Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harrison High School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
I went to Harrison a few years back and had a MILD comprehension disability (along with a terrible GPA) Harrison highschool was nothing but a huge disappointment with helping students. Before graduation the assistant principal was in a meeting with my parents and a few of my teachers and told me and my parents "you're pretty, you can be a flight attendant..you don't have to go to college"...it was the biggest insult to me and my family. (My dad almost ripped right into them bc college is a DEMAND not a choice.) if you're a cheerleader or football player you will be set with the administration and staff because they care more about the sports than the academics. If your child struggles in school they will be "left behind." The only thing I will thank then for is giving me the drive to PROVE THEM wrong. I now have a 4.0, apart of national honors society and deans/presidents list. You should probably avoid this school, spend the extra cash and send your kids to private schools that have goals for kids and want to help the students.
1 person found this helpful

Harrison High School 2

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Harrison high school is a good school if you have a child who is self-motivated, enjoys learning and is willing to take academically challenging classes. There is a strong emphasis on AP classes and if your child is on this track the quality of teaching is fairly good. If your child is not highly motivated and enjoys school Harrison can be a challenge. Students take only 4 classes per semester and it is a full year of that subject crammed into 18 weeks. Teachers seem to find it difficult to teach all of the material during the 18 weeks and, from what we heard from our children, rarely taught for the entire class period of 1 hour and 50 minutes. The administration seems more concerned about football than education and there is little to indicate that they are invested in making Harrison a great school rather than just coasting along to retirement.


Harrison High School 2

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is not good to transfer to or from unless you can time your move for the summer months. The principal has chosen a 4x4 system - instead of having 8 classes for a full year the students have 4 classes each semester. We wanted to buy a house near the school but we can't because we can't wait until the summer to move.

Harrison High School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a student
This is a wonderful school for academics, performing arts, and sports! Most students graduate with great GPAs and get into top schools across the country! Harrison is all about their extra-curricular activities! The marching band is well appreciated and loved and gets to experience a lot of once in a life things! All of the E.C. programs strongly enforce the academic requirements to be involved in the programs. The football team is fairly good and has a great support system from the student body. Harrison's baseball team is extremely successful each year, along with the Track and Field team. Also, the drama department is very talented and well funded. The students that graduate from the theater program tend to move on to bigger and better theatrical opportunities! It is an overall wonderful school, and all students are strongly encouraged to be involved in E.C. programs and to challenge themselves with honors and AP courses.

Harrison High School 4

Posted June 03, 2013
- a student
Harrison has great programs. If you're not already involved in them, don't expect much sympathy from them. Despite what many teachers and students have cited as poor leadership from the principal, it has several of the best teachers in the state, but they mostly only teach AP classes. The special ed department looks very active and supportive and has great student support, but maybe (from other reviews) is not as inclusive as it should be or not as effective as it looks from the outside. Has a history of shedding great administrators and budget cuts that somehow don't seem to touch athletics, including the subpar football program. It has been suggested that this, along with the Superior Plumbing ads throughout the building and draconian attendance policies, is related to gaining money and reputation on paper. If you're a student and not in any of the programs, I'd suggest joining at least one or, if you have a good-on-paper reason, letting counseling know why you can't (they're not mean when they start to recognize your face; it's worth introducing yourself) so they can use you as another example of how great the school is.


Harrison High School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a student
This is a great school to go to! It has a ton of opportunities for extracurricular activities and clubs. It has a nation- wide recognized marching band and has an awesome football team. The students here are always encouraging and fun to be around. After all this is ranked the 3rd best high school in Georgia and has been recognized by George W. Bush. If you are debating between Harrison and another Cobb COunty high school, this one wins by far!

Harrison High School 3

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
All you have to do to find out what kind of school we're dealing with is to walk into the office. There you will be graced with some of the rudest woman on the planet. If they trouble to even look your way then you're doing well. This is not just an experience I alone have had. Most every parent I speak to feels the same way. It makes you wonder Who's in charge. Surely this has been brought to the principals attention. Truly a shame as the feeder schools of Bullard and Mcclure have wonderful staff.

Harrison High School 2

Posted March 04, 2011
- a parent
A big disappointment. Our child had to repeat freshman year and still doesn't know multiplication tables. There was an IEP in place, and it did nothing. Our child WAS left behind, and gossiped about in the office by ADULTS that should have been more professional. Ridiculous games played here. If you are not one of the HAVES with a straight A student, there will be little options for your child. This is a very snobby, 'money' area and the kids are incredibly rude, and bully others constantly - my child was constantly belittled, teased and threatened. NOT MY CHOICE for a school, and that's why I moved. Bad communication. Apathetic teachers. Backbiting attitudes. No effort for special needs kids that I could see. Only a handful of teachers here really CARE what happens to my child, and possibly yours.


Harrison High School 1

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harrison High School 1

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harrison High School
4500 Due West Rd NW, Kennesaw, GA  30152
(678) 594-8104
Last modified Harrison High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harrison High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top