymore, and people (kids) are not always nice. I have had two children attend Awtrey, and I can say that the attitude you receive from the staff is largely a result of the attitude you and your children express. This is human nature. The principal and faculty of that school have always been there for our children. I will stand behind them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

I had two sons attend Awtrey. One son had difficulty in school but I never heard a word from one of his teachers. They just let him flunk without an apparent care. The philosophy of this school and North Cobb High is that students should be more 'responsible' while not a word is mentioned about teacher responsibility to inspire, problem-solve, or even meet with parents to nip problems in the bud. Students are graded more on compliance to rules than true mastery of subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

I agree that this school is run like a prison and that obtaining feedback from teachers is next to impossible. This is my 6th grade childs first and last year at Awtrey Middle.


Posted February 27, 2004

The teachers and administrators have a disease amongst them of bad attitude toward the childern. The faculty diciplines for the littlest things. Kids can't be kids anymore. It gets to be ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2003

This school is run more like a prison than an educational instituation. I sent both of my boys to this school. Both of them were very motivated students when they entered Awtrey, but within months they had no interest at all in school. There is no motivation, no teacher-parent contact, and no individual attention. The only time you get to see the teachers is if you request a conference with the teaching team. I would not advise doing this, because they come prepared to cover their butts. They tell you how they are working to teach your child, but your child is not motivated. They try to put all of the blame on the child or parent. If you try to come to class to see what is going on, they act as if there is something wrong with this, and later take it out on the child. I cannot wait to move my kids out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2003

Awtrey is an excellent school with a well-organized and caring principal and staff. Awtrey's dietician does not let anyone go hungry. A free sandwich and milk is provided to a child without lunch money.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2003

As a former student and now, this year, past parent of 2 children that attended Awtrey, I can agree with the first comment. Oh, how things have changed! When I went to Awtrey the teachers went out of their way to call a parent that needed to be called, for any reason. I have been told for the past 4 (2 children attending from 1999-2003)years that they (teachers, principals and administrators included)don't have time to call me. Unacceptable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2003

The previous parent comment does not truly reflect the quality of this school, Awtrey Middle school is an excellent middle school, with an excellent Principal and staff, also top line teachers,I have two students to graduate from this school, twelve years apart, so I have had more insight than most for this school the only negative comment I would make is the lunch room staff treatment of students and teachers alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2003

I do not feel that my child is getting a very good education at this school. Nor do I feel that my child is safe at this school. It is very unsettling to send your child to a school and constantly worry that she is going to make it home safely. It is just as bad to know that she is not being educated properly and that no one seems to care or do anything about it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

295 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 44%
Black 28% 37%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey Crawford
Fax number
  • (770) 975-6617

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Nowlin Rd NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Phone: (770) 975-6615

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT