Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Camden County High School

Public | 9-12 | 2804 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, April 12, 2014

Great school. I graduate from this school and now all 3 of boys are going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Camden County HS is an excellent school with many programs for students to excel in many subjects and programs that will prepare them for college, military and life challenges. Submitted by a grandparent.


Posted October 29, 2013

my high school is the besty football team,but we have cockroatches. but camden middle had it wores!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2012

Camden County High is an excellent school. They expect you to academically achieve and they don't take excuses. They treat the students as young adults and they are afforded Honors/AP classes to excel. I am honored that my child attends CCHS. As having one graduated and one attending, I couldn't be happier with the program. If you or your child works hard they will do very well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Camden County High School as a lot of different career like class. It's a HUGE school, but you get used to it after awhile. The Teachers are okay, I'm not gonna lie, there are some teachers that show students no respect at all. A down side to this school, is that there is a lot of profanity and some of the students are very judgmental & there are A LOT of fights. But, all in all, Its a good school and I'm very happy to be a student here. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2011

i'm at Saint Marys Middle right now and I can't wait to go to this school next year!My 9th grade friends have told me so many great things about this school, i'm SOOO ready to get to this school and it isn't even the 2nd semester for me yet!


Posted March 17, 2011

I attended this school myself and could not stand it. I have to agree if it is not about the football players and cheerleaders it doesnt matter. Teachers and staff are rude and disrespectful to the students and parents. I refuse to let my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

This school is more strict than any other school i've attended, rules are beyond reasonable, the administrative staff abuse their power and treat students and faculty with no respect, only as a higher rank. There is a fight between students nearly everyday. and if you are a football player or cheerleader you seem to slip out of the punishment than a normal student would receive. I am currently trying to move out of this town as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

do not send your child here this school is horrible and unless your a football playe or cheerleader you ave no chance with the administartors they are hrrible and unfair i hate this school and there is a lot of descrimination going on there
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

Amazing Band Program. Excellent Academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

The administration of this school is horrible. Unless your child plays football, you are out of luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

Some teachers are great and very helpful to students that want help. On the other hand, however, the rules are a more strict than most other high schools and they violate the student's right to privacy through a convienient loophole. The administrative staff treat the students with hardly a speck of respect. Running under the 'good 'ol boy's' system, most administrators do not show nearly enough respect to their teachers as well.


Posted January 29, 2008

Awesome school, my kids like it too and that says a lot. Teachers communicate with me regularly and it is a clean profesional environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

We moved here from Raleigh, NC in 8/06. My high schooler did not want to come here, and he has had difficulty adjusting to the superior academics offered at Camden County High. His teachers have not let him slide one bit!! I love the online Pinnacle system that lets me track his grades/attendance/assignment completion DAILY. He, of course, has not adjusted well to this. I have found that his teachers are wonderfully supportive, encouraging, have tolerated too much from my own child, and have been fair in discipline and strategy. They have been quick to praise him, yet hold him accountable for his behavior, which often is unacceptable even to me and I'm his mom!!! Although my son may end up in Camden's Alternative school, I cannot say enough wonderful things about the high school. Constant teacher dedication, A+ sports teams, coupled with overly qualified staff, makes this a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

This was an excellent school when I went there. I went back to visit for this year's open house and I was amazed by all the changes that have occured - and they are all for the better! I loved this school when I attended and I love it to this day. I am grateful for all of the opportunties that I was presented with at Camden. The teachers are amazing and so is the atmosphere! Camden is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 21, 2005

With money from the military base, the school is never in need. A college-like campus, professional offices, and well-equipped classrooms make this school superior to nearby county schools. The Performing Arts departments owns a beautiful, huge auditorium comparable to the best of the best. Parents are especially involved in the athletic and music booters.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2005

GREAT school, fantastic staff, great programs! I could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

The school motto says it all... 'A Tradition of Excellence!' Camden High has it all. The curriculum is very well balanced between college prep and career technical programs. The standards are set high for all students in every area. Both the Fine Arts and Athletics programs are well known across the state. The vocational department is the largest in the state. Administration is always striving to implement new ideas, improve and stay ahead of the game. The campus is beautiful and well maintained. It is definitely superior in quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Camden is a very great school with high standards set in academics, sports, and art. The parental involvement is high, with letters constantly going home to the parents.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 22, 2005

This school is a excellent school to attend. The quality is overrated. At Camden County High they prepare students for the future. Teachers here help students both inside and outside of the classroom. They challenge you mentally which stimulates the brain for what's to come. The program here is built on success. It offers many classes that most schools don't offer. The fine arts program is awesome and there's a wide variety of extra curricular activities. I love this school. It's my haven.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

684 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

678 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

688 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

688 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

628 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Laurel Island Pkwy
Kingsland, GA 31548
Phone: (912) 729-7318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Glynn Academy
Brunswick, GA



Frederica Academy
St. Simons Island, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT