Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kingsland Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Kingsland Elementary School has a staff full of helpful people who go above and beyond their duties on a daily basis. The staff is more like a family instead of fellow employees. My children have not only received a wonderful education but they have been truly loved by these people. I wish every child could be as blessed as mine have been by receiving such a wonderful elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

My kids went to Kingsland Elementary and I pulled them out. They wanted my son on meds. and they never tell you if your child gets hurt and recently they had a Lice out break and didn't tell parents about it. The teachers are rude and you would be lucky if you child learns anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

I've had only bad experiences with this school. I have a son in special education with autism. The speech teacher couldn't find no way to make him walk to her class so she had him walking up and down the halls on his knees on a hard dirty tile floor! My wife had a conference with the principal and he said he didn't see a problem with it. My wife had to ask him would you walk on a floor on your knees? My little girl is in kindergarden and she is shy and instead of trying to get her out of her shell the teacher says my girl needs to go to speech twice a week, my little girl can talk better than me! Also, we just had a parent teacher conference they said my sons test scores was high enough to go to kindergarden but they didn't recommend it due to his lack of communication skills, so why his speech teacher cut his speech time instead of increasing it? Enough is enough I'm taking my kids out of this school ASAP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

i love this school i used to go here there are so many great teachers


Posted April 25, 2007

I have a 1st grader with severe ADHD. After a very disappointing K experience, we found ourselves at KES where my son receives special ed services (not our zoned school). I cannot say enough good things about KES. He has had an awesome year. He loves going to school and has made all As and Bs. He is ahead of most 1st graders academically, and his teachers always strive to meet his academic needs. I have never been to the school and not seen the principal. I think this says so much about his involvement in the school. In contrast, at my son's last school, I only knew what the principal looked like from his yearbook pic! The staff and teachers are always friendly and helpful, and really seem to love my son despite his quirky ways. I hope to keep him here, even if I have to provide transportation myself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

This is a terrific school! I have one pre-K and one 5th grader....and they both love their school. We came from Raleigh, NC in 8/06, and there has been no comparison....Kingsland is the best! Wonderful administration staff, my daughter's pre-K teacher is absolutely the greatest...so much extra effort, picture taking, album making, wonderful crafts, etc. My 5th grader loves his teachers, and the curriculum is interactive enough to hold his interest, which has been an issue with him in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

The teachers are excellent and just walking down the hallways you can see that everyone (including the custodians and lunchroom workers!) are always praising and encouraging the children. Very positive role models!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

KES may not have won an excellency award, however their consistent achievements, continuous improvements, and high standards keep KES, in my opinion, at number one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

68 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

68 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

68 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 17% 37%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charles Robert Curry
Fax number
  • (912) 576-5126

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 W King Ave
Kingsland, GA 31548
Phone: (912) 729-5246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT