Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My oldest child attended Awtrey before Jeff Crawford was principal and before the opening of Barber Middle School. Awtrey has made a major transformation since this time and I am pleasantly surprised and proud of this school. Awtrey Middle School is an excellent school. All grades lead as a team and teachers are encouraging students to join groups such as band, orchestra, chorus. My child is an athlete but found he was quite a musician after meeting band teacher Mr. Sessoms. This school is focused on academics and challenging students to do more. The teachers are happy and motivate children in a positive way to do more.

Awtrey Middle School 1

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
This school is the worst I have ever seen with issues of bullying. My child has bullies at school and on the bus and then they taunt him all the way home. No one wants to do anything about it. The school doesn't help with these issues at all. It's out of control at this school. I wouldn't recommend any parent to send their kid to this school. I know several parents with children going through the same issues.


Awtrey Middle School 2

Posted June 28, 2010
- a community member
I am very disapointed by this school. The teachers try so very hard to keep the students under control, but the students still act up. The students are influenced by the wrong things. The bully rate is sky high here, even I had issues being bullied. The principal leadership is very poor also. And, the ones that are doing their work and making the A's are the ones being bullied because the failing kids are intimidated by their abilty to suceed. It literally takes 20 minutes for the the teacher to get all of the students under control. We spend more time getting lectures than doing schoolwork. Kids here love to fail and be a "bad boy/girl", they simply think it's cool.. The classrooms are way too big for one teacher. This school is cheap and has a terriblle learning envoriment. Period.

Awtrey Middle School 4

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Awtrey's trachers have been so helpful and cooperative with regards to my son and his special educational needs.

Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a student
This is my first year at Awtrey, and I think that this is the BEST school I have ever been to. But for a person like me, I want to be able to show my talents, but there is no kind of group here to join to do that.But other than that, Awtrey is a great school :)

Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
Awtrey has wonderful teachers, counselors, and administrators that care about the students and their educational goals. The principal does not tolerate bullying or disorderly conduct. Many parents outside of the school think Awtrey has a bad reputation, but it is not true. My child is an honor student at Awtrey.


Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Awtrey Middle School 5

Posted July 13, 2009
- a student
I have been going to this school for the past 2 years,I am now in the 8th grade.These past years have been very great. All the teachers have been exceptionally nice, the only time teachers have been mean is if a student is bieng insubordant. Overall this school is a wonderfull school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Awtrey Middle School
3601 Nowlin Rd NW, Kennesaw, GA  30144
(770) 975-6615
Last modified Awtrey Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Awtrey Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top